We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE MUSEUM - WHEN IT'S OPEN”
Review of Mint Museum Uptown

Mint Museum Uptown
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Charlotte Segway Tour
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Charlotte Bike Tour
Ranked #16 of 180 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by Machado and Silvetti Associates of Boston, the five-story, 145,000-square-foot facility combines inspiring architecture with cutting-edge exhibitions to provide visitors with unparalleled educational and cultural experiences. Located in the heart of Charlotte's burgeoning city center, Mint Museum Uptown is an integral part of the Levine Center for the Arts, a cultural campus that includes the Bechtler Museum of Modern Art, the Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts and Culture, the Knight Theater, and the Duke Energy Center. Mint Museum Uptown also features a wide range of visitor amenities, including the 240-seat James B. Duke Auditorium, the Lewis Family Gallery, art studios, a restaurant, and a museum shop.
Chicagoland
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“NICE MUSEUM - WHEN IT'S OPEN”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

They are closed Monday and Tuesdays so if you are only in town for a couple of days you cannot see it. It is close to the Westin Hotel where we stayed.

We wanted to go to it because it had an interesting exhibit on artware from the various World trade exhibitions from the past. We got as far as the front desk. Was very disappointing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PROF_CONSULTANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    127
    30
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fun and Interesting Smaller Scale Collections”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Having exhausted myself at the National Gallery of Art recently, it is nice to visit a museum that is smaller is scale and can be fully digested in one afternoon. A $10 adult admission fee gets you 2 days admittance to both locations of the Mint (Uptown and Randolph). Special exhibits are extra.

I visited only the permanent collection of the Mint Museum Uptown, which occupies two floors of the building. The 3rd floor houses the "craft + design galleries" and the 4th floor has "American & contemporary art galleries."

It was nice to see something other than painting and drawing in an art museum and I enjoyed the amazing wood, glass, metal, and clay crafts on the 3rd floor. I spent alot of time looking at Marilyn Levine's "Black School Bag." At first I was trying to figure out why a leather school bag was one display. Then I realized that it was actually made of ceramic and spent alot of time figuring out how she made a ceramic bag look like real worn pebbled leather.

In the 4th floor gallery I enjoyed especially Gene Davis's "Jack in the Box" - read the explanatory note for how to view the work. Also, Kehinde Wiley's "Philip the Fair," which portrays a younger black man in a Houston Astros jersey. See the June 2007 issue of Art News for an interesting article on this piece. (I can't post the link per TripAdvisor rules, but you can Google it.)

I'm looking forward to going back again and checking out the Randolph location.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice collection of American art”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Spent a few hours in the new uptown Mint Museum recently. The staff both in the museum proper and the gift shop were very friendly. There's a fairly nice collection of American portraiture, including a couple of Copley pieces. The Ten Ten Ten exhibit is fascinating, especially the glass and wood rooms.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dea421753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to see the worlds fair attraction, and any excuse to go to a museum is a good one. The worlds fair exhibit was a extra 10$ on top of the10$ to get in. I do not know if I would spend the extra money again. However the museum was nice and clean, the people working we're super nice. We had a good talk with a few of them they were helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent collection of Glass and Wood art”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The new mint museum location in uptown Charlotte (the original is in Randolph road) has a very good pieces of Glass and wood art in its collection. It is worth the trip and free on Wednesday after 5 pm. Parking is convenient close and discounted if you validate your ticket. The area has other museum and a performing art hall

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TG_Tulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mint Museum Uptown also viewed

 

Been to Mint Museum Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing