We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Mint Museum Uptown

Mint Museum Uptown
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Charlotte Segway Tour
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Charlotte Bike Tour
Ranked #16 of 180 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by Machado and Silvetti Associates of Boston, the five-story, 145,000-square-foot facility combines inspiring architecture with cutting-edge exhibitions to provide visitors with unparalleled educational and cultural experiences. Located in the heart of Charlotte's burgeoning city center, Mint Museum Uptown is an integral part of the Levine Center for the Arts, a cultural campus that includes the Bechtler Museum of Modern Art, the Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts and Culture, the Knight Theater, and the Duke Energy Center. Mint Museum Uptown also features a wide range of visitor amenities, including the 240-seat James B. Duke Auditorium, the Lewis Family Gallery, art studios, a restaurant, and a museum shop.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to see the worlds fair attraction, and any excuse to go to a museum is a good one. The worlds fair exhibit was a extra 10$ on top of the10$ to get in. I do not know if I would spend the extra money again. However the museum was nice and clean, the people working we're super nice. We had a good talk with a few of them they were helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    127
    30
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent collection of Glass and Wood art”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The new mint museum location in uptown Charlotte (the original is in Randolph road) has a very good pieces of Glass and wood art in its collection. It is worth the trip and free on Wednesday after 5 pm. Parking is convenient close and discounted if you validate your ticket. The area has other museum and a performing art hall

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TG_Tulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my favorite”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I really enjoy this museum in particular. It is always interesting to see what different showings they have. I love art and design so I take my time when I'm there enjoying it all!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Passion55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a coin museum”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just okay...wouldn't go again,or take out of town guest here. My fault for thinking it was a coin museum. Kind of present day weird stuff.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Vibrant Night Life”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

So many restaurants & night spots to choose from. Interesting enclaves of unique residences sprinkled in amongst several hotels and office bldgs. Very Clean and seemed super safe, (bank guards all up & down College St.). Surprising numbers of people on the street in the wee hours moving from bar to car or to restaurants with 'late nite' menus.
My first trip and it was mostly all business. I will go back for pleasure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RodeWearier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mint Museum Uptown also viewed

 

Been to Mint Museum Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing