We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half a dozen stays, will keep going back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Ranked #10 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Half a dozen stays, will keep going back.”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stay here every time we travel to Charlotte, love the clean, modern look of rooms. Also like the AAA rate that includes free parking, love the free breakfast in the AM. Had some negative feedback about the weekend AM breakfast and I must say they have improved things. We stayed a Friday night for a football game. In the AM, they had a 2nd omlete station set up which meant virtually no line to get one this time. Everything stayed stocked this time, and when something was reported out (forks, coffee) it was replenished in minutes. There seemed to be about a half dozen employees working this time which is a huge improvement over last time. I must say that the breakfast employees are some of the nicest in the place, all work hard with a genuine smile on their face. We will be back for another stay in Nomember! Love the king studio rooms, sofa bed is perfect for our boys. Beds are really comfortable, I sleep great here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariareier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks so much for coming back! I am glad to hear the breakfast has improved over your last stay. Please keep coming back, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    305
    75
    28
    9
See reviews for
262
336
67
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

First time at a Hyatt House and I really like the concept. As a Diamond, was upgraded to a 1 bedroom corner suite, which I found spacious, although the layout is a bit quirky. Bed was extremely comfortable, large bathroom and shower and its good to have a living room and desk with enough space to work.

Was impressed with the gym (latest Precor machines) and had a small pool (which I didnt use) and I also like the "pantry" concept.

Breakfast and wifi was included - but I think breakfast is included for everyone as its a core part of the Hyatt House concept. I'd like to see more fresh fruit and natural yogurt (ie no sugar) but I am being picky..

Didn't use the bar at all, but it appeared busy each night I was there. Couldn't fault the front desk staff, very helpful and professional

I also found the location to be good - there's a great barber shop and shoe shine place right next door, you're within walking distance of some great restaurants and the hotel does exactly what it says on the tin. Its a very good business hotel.

Room Tip: Always try for a corner suite. Health Club is on Level 7, so I would choose this floor if I could
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eightblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for staying with us. It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay, please do consider us the next time you are in Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Checked in on 8/4. The front desk staff was great then. Today AM (8/5) is a different story.... A bit disappointed. But overall, a fab hotel! It is a modern hotel, neat, clean room and it has every amenity. Very nice hotel. But the front desk experience this AM has left a bitter taste in my mouth. Otherwise, just perfect!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomuNewark_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy you enjoyed our property overall. I am sorry to hear of your experience with the front desk, please feel free to contact us here at the hotel to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

It is a great hotel, close from everything! The pool was a great spot to hang out! There are few very comfortable chairs. Water was pretty chilly though! This hotel is really well maintained and the decoration of either public area or the rooms are up to date. The Customer service at the front desk is exceptional and very Professional!!The complimentary breakfast has a very good variety of food and there's an omelet station, so you can chose what you want in yours. The only negative point was that I had two beds in my room, which is fine. But when I chose a bed to sleep, I was under the sheets and there was a gross smell, like if somebody sweat a lot in those sheets and nobody washed them. I changed rapidely of bed. It was really disgusting but everything other than that was more than perfect at this hotel and after all everybody does mistakes once in a while, so I would definetely stay at this hotel again while in Charlotte's area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluegirl077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for the review, although I am a little surprised to hear of your bed. I do apologize for that, we will be sure to discuss this issue with housekeeping to make sure it does not happen again.

See you the next time you are in Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel was a great place to stay! Beautiful atmosphere- very clean- with the perfect location. The room was a really good size and all of the employees were very polite and helpful. The free breakfast was excellent! - what a bonus!

Room Tip: The Government Rate is a great value- and you don't have to be traveling per diem to get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The purpose of our stay was for our family reunion. The hotel and accommodations far exceeded our expectations. Nice spacious rooms, wonderful breakfast, and friendly, helpful staff, not to mention the close proximity to restaurants and museums.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are very happy we were able to host your family reunion! We hope that you and your family will be back again to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hyatt House Charlotte is a great place to stay in the city. Great location and very friendly staff. We only stayed two nights, but the room would have been perfect for an extended stay. Plenty of room and very comfortable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher up is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samanthakaitln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#43 of 178 in Charlotte
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#33 of 178 in Charlotte
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Charlotte Center City

Property: HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Address: 435 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2427 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Charlotte Center City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Charlotte Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Charlotte Center City blends urban chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 163 smartly designed guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with lounge pool, alluring fireplace and cozy seating. Conveniently located adjacent to Time Warner Cable Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing