We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ”
Review of Midwood Smokehouse

Midwood Smokehouse
Ranked #5 of 2,376 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Salisbury, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This place has great tasting food and always friendly service. It is a little more than your typical old BBQ joint but its worth it. You can go enjoy great BBQ in a more upscale environment.

Helpful?
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    366
    93
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great ribs”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great ribs. They were out of brisket, so we also ordered pulled pork. It was good, but not great. Next time we hope to try the brisket.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
276 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“barbecue bummer”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

If I'm being honest, I was pretty disappointed by my meal here. I ordered the smoked turkey plate with sweet potato fries and what I received definitely didn't meet my expectations. The turkey was SO dry, maybe the driest I've ever had (and I've had some dry turkey). I had to ask for barbecue sauce, which I thought was odd in an establishment centered around barbecue. The sweet potato fries were pretty good, but not good enough to get me to come back for more. Maybe I just picked the wrong menu item, as my boyfriend enjoyed his chicken with mustard sauce. He also liked his side of creamed corn, which I tasted and found overwhelmingly garlicky. While the decor is fun and the full bar is appreciated, we had to wait a very long time for our less-than-outstanding food. Unfortunately, I have no high praise (or really any praise at all) for this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grace m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It was alright”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

It was okay. I don't really see why it's in the top 10. The food was alright; the fries were way too salty and the meat was a little dry. Service wasn't bad but I don't know if I'll be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful barbeque!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Midwood Smokehouse is one of our favorite places to get barbeque. We enjoy the chopped pork barbeque and smoked brisket. The baked beans are out of this world! The staff is very friendly and attentive. We enjoy sitting out of the patio on warmer afternoons and evenings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Midwood Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing