We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Nice...excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Ranked #11 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice...excellent breakfast”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed here during thanksgiving visiting family. We had a king size bed room and were very impressed by the amenities. There was a full frig, a stove, and all the kitchenware you would need minus a wine opener (which is all we really needed)... the bed was very comfortable and had a full couch, the breakfast buffet was on the 1st floor restaurant and was very very good, they had an omelette bar also. Mostly they had scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, french toast or pancakes. A tub in the room instead of a standup shower would have been icing on the cake. Staff weren't THAT hospitable for the amenities that they had. One staff member told us they were all out of the board games that they had advertised, the next person told us they never had any games. They weren't very helpful with recommendations or seemed to know the area very well. Also, they didn't have much on tourist info at the front desk or in the room. They have a pool but it's outdoors, and it was open with the jets running so i'm guessing it was intended to be used but the water was not that warm. Oh and parking is $22 a day and it's valet, which was kind of annoying. It's very close to the downtown area and restaurants ... although it was very cold when we were there so the walk to a few places seemed very far and most of the restaurants don't have parking. The epicentre is a block away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNP_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very happy that overall you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to speak with our associates about their service quality, and to make sure we have the proper amenities in place.
I do apologize you did not enjoy the valet parking, we do offer a call down service so you can call ahead to have your car ready in the future, and we have a parking package available on Hyatt.com that will help you save some of your parking charges in the future.
Please come back and see us again if you are travelling to Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    313
    77
    29
    10
See reviews for
272
341
69
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenside, PA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Hyatt House in Charlotte is an amazing value. A hotel in the heart of a major city with large rooms, comfortable beds and one of the best breakfast buffets, including an omelet stations. All for under $100 a night.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are happy to see you were pleased with your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed here for my college homecoming weekend and the hotel was very nice. The decor was very modern (slightly eclectic) and the rooms are set up as a suite with a living area and kitchenette (with plates, pots/pans, and silverware provided). I also had great views of the city skyline. The only downside is the valet parking. The hotel only offers valet and so you have to wait for your car to be pulled around (and for me it took about 10 minutes one night). Overall, it's a great hotel and I've decided to stay here the next time I need to be close to downtown Charlotte.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the city skylline! It's gorgeous at night:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed our hotel.
In regards to the parking, 10 minutes is a very long time to wait for your car, and I apologize you had to wait so long, our valet staff is typically quicker. In the future, you can call ahead from your room to have your car waiting. We also do offer a parking package on Hyatt.com that may help to save you a little money on parking for your next stay.
Thanks again, and come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Center, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Arrived early for my reservation and the staff were very accommodating. Room was nicely appointed and the shower had nice pressure. Breakfast buffet with omelet station was very fresh well stocked. Parking was a little pricey but to be expected in downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, please keep us in mind the next time you come through Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very nice place. Our sleeping room (1602) is a full size suite, with doors between the bedroom and living room. It has a full size refrigerator and freezer, a two burner stove, and a small dishwasher and microwave oven. Everything you need to cook in the room is provided, from utensils to pots and pans. The combined kitchen/living room area has a full size sofa and armchair, a desk, and a large flat screen TV. Our bedroom had a king size bed and another flat screen TV. There are nice big canvass photos throughout the hotel, including in the rooms.

The vanity and bathroom are off the bedroom, with a pocket door separating the toilet and shower from the sink and vanity. For a bit more privacy, we would have preferred a door between the sink/vanity and the bedroom.

The complementary breakfasts at the hotel are perhaps its best selling point. They have omelets cooked to order, as well as other buffet style hot dishes (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, breakfast potatoes, and French toast were available on different days). Delicious! We did not find it particularly crowded the days we were there.

There's a nice fitness room on the 7th floor, with treadmills and other equipment. They have both a big screen TV and individual screens on the equipment which require ear buds (provided) or headphones. I never had to wait to use a treadmill early in the morning (between 6:15 and 7:30 AM).

This is a great place to stay for access to downtown, including the Time Warner Arena right next door. We went to a Charlotte Checkers hockey game one night; the trip "home" was a snap!

We did opt for the valet parking, despite the cost, just for piece of mind (and because we had a ton of luggage). I don't know all the details, but the parking lot across the street never looked close to full, so perhaps that would have been a cheaper option. One downside to the valet parking is you still have to go outside in inclement weather... there is no overhang for protection between the front door of the hotel and the exit from the parking deck. This is no fun if you have lots of luggage and it's raining.

We deliberately stayed on a high floor, and never had any problems with street noise. The HVAC in the bedroom is a bit noisy when it cycles on and off, but not a big problem. We had a corner room, and rarely heard any noise from the hallways.

I would not hesitate to stay here again... for business or pleasure

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We would be happy to have you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here for a concert at the arena next door and we were pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was. When my girlfriend booked the room I thought it was a little pricey, but by the time we left we felt we got a bargain. The rooms were beautiful and the location could not have been better. The valet guys (Mike & Vinny) were especially helpful and full of jokes and the full breakfast was definitely a step up from your regular dry cereal and bland coffee hotel offerings. Zero complaints, the only thing that could have been improved was the wait time for drinks at the bar, although I could tell the bar staff was working hard to accomodate everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJdabearsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for your review! I will make sure to share your comments with Mike and Vinny as well. Please come back any time to see us, we would love to have you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

dropped in on a whim while driving for the holidays; pleasant surprise! Great layout, convenient to all center city attractions; really nice staff;clean and modern rooms.

Liked it so much, booked it again for the Belk Bowl festivities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramdds702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel, we look forward to having you back here during the Belk Bowl!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#45 of 178 in Charlotte
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#47 of 178 in Charlotte
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Charlotte Center City

Property: HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Address: 435 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2427 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Charlotte Center City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Charlotte Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Charlotte Center City blends urban chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 163 smartly designed guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with lounge pool, alluring fireplace and cozy seating. Conveniently located adjacent to Time Warner Cable Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing