We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed at The Ballantyne Hotel for a 5 day business trip. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are large, comfortable, very clean and very nicely appointed -especially the bathroom. There is also a roomy desk to work at. The turndown service at night was a nice touch- they put light classical music on, dim lighting and of course, chocolates on the pillow. The housekeeping was perfect. The restaurant has very good food and beverages. For a change, the amenities looked exactly like the website pictures! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The pool was lovely - clean, comfortable chaises, light cabana music playing and food & beverage service. The few negatives I could note would be that the hallways were very noisy, it seemed like housekeeping was cleaning rooms around the clock. If I were in my room at 4-6 pm working or resting it was very distracting, I was sure there was construction going on in a nearby room or something that's how loud it was. Also, late at night there was a lot of noise in the hallways, banging doors, etc. I brought earplugs so I was not disturbed but my coworker had a hard time sleeping. There is a spa, I did not indulge but my coworker went for a pedicure and a haircolor. The pedicure was very nice (and very expensive) but they were seriously limited in color choices from what she said. Also, she was extremely unsatisfied with her hair color (also very expensive) and felt the person who did it was not skilled at all so beware! The other thing to note is that aside from the lobby bar, there is only one restaurant in the hotel so we did dine out at a nearby southwestern grille and it was very good. The concierge was most helpful in making recommendations. All in all, it was a treat to stay at The Ballantyne Hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sooznorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear sooznorm,
Thank you for sharing your experience and for your kind words regarding our accommodations, service, amenities and dining. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to noise in the hallway. We strive to provide complete comfort for our guests, and we have shared your feedback with our team to ensure that we continue to improve our service. We also appreciate that you shared your colleague’s experience, and we are sorry to learn of her disappointment with services at The Spa. We have sent you a message with our spa director’s contact info, and he would like to reach out to your coworker to address her experience with her directly. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    166
    46
    22
    3
See reviews for
169
257
28
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

During CMS Speedweek my wife and I stayed at the Ballantyne Resort for 2 nights. We are not exactly of the usual "class" of guest - we were really treating ourselves. But we never half-assed it. During our stay we really used the place, enjoying both pools, the dining, the various patio cocktails, the golfing and just walking around the grounds. At lot of what we did (dining & golf) was covered in the "Pick your Pleasure" package and I'd say a great value - it included wire internet and golf view upgrade.

The room was fantastic and immaculate. Not huge, but very nice. Bose stereo - nice touch. Room service never missed a beer can ring on the granite nightstand and kept the all glass shower spotless!

The Gallery produced the best dining I ever had. We were impressed with every meal (including room service, which was quick). The breakfast french toast was life changing for me! On a patio I ordered a Cobb salad that was the best thing I have ever eaten. During the evening we went with the 5 course "surprise". The chef was able to execute a "no shellfish" perimeter. I hate all seafood, but indulged and enjoyed swordfish and some pretty flippin' good salmon. Some kind of beef and duck were the other courses. I'm not picky, but it was all really good! The last desert course was really 4 desert courses, so we were getting pretty full. Everything was good, but they tried this ice cream and corn thing. It was a nice try, but that was like nuts and gum.

We spent a lot of time just walking around and enjoying the resort, taking pics on the grounds. Beautiful achitecture. The only think we didn't take in was the spa (not for me - maybe my wife some other time) We golfed (if you could call it that) - staff in the pro shop were great. Nice course. Everyone was great and easy/ helpful.

The whole stay was an expensive outing for us, but we felt our time at the Ballantyne was well worth it. We'd do it again and the Ballantyne Resort and The Gallery Restaurant will always be the standard that I hold other resort and restaurants up to now. I have not a single complaint

Room Tip: Pick a package with dining included and use it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank userdeleted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear BudChev,
Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback and pictures from your stay. We are so delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience. Thank you for your complimentary comments on our accommodations, service, golf and dining. Our adventure menu is always a fun way to experience our culinary offerings, and we’re glad that you enjoyed most of the courses. We apologize that you were disappointed by the ice cream dish, and we have shared your comments with our culinary team so we can continue to improve our menu items. Thank you also for sharing that you found the Pick Your Pleasure package to be a value, as we strive to offer the best stay experience. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed here for only one night and I was dying to stay couple more. From the minute I arrived the quality of service was felt....amazing!!!!
Check in process within seconds, perfect. Greetings, hellos and smiles coming from everywhere.
The rom is just perfect...the bed, the quality of the sheets, room temperature, bathroom products and a comfortable and spacious bathroom. Felt like a Queen!
Breakfast was done to perfection. we were seven at the table, all with separate checks, different requests even for the coffee and everything came out perfect, not a single mistake...BRAVO!
The bar...just phenomenal. elegant and casual at the same time.
When in Charlotte definitely stying here, not looking for anything else. I only hope my agenda allows me to stay more than 1 night!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debnelsonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Debobrah,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your kind comments regarding our service, accommodations and breakfast. Our goal is to provide the best stay experience, and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This hotel is all you could ever want. Outstanding service, Gracious accommodations, and every amenity under the sun. The location is great and the golf course is first rate. The spa is perfect and you'll be glad you stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear jvl3,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne, and we appreciate your wonderful comments regarding our service, accommodations, location, spa and golf. Our team is dedicated to providing the best stay experience, and we’re so delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Me and my wife stayed here for one night over the weekend for an Anniversary getaway. First, the only reason we stayed here was the AMEX Platinum FHR program which didn't disappoint. From the moment we pulled up everybody made sure we didn't lift a finger! We got a nice Parlor Suite which was large and it was nice having two bathrooms too! We were on the community view side which I really didn't mind but yes it probably would be nice to be on the other side if you can help it. We took advantage of the entire hotel. The Gallery restaurant really took care of us for our anniversary and had a couple special touches we really enjoyed! We enjoyed the swim spa and the pools... one thing that really stood out was the pool staff, we really enjoyed them! I made sure to let the manager know as well but thank you! I loved the atmosphere as you'd never know you were in Charlotte. We also used the Spa which was really nice, the spa attendant really did a good job. Now my only complaints. My wife wanted to add on a treatment for our spa appointment the next day and spoke to the desk people and they said they'd call her back to let her know but never did. I figured since we had such an outstanding trip I'd just let the spa manager know they missed on communication, well I called and left him a message and never did receive a call back so maybe the communication problem is with the spa manager. We got harassed a little on our late check-out but understood since it was a full house. Great job Ballantyne! We will be back (but not sure we will use the Spa) .

Room Tip: Ask for the golf view (more $$)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xfire22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear xfire22,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your kind words regarding your stay. We appreciate your nice comments regarding our accommodations, cuisine and service, especially at the pool. We have passed your comments along, as our staff works diligently to offer the best in service. We do apologize that our spa team did not follow up with you, as this is not indicative of the fine service we strive to maintain. Our spa director would like to speak with you to apologize and ensure this does not happen again. We hope to welcome you back and hope you will reconsider visiting the Spa.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

beautiful hotel. the concierge was extremely helpful, especially with directions. we were upgraded to a suite. it was fantastic. i especially loved the bathroom with a jet tub and shower. bathroom amenities (shampoo, sewing kit) were great. had a massage at the spa and it was wonderful.
every detail was looked after.

Room Tip: you can always ASK for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConBakDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear ConBakDoug,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff strives to offer exceptional service, and we really appreciate your comments regarding our attentiveness, accommodations and amenities. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Very friendly, accommodating and very competent staff. That was such a pleasure. Nice environment and convenient meeting place to spend time with family and friends.

Fabulous spa services and highly skilled practitioners. I was impressed with the excellent quality.

There are practically no fitness classes and the instructor did not show for one class advertised. Exercise equipment is adequate for a good workout.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing golf course on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodi925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear rodi925,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne and for your kind words regarding our service, accommodations and spa services. We strive to offer a variety of fitness services, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused by a lapse in the fitness class schedule. We have followed up with our fitness team to ensure this does not happen again. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#14 of 178 in Charlotte
616 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#33 of 178 in Charlotte
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#49 of 178 in Charlotte
416 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#43 of 178 in Charlotte
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne, Charlotte

Property: The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne, Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel by Marriott, Charlotte welcomes guests with gracious service, elegant accommodations and abundant amenities. Explore the spa, seasonal outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, golf, fitness, exquisite dining, 24 hour room service, afternoon tea and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a lovely cottage and The Lodge at Ballantyne, a 35 room group retreat. Meeting and event planners are invited to view meeting and event facilities with spacious and picturesque outdoor venues, on-site group activities and creative culinary offerings. The Ballantyne is located within nine miles of SouthPark and Carowinds and within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte’s impressive recreational and entertainment offerings, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and the thriving Ballantyne community. Guests enjoy a complimentary shuttle within one mile and access to many dining and conveniences within walking distance and even more within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ballantyne, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing