We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Midnight, Noon, Anytime”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Midnight Diner

Midnight Diner
Ranked #28 of 2,351 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Midnight, Noon, Anytime”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Local real diner just outside the uptown area. Today we had chicken and waffles as well as biscuits with sausage gravy. Both were excellent. So good in fact that we had to follow it up with red velvet cake! Oh, and this is a place that serves real bacon. Service cheerful and expedient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cjmluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    98
    33
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aid, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, convenient”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed in downtown Charlotte for a weeklong conference and we ate at the Midnight Diner several times on the visit. I didn't ever get anything that wasn't good. The service was very friendly. I had the biggest and best piece of chocolate cake in my life there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank exitramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Easy to find, a few minutes from the Mint museum etc.

Quick to seat, informal staff. Much quieter than other restaurants with just as epic music. Varied menu with normal prices.

Food was delicious, although the server forgot my spoon for my desert :( But apart from that it was fantastic service, large portions and wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SerenKimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Diner”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place is the go to place to be after the clubs, or early on Sunday morning when your head hurts to bad all you want to do is sit at the table and sip coffee. The staff is great, the Chicken & Waff are great. the "Big Bubba" is self explanatory so keep up the great work and we will be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Uniquengay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Found this spot a few months ago. Noticed how cool it looked and there were people outside waiting so knew that was a good sign. I eat here during every trip to Charlotte now. Last weekend we went for breakfast on Saturday and Sunday. The food is so good, I just keep getting the same thing--The Bubba. Awesome meal that tastes great. Portions are huge! The rock and roll decor gives a real diner feel, and the staff is friendly and efficient. Will keep going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pickmoorepics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midnight Diner also viewed

 

Been to Midnight Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing