We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed here for only one night and I was dying to stay couple more. From the minute I arrived the quality of service was felt....amazing!!!!
Check in process within seconds, perfect. Greetings, hellos and smiles coming from everywhere.
The rom is just perfect...the bed, the quality of the sheets, room temperature, bathroom products and a comfortable and spacious bathroom. Felt like a Queen!
Breakfast was done to perfection. we were seven at the table, all with separate checks, different requests even for the coffee and everything came out perfect, not a single mistake...BRAVO!
The bar...just phenomenal. elegant and casual at the same time.
When in Charlotte definitely stying here, not looking for anything else. I only hope my agenda allows me to stay more than 1 night!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debnelsonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Debobrah,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your kind comments regarding our service, accommodations and breakfast. Our goal is to provide the best stay experience, and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    168
    48
    22
    3
See reviews for
173
259
28
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This hotel is all you could ever want. Outstanding service, Gracious accommodations, and every amenity under the sun. The location is great and the golf course is first rate. The spa is perfect and you'll be glad you stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear jvl3,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne, and we appreciate your wonderful comments regarding our service, accommodations, location, spa and golf. Our team is dedicated to providing the best stay experience, and we’re so delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Me and my wife stayed here for one night over the weekend for an Anniversary getaway. First, the only reason we stayed here was the AMEX Platinum FHR program which didn't disappoint. From the moment we pulled up everybody made sure we didn't lift a finger! We got a nice Parlor Suite which was large and it was nice having two bathrooms too! We were on the community view side which I really didn't mind but yes it probably would be nice to be on the other side if you can help it. We took advantage of the entire hotel. The Gallery restaurant really took care of us for our anniversary and had a couple special touches we really enjoyed! We enjoyed the swim spa and the pools... one thing that really stood out was the pool staff, we really enjoyed them! I made sure to let the manager know as well but thank you! I loved the atmosphere as you'd never know you were in Charlotte. We also used the Spa which was really nice, the spa attendant really did a good job. Now my only complaints. My wife wanted to add on a treatment for our spa appointment the next day and spoke to the desk people and they said they'd call her back to let her know but never did. I figured since we had such an outstanding trip I'd just let the spa manager know they missed on communication, well I called and left him a message and never did receive a call back so maybe the communication problem is with the spa manager. We got harassed a little on our late check-out but understood since it was a full house. Great job Ballantyne! We will be back (but not sure we will use the Spa) .

Room Tip: Ask for the golf view (more $$)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xfire22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear xfire22,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your kind words regarding your stay. We appreciate your nice comments regarding our accommodations, cuisine and service, especially at the pool. We have passed your comments along, as our staff works diligently to offer the best in service. We do apologize that our spa team did not follow up with you, as this is not indicative of the fine service we strive to maintain. Our spa director would like to speak with you to apologize and ensure this does not happen again. We hope to welcome you back and hope you will reconsider visiting the Spa.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

beautiful hotel. the concierge was extremely helpful, especially with directions. we were upgraded to a suite. it was fantastic. i especially loved the bathroom with a jet tub and shower. bathroom amenities (shampoo, sewing kit) were great. had a massage at the spa and it was wonderful.
every detail was looked after.

Room Tip: you can always ASK for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConBakDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear ConBakDoug,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff strives to offer exceptional service, and we really appreciate your comments regarding our attentiveness, accommodations and amenities. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Very friendly, accommodating and very competent staff. That was such a pleasure. Nice environment and convenient meeting place to spend time with family and friends.

Fabulous spa services and highly skilled practitioners. I was impressed with the excellent quality.

There are practically no fitness classes and the instructor did not show for one class advertised. Exercise equipment is adequate for a good workout.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing golf course on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodi925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear rodi925,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne and for your kind words regarding our service, accommodations and spa services. We strive to offer a variety of fitness services, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused by a lapse in the fitness class schedule. We have followed up with our fitness team to ensure this does not happen again. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My husband surprised me with an overnight stay at The Ballantyne Hotel. We live 5 minutes away but he decided to make our night out for a concert a night away from home. I was immediately floored by the attention from the staff. We came in from the side entrance and there was an employee there who answered our question as to where the check in desk was. Instead of giving us directions she led us straight to it. Along the way any other employee that we past smiled and greeted us with a genuine warm welcome. Check in was extremely quick and pleasant. The fruit infused water was a great little touch. We stayed on the 7th floor and the room was clean and just beautiful. Most of the times when I walk into a hotel room it is freezing, this room was perfectly set. We went down to the bar next to the check in desk and had some wonderful drinks and the bartender was extremly nice and provided great service. My husband had arranged for a car to take us to uptown for the concert and when we went out the front where the valets were one had asked if we had a car he could pull around,so we weren't just left waiting. When we returned we deiced to order some room serivce from the late night menu. The burger was amazing and the best sweet potato fries I have ever had!! The only issue we had was my husband's Mr. pibb wasn't mixed correctly, but of course water was brough with the food so it was no issue. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever been in in a hotel. My husband is in love with the pillows. I would like to get him some for Father's Day, lol. The bath was lovely and the shower is amazing. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Yes it is pricey but I have never had an experience like that at a hotel We are already talking about staying there again. I'm hoping nexttime we can do the spa/pools. It is perfect for us for a night away from home and the kids. I strongly suggest staying at this hotel, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear lizinnc,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your wonderful comments regarding our service, accommodations and cuisine. Our team constantly strives to provide the best service and offer those special accents that make a difference. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed at the Ballantyne Hotel for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Without exception, the staff was friendly and helpful. They have the art of making guests feel warmly welcomed down to a science.

The interior public spaces are beautiful with original art through out. The Gallery Restaurant is exceptional. They are proud of their 4 star rating and the food was wonderful.

The first room we checked into was not the type of room we requested but the front desk quickly assigned us to another room. Be sure to opt for the resort view room as the "sunset" view rooms front a large parking lot and busy highway. If you stay on the parking lot side of the hotel, you're likely to feel less like you're staying at a resort and more like you're at an average hotel.

The rooms have some minor maintence issues that need to be addressed. In the first room, we noticed the room safe wasn't working and there were large scratches in the finish of some of the furniture. In the second room, a drawer on the dresser was broken and wouldn't close completely and the lamp shades on several lamps were damaged. Again, not huge issues but ones that shouldn't be present in a hotel like the Ballantyne.

Housekeeping was initially good with a turndown service the first night but housekeeping never visited our room after the first evening of our arrival.

The pool was relaxing with towels, wonderful lounge chairs, a bar and really, excellent service. We took advantage of the spa while we were there and were pleased with the services and facilities we enjoyed.

The Ballantyne is pricey but packages that include some meals and spa services help make the visit a better value overall.

The issues we experienced were minor and certainly fixable. We hope to return to the Ballantyne again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivyhill40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Dear ivyhill40,
Thanks for celebrating your anniversary with us, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind words regarding our service and amenities. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, as this is not indicative of the fine accommodations and service we strive to maintain. We have shared your comments with our team to ensure that these maintenances issues are corrected immediately. We have also followed up with our housekeeping department to ensure that every guest receives consistently attentive service. Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback, as we constantly seek to improve our offerings. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#12 of 178 in Charlotte
649 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 178 in Charlotte
109 reviews
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#31 of 178 in Charlotte
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#47 of 178 in Charlotte
2,040 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#48 of 178 in Charlotte
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne, Charlotte

Property: The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne, Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel by Marriott, Charlotte welcomes guests with gracious service, elegant accommodations and abundant amenities. Explore the spa, seasonal outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, golf, fitness, exquisite dining, 24 hour room service, afternoon tea and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a lovely cottage and The Lodge at Ballantyne, a 35 room group retreat. Meeting and event planners are invited to view meeting and event facilities with spacious and picturesque outdoor venues, on-site group activities and creative culinary offerings. The Ballantyne is located within nine miles of SouthPark and Carowinds and within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte’s impressive recreational and entertainment offerings, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and the thriving Ballantyne community. Guests enjoy a complimentary shuttle within one mile and access to many dining and conveniences within walking distance and even more within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ballantyne, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing