We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate but busy, nice combo”
Review of Soul Gastrolounge

Soul Gastrolounge
Ranked #49 of 2,403 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Intimate but busy, nice combo”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This little upstairs surprise is a great place to chill w friends. Indoor or balcony are both great. The food's very good. Try the Brussel sprouts. Too yummy. Cozy atmosphere, can be a while for larger groups to get seated. But that's only because its popular, and good. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rahdim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    57
    12
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A VERY Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Once we discovered the restaurant was upstairs we really enjoyed our night out. The atmosphere of this place was great! The art was entertaining, the lights were dim, and the food was exceptional. We enjoyed the hummus appetizer and then the "Soul roll!" We also shared a Sakana roll and that was my favorite. Everything had it's own unique perspective, even the cucumber water.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiku, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The sliders are awesome and the presentation is too!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We dined on the patio here one evening. The inside is very dark and there are few windows. They do have a cool little patio looking over Pecan and Central Avenue. The place is clean and fresh. They are a tapas bar so the portions are just right. You can order a little for everyone to try. The service is fast and cheerful. Everyone is laid back and knows their menu. They have a good beer selection also. This is a nice place to stop and grab a drink anytime they are open!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yehbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Delicious food and Great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Soul is one of the best restaurants in Charlotte. Their small plates an sushi are both delicious. Great late night atmosphere and bar scene.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phenom607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere & Ecletic Menu”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My fiance and I highly recommend this place. The atmosphere is unbeatable with the couch/table and chairs set up, low lighting, awesome art work, and trendy music. I read the reviews on Urbanspoon on our way to Charlotte and while some of them were complaining about the service and the "hippy" atmosphere I have to say our waiter was awesome and I personally loved the atmosphere. We had to wait just over an hour for a table as it was PACKED at 8:00pm but it was nothing a drink on the patio couldn't fix. The menu is very eclectic and was fantastic. We had the Soul Roll, one of the best sushi rolls I've ever had and the Salmonopita which was sort of like a crab rangoon but with salmon and in a puff pastry instead of a wonton and while it was OK I wouldn't order it again for that price. We also had the Flatbread with
truffle whipped goat cheese, pistachio pesto,honey braised garlic and fresh arugula...I am still daydreaming about this dish three weeks later. After a beer, a glass of champagne, and a martini (over the span of 3 hours but I recommend sticking to the champagne as it goes great with tapas) we were still a little hungry so we ordered the Caviar spread and the Spicy Feta spread. Both were good but not amazing. There are so many things on the menu along with nightly specials that you are bound to find something you love.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurenbellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soul Gastrolounge also viewed

 

Been to Soul Gastrolounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing