We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place except for layout & bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte/Ayrsley
Ranked #3 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Great place except for layout & bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I'm confused at previous reviews stating that the beds were really comfortable. I'm guessing they have never experienced an Embassy Suites or Hampton Inn bed. The sheets were anything but soft. The pillows were extremely thick and firm, which was really uncomfortable on my neck. I honestly could not sleep either of the nights I stayed here and was all too eager to get out of bed in the morning. The hotel and the rooms were very nice looking, but the layout of the floors were not designed for guest convenience. I'm sure nothing can be done about the layout at this point, but please add a little comfort to the beds. You can buy sheets and pillows at hamptonhomecollection.com.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sthrngrl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    159
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
274
124
22
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I recently stayed at this Homewood Suites to attend the Wells Fargo Championship. This is a fairly new hotel. Nice size suites. Convienent walk to several places to eat and drink. Really enjoyed the managers reception and being hosted by Chef Matt! He was really attentive to our group and made us all feel welcome. Nice, quiet, new area. I share the same comments about the elevator location. The size of the elevator is average for
Hilton properties but it's placed awkward. Will be back here soon! -Cheers

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANCBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Clean, new, spacious, no complaints. You really can't beat this hotel in this area of Charlotte and I am extremely picky.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights the weekend of 3/10/12 largely due to the wonderful reviews that we read on this site. I must say that 90% of the visit was great. So let me begin with the positive points. The bed was comfortable, the room was extremely clean and on the whole every area of the hotel had a fresh brand new scent. The hotel is located in a great community and the amenities are great. The night manager that checked us in was courteous and extremely helpful in providing information about the surrounding area.

Now let me begin with the negative side.

As my wife and I were preparing to leave on our final day of the stay (9:41 AM) over two hours before checkout (12 Noon) we heard an extremely loud knock on the door. There was a Do not Disturb sign on our door so this was very strange. I answered the door and spoke with a hotel employee who seemed to be going around to rooms checking for something. I deduced this because she had a checklist in her hand. She looked at me and asked “When are you guys checking out?” Taken aback by this strange question I said, “I don’t know?” She then proceeded to tell me that she needed to let housekeeping know because check-out would be at 11 AM so she needed a time. I pointed out the fact that my reservation and the placard on the back of the door clearly stated that check-out is 12 Noon. Her response to me was “Oh, well do you know what time you guys are leaving. I need to tell housekeeping.” Needless to say as I suppressed my frustration I said to her some time around 11. Frustrated by the fact that neither my wife or myself have ever experienced such rude treatment in all of our hotel visiting years she called down to the front desk and spoke to the manager. He informed her that the question was nothing out of the ordinary and that it was common for someone to come around to your room and see when you are leaving. My wife spoke with someone at the Hilton corporate offices and he told her that this was not common practice. So in short if you stay at this hotel be ready to answer your door 2 hours before it is time to check-out and make sure you have an answer for when you will be leaving the room that you paid for. Don’t worry Hilton hotels. We will be placing our Hilton Honors card into a permanent filing cabinet and we do not plan on staying in any of your facilities in the future. Thank you!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dktravels911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EddieStottlemyer, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte/Ayrsley, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and expressing you thoughts on our new property. As with all reviews, we can use this as a learning/training tool for our hotel to continue to improve. On your positive comments, thank you for your kind words. We take pride in the condition and cleanliness of our rooms. I'm glad you enjoyed the area we are located in as well. We also enjoy being a part of this community.
As for your less than positive reviews, thank you for these as well. When I spoke to your wife the morning of your checkout, I was not aware of the "Do Not Disturb" sign on your door. You are correct in the fact that we should not have knocked on your door. I apologize for the distubance and also for the way we handled the situation. We hope you can give us another chance to show you our improvements and our desire to be the best hotel in the Charlotte area.
Should you have any other questions or concerns, please contact me at the hotel.

Sincerely
Eddie Stottlemyer
General Manager, Homewood Suites Charlotte Ayrsley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The hotel is new so it was exceptionally clean and crisp.

Thestaff was seriosuly nice and accomodatibg, just a great visit ovall.

The chef was super nice and went well beyond .

If only all the mediocre Homewood suitesnout there could take field trip to this hotel and see how it should be done, life on the road would be so much better.

Please keep it up!

Room Tip: The two queen bed room suite is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoD696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Family getaway weekend in January. Hotel was busy but hardly ever heard or saw anyone else. Booked the family two room suite and loved it. The interior layout is a bit unusual with long walks but you definitely do not hear the elevators or other guests. The modern color scheme was shocking at first but after the initial shock the green wall paper in the halls was soothing and relaxing and the carpet blended very well. Traveling with two college children they were very impressed as well and enjoyed their stay. Having restaurants and a very movie theater within close walking distance was another plus. Breakfast food was average but the service was exceptional.

Room Tip: Upper floor suites were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1moresunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I stayed at the Homewood Suites located at 1921 Ayrsley Town Blvd, Charlotte NC. I had just checked out. I walked to my car and tried to start the engine but it wouldn't start. The manager Danny Helms walked out an gave me jump but it still did not start. He tested my starter and alternator and they were in good conditon. He then took the battery apart and cleaned it and then connected the battery. After he cleaned it, the car started. He went over and beyond his job duties and I was so thankful. Thanks again Danny.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
6.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Ballantyne Area
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte Ayrsley
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlotte/Arrowood
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte I-77 South
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte/Ayrsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte/Ayrsley

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte/Ayrsley
Address: 1921 Ayrsley Town Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#2 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Green Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte/Ayrsley 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte/Ayrsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Charlotte/Ayrsley Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing