We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Uptown Charlotte!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Ranked #9 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Uptown Charlotte!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was my first visit to Charlotte in 8 years, so needless to say, things have certainly changed in Uptown. This hotel was non-existent before, but I'm glad it's there now.

When we arrived, the valets for parking were extremely organized and helpful. When we checked in, the hotel staff was courteous and professional. They asked if we needed directions or advice for anything, and that we could ask them at any time for any assistance. The room was clean, and very comfortable. We were also very impressed at the quality of the breakfast brunch (which was free - included with our room rate) and the selection of food available.

The hotel is situated right next to the Time Warner Center (the basketball arena) so it would be a perfect place to stay for a concert or basketball game. A few minutes' walk away is the Epicenter, which is a Charlotte attraction of restaurants, bars, shopping and more. We had a couple of events to attend at the Epicenter, and this hotel was perfect for that. The two main streets (Trade and Tryon) also intersect at the corner where the Epicenter is, so more restaurants, pubs, and shops are in the direct vicinity as well.

I would easily stay at this hotel again when we're back in Charlotte.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your return trip to Charlotte, things have definitely changed in the last 8 years, and it is good to hear you like the changes. Please come back sooner than that next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    285
    71
    26
    9
See reviews for
248
318
66
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel was wonderful from start to finish. All of the staff was very hospitable and helpful, especially Linda at the front desk.
For the price-the room was great-I was not expecting a suite with a kitchen and sitting area, so I was very pleased with that surprise. We were on the 8th floor with a view of the city. Our room was well appointed and clean.
The 7th floor has a pool, laundry area and gym
I had never been to Charlotte before, and when I do go back I plan to stay at this hotel again.
Oh yeah-great full on complimentary breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a great review, we are very happy you enjoyed our hotel and our city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I am not a usual patron of the Hyatt brand but was pleasantly surprised by the facility! The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was free and good but the number of people eating at the same time made it difficult to find a clean table. Due to city construction the valet service was a bit cramped but it didn't take away from the overall experience. We enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for trying us out, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully the road construction outside will be finished soon enough and we can get back to normal. Come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great Hotel! Never a disappointment when staying at the Hyatt House Center City Charlotte NC! The staff exceptional! Rooms are always like brand new when you walk in! I always make a note & request a high room with nice view, they always see that this happens! If you are looking for location, value like new this is the place to stay:))

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammie800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We always appreciate our return guests, thank you so much for continuing to support our hotel, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was my first visit to the Hyatt house in Charlotte Center City. You can't beat the proximity to everything downtown Charlotte has to offer. I received an early check-in to a lovely suite (typical for Hyatt House properties) there was more then enough room to feel relaxed. The gym was nice with a few machines to get some workout in. The bfast buffet was good, nothing over the top but the staff was friendly and accommodating. My only complaint with this property is that you have to valet your car and no self parking is available on site meaning your responsible for locating a place. They have recommendations to a lot across the street but it's not in a secure, covered lot. This left me with no choice but to valet which was never mentioned prior to booking. There is an expected fee parking downtown but not valet only. As a loyal diamond member I found this troubling.

It was nice to be right next door to TWC and back to my room within minutes. Restaurants, bars, clubs and shopping are all just outside your door. I definitely recommend this hotel when in Charlotte you won't regret!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your great review.
I understand your concerns with parking, and yes we do only offer valet parking here at the hotel for the safety of our guests and their property. The hotel is fairly new, and was built on a very small parcel of land. This makes our parking garage very narrow with many blind corners. We offer valet only due to the safety factor involved.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a problem with check out date.....the hotel lock us out of the room and charged us a higher rate. We thought we were staying until the following morning, but found out it was a day earlier, very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Protean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
I am very sorry for the confusion with your reservation. You had booked a room through Expedia due to check out on the 2nd. Our keys are only active for the dates of the reservation, and stop working at 12:00 on your check out day. Your key became inactive due to it being your check out day. The night you added on, we were completely sold out due to the big Soccer game at the arena, we did not have any other rooms available. We extended your stay, and discounted our Rack rate for you by $60 for the night. As it was explained to you when you extended your stay, we had to relocate another guest who had a reservation with us to a different hotel in order to accomodate your request.
I hope this incident does not sour your opinion of our hotel, please consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

After a long day of travel, we were ready to relax in our room. For some reason, they put us in a handicapped room which meant everything was low to the floor. I can deal with that. But, the room really needed a thorough cleaning. There were long, black hairs stuck to the shower wall (gag), and some unidentifiable glob of sticky something stuck to the upholstered bench in the room. I wouldn't let my kids take their socks off. In addition, we were next to a room of very loud guests who were loud off an on throughout our visit, which was great at 1:00 am. The breakfast was decent, and the room service we ordered was excellent.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EdQ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
I apologize for your recent stay with us, please feel free to contact us here at the hotel if we have not spoken with you about it yet, we would like to make this right for you. 704-373-9700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#38 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#18 of 177 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Charlotte Center City

Property: HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Address: 435 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2427 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Charlotte Center City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Charlotte Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Charlotte Center City blends urban chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 163 smartly designed guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with lounge pool, alluring fireplace and cozy seating. Conveniently located adjacent to Time Warner Cable Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing