We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic night in the city ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Ranked #10 of 183 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Charlotte in July 2014 and spring 2013 and had a great stay at Hyatt House Charlotte both times!! Gorgeous views of the city with huge windows. Pitch black in the morning if you close the curtains. The room feels like a NYC studio apartment. The decor is calming and chic - purple and grey! Feels like a luxury hotel. Near the EpiCenter which has tons of restaurants and entertainment. Valet parking below the hotel $22 night, worth it for safety and convenience - just call down to the front desk before you leave the hotel so they have the car waiting for you. There's a 24hr mini store with snacks, cold beverages, and some quick meals. Nice lounge/lobby area with a bar and restaurant. Can't wait to visit again!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for coming back, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us!
Please come back and visit anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I live in charlotte and recently stayed at the Hyatt house for a spontaneous night out. We stayed once before on our wedding night out of convenience (it is right down the street from our wedding venue) and enjoyed the experience. It is one of the newer hotels uptown, and that automatically puts it at an advantage because the other big name hotels have become somewhat tired over the years. The complimentary breakfast is SO much better than other hotels that offer it. Great eggs, omelet station, crispy bacon, fresh fruit, etc. Very comfy beds, and full kitchen and sitting area in all rooms. The rooftop pool is small, but it's a nice spot. There's also a small fitness center. It's truly a great hotel and I'd highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay uptown.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank lmadams87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for coming back! We hope your night out was great, and we are happy we were a part of that. Please keep us in mind the next time you need a night out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Usually when you stay in a 2nd tier hotel of a major hotel chain like Hyatt or Marriott, you have to sacrifice something for the lower price, room size, amenities, location. If that's so, the Hyatt House never got the message. It's ideally located next to the convention center, two blocks from the center of the downtown restaurant and entertainment district. The rooms are oversized, actually small suites with a sitting area large enough for a couch and 2 chairs, a small kitchen and a bathroom with spacious walk in shower. Wifi is free. And the room comes with breakfast. Not lavish but quite adequate with an omelette station and an adequate selection of breads, cereals and juices. There's also a small pool.
Two minimal caveats. The food selections at the bar were extremely limited and quite overpriced so we avoided it. So I can't speak to it's quality but there are so many restaurants in the immediate area that it didn't really detract from the hotel. The $22 charge for valet parking was not mentioned when we made reservations. It's a nuisance, but, again because the hotel is so well located, we walked to neighborhood restaurants and therefore, avoided parking charges at those places.
All in all a reasonably priced, comfortable, spacious, superbly located hotel with all the necessary bells and whistles.

Room Tip: There's a senior citizen discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DowntownAby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize you did not know about our parking charge, I wish I knew who you booked through to make sure we have it on their website. We have done our best to cover all the third party sites, but sometimes things get missed.
Please keep us in mind the next time you come through Charlotte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were really impressed with the hotel during our stay, the accommodations were impeccable and the room was large and with a modern decor, the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. Highly recommend using this hotel if you are attending a event at the TWC arena. We will use again

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel, please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Everything was absolutely terrific - the staff, the check-in, the food, the breakfast, and the room. Well worth my money and I was happy to give them my dinner business. The bar was a great relaxing place to watch the football (soccer) game. Modern, clean lobby; wide hallways; clean and spacious rooms; great beds; good shower (but no bath - that seems to be the trend).

Also housekeeping was excellent, sweet, respectful, and spoke perfect English (a problem I've had at other hotels).

I selected the hotel based on TripAdvisor - and all reviews were spot on. The only downsides were parking ($$$ and no choice) and Internet speed (less than 1MB/sec and sporatic).

Room Tip: High floor with arena/city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your review, I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay overall.
I wanted to touch upon your 2 points briefly if I can. We only offer valet parking at the hotel, and there is a $22 charge per night, however, we do have a parking package on our website that can save you about 50% on your parking fees. In addition, there are 2 lots adjacent to the hotel that offer parking which ranges from $5 to $25 for every 12 hour time period.
As far as the internet, we were recently made aware of the issue, and have had our system upgraded. There should be no more issues.
Please do consider coming to see us again if you are in Charlotte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We are so happy with this hotel! The staff was so helpful and available for any requests! The only reason the hotel didn't receive 5 stars in my opinion is due to the $22 extra for valet only parking. I get the convenience aspect but when including tips it can add a significant percentage to the cost, I think a self parking option could hep to raise the rating to for for me. The staff accommodated my request for a high floor and good view and over provided with a corner room on the top floor. The breakfast is excellent and the bar also has superb food and drink specials for later in the day. Overall I would highly recommend Hyatt House, just don't forget some extra $1 for the valet tips.

Room Tip: The staff was more than gracious to accommodate my request for a high floor with with excellent view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. In regards to parking, we do only offer valet for safety and security of our guests and their vehicles. We do have a parking package available on our website at Hyatt.com that can save you up to 50% on your parking fees. In addition, there are 2 lots adjacent to the hotel that offer parking at rates from $5 to $25 for every 12 hours.
Please do come back and see us again, we would love to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located blocks from uptown offices, and connected to the Time Warner Center and practice facility for the Hornets. The latter fact led to exciting celebrity-coach sightings in the lobby after work. The front dest was so helpful, the bedroom very comfortable, room service was fast, and the food was good (though there are truly amazing restaurants a mere block away). Ask for running routes at check-in and you'll receive a laminated card that will take you out of the business area and down a lovely creek with plenty of other runners, even at 6 am. Loved the full hot and buffet breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Marcar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We do have a lot of sightings of players and coaches, it is quite exciting.
Please come back again, we would love to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 183 in Charlotte
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#33 of 183 in Charlotte
1,606 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Charlotte Center City

Address: 435 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2427 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Charlotte Center City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 183 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: $159 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Charlotte Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Charlotte Center City blends urban chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 163 smartly designed guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with lounge pool, alluring fireplace and cozy seating. Conveniently located adjacent to Time Warner Cable Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing