We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Ranked #9 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
126 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Love this new Hyatt Brand! First time in a Hyatt House. Loved this hotel. Customer service was outstanding on the in and out! Beautiful room. Quick stay....but so glad I picked this over my regular hotel. This will be my new Charlotte hotel!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lacleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased to your new hotel of choice! The HYATT house brand is still growing, but make sure you look for us when you travel. Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    285
    71
    26
    9
See reviews for
248
318
66
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This a great place to stay if you are in need of a room. Rooms are spacious and clean. The lobby is beautifully decorated and so welcoming. We stay here twice a year for conventions and we wouldn't go anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we look forward to having you back to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Hyatt House Charlotte for New Years Eve. Our room was very spacious with a separate sitting/dining area. There were two flat screen TVs in the room and plenty of space to be comfortable.

The room seemed brand new with the exception of a few hiccups. There was some brown/black shmutz on the curtain covering the (stayed in room 1104) window and there was also some mold forming on the ceiling in the bathroom near the shower (probably from the low ceilings and the humidity/steam). Other than that it was a beautiful room.

I also really appreciated the satellite TV with all the channels, there is nothing more frustrating than hotels that only offer 20 or 30 channels, it is 2014 people... get with the times.

One suggestion is that the lobby could use some sprucing, very plain and boring. Also there seemed to be some major elevator issues on the day of checkout (Jan 1, 2014).

Overall a very nice Hyatt property!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LessWork M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay overall. I have copied our housekeeping department on your review to have them check the room, thank you for letting us know, and we apologize for those issues.
As far as the elevators, I do know that the 1st was a very busy day for checkouts, and sometimes the elevators can take a little longer when they are stopping on each floor.
Thank you once again, and please come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol2442
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great staff, great location! Rooms are trendy and stylish. Flat screens are oversized and it feels cozy and comfy after a long day of travel. Check in process was quick and the front desk welcomed me with a smile as soon as I walked in the lobby. The hotel is connected to Time Warner Arena which makes it a must during NBA Season. Complimentary breakfast is hot and made to order. Fresh food, premium coffee and great customer service atmosphere. I look forward to visiting again CIAA week!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to having you back during the CIAA tournament!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I spent the night at the Hyatt House last Thursday evening. We had some difficulty finding the place due to all the construction work being done all around the hotel. Once we arrived, the staff was awesome. Very friendly people. They couldn't do enough to make our stay more enjoyable. The "efficiency" room we stayed in was very comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was excellent. As others have posted, the omelette was the best, ever! When we need a place to stay in the Charlotte area in the future, we will definitely stay at the Hyatt House.

Room Tip: The efficiency room is very roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do apologize for the construction, the city said they would be done by then.
Please do come back and see us, I hope the roads will be cleared by then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed here a few months back and my experience was AWESOME! The location, the room, the omlette bar and customer service were top notch. The only thing that kept my experience from being next to perfect was the fact that my car was broken into. Since parking was $22 per day at the hotel, I opted to park across the street for a lesser fee of $10. Afterall, it was clear across the street and I could in fact see the lot and car from my room window so I thought nothing of it. The morning after check in, when I finally managed to tear myself away from the plush bed and returned to my car, there it was, all in disarray. Steering column broke, winsheld cracked, radio ripped out and hundreds of dollars in damages. It was the worst! The woman at the front desk tried to be very helful and was kind enough to let me use the phone to call police. After waiting about 30 min, the police showed up, took a report and I had to have the car towed (even more money) Needless to say from that point on my weekend was ruined and I ended up paying a lot more than I bargained for. Overall, still an AMAZING place to stay just be sure to use the hotel parking!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esledge21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you car was broken into, that is just horrible. We hope that did not change your opinion of our hotel too much, and we hope you come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We loved the hotel and location, but $22 daily parking is a bit much. There's a lot on N. Caldwell next to the hotel for $5. Our room was 1604 and faced N. Caldwell St. nice skyline view from the 16th floor, could still hear the emergency vehicles. The cooked to order omelettes were great. The buffet breakfast had scramble eggs, bacon, potatoes with red & green peppers, great grits, toast, bagels, and assorted donuts and muffins. There's flavored herbal teas and coffee. The bar area looks great and it was comfortable. The business center has 3 large flat screen computers and a printer. The gym and pool are on the 7th floor, hotel has 17 floors total. There are only 2 elevators and they are slow. We had a king studio with full kitchenette, full size frig, microwave, dishwashers, garage disposal, silverware, dishes, wine glasses, wine opener, 2 burner cook top, sofa, desk, and huge TV. The bathroom has large shower and pocket door. Its our #1 in downtown from here on!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a wait for elevator, have to use room card to operate elevator. Breakfast Monday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are happy you enjoyed your stay overall. I am sorry you found our parking too expensive, please keep in mind we do have a parking package available on Hyatt.com that will help you save some money. The lots adjacent to our hotel do have rates that can be lower than ours from time to time, but please note those rates are for a 12 hour time period, and can change based on special events in the city. I have seen them go as high as $30 to park.
Please keep us in mind the next time you come to Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#38 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#18 of 177 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Charlotte Center City

Property: HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Address: 435 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2427 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Charlotte Center City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Charlotte Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Charlotte Center City blends urban chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 163 smartly designed guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with lounge pool, alluring fireplace and cozy seating. Conveniently located adjacent to Time Warner Cable Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing