We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”

The Cowfish Sushi Burger Bar
Ranked #4 of 2,367 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Charlotte. The sushi is wonderful. I have tried many different fusions and loved them. I always get the edamame too. It's nice because I can go with my husband and he can get a burger.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunlover_100494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    322
    101
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has something for everybody. We had 2 appetizers: fried calamari and fried pickle slices. We could have made a meal out of them, but I decided to try a bento box with a small hamburger (delicious!) and half a sushi roll. It came with generous portions of edemame, sweet potato fries, and sliced cucumbers. It was all very flavorful. We didn't stop there-- next came lemon pound cake with berries and ice cream. The portions were generous and we took home enough to enjoy for another meal. We plan on returning soon. Our only disappointment was there was a long wait to dine outside. Since we were there for lunch, the restaurant wasn't too loud or crowded though. Overall, we enjoyed our meal and the atmosphere and had good service.


Helpful?
Thank Goodtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sushi Junkie”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I went here for my birthday. I have been all over the world and had some amazing fresh sushi(Australia & Japan) and the Sashimi that I had was fantastic. Not the best I have had but really high up there on my list. I had the 15 piece chefs choice. It came with 3 pieces Salmon, 3 Yellowtail, 3 Eel, 2 Sea Urchin, 2 Bluefin Tuna, 2 Red Snapper. These pieces were not anything to sneeze at either. To give them a measurement, I was say 1/2 a inch thick by 1 1/2 wide by 3 inches long. Really good size.

Over all I will be back very shortly!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PlatinumGraphite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome and unique experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This place is very eclectic. They combine the concept of a gourmet burger place and sushi restaurant. I went with a co-worker while on business. Our hotel recommended it and it was great. The atmosphere is very modern and has sort of a hipster feel. We sat on the heated patio, which was a little loud but warm and nice. I ordered one of their combo bento boxes, which had the burger of the day (teriyaki style mini burger), sushi of your choice, edamame, cucumber asian salad/slaw, and sweet potato fries. I am a "sampler" so I enjoyed having a number of different items on my plate in smaller portions so I got to try a little of everything. Their beer was good and fresh on tap. The desserts (although I didn't order one) looked HUGE and also seemed popular amongst the crowd. The service was good, could have been better. The menu is not simple so a good waitress to explain it all would be more helpful (possibly better training?) Other than that, great experience and I would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lmmisiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“WHAT??!?!?”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Do you want to hear the person you went with? Don't go here.
Do you want to be seated at a booth or table in a reasonable time? Don't go here
Do you have morals regarding clawing your way into a bar seat? Don't go here.

That said, if none of the above matter to you, you will still enjoy an attractive building, great spiked shakes, and some good appetizers. Honestly, I was so deafened I was feeling a bit dizzy/sick by the time I finished those two items, so I didn't stay for the main meal.

No reservations accepted and nowhere to stand outside out of the weather, so prepare for a long deafening wait.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cowfish Sushi Burger Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Cowfish Sushi Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing