We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very swanky- new yorkish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Ranked #11 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very swanky- new yorkish”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Great room and great location right near city center and lots of restaurants. Staff was very friendly and breakfast was a nice bonus. Only downfall was that the elevators were very slow. Rooms were very spacious and comfy.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindzjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate the feedback. You mentioned our elevators being slow, and I do apologize there was a delay. I don't know which day you stayed with us, but we were doing some routine maintenance on our elevators earlier in the week, and we did have a large group using our meeting space for the last part. The higher volume of people may have slowed it down due to higher demand. The elevators themselves are high speed elevators and usually we do not have too many issues with them, but with high demand, it can sometimes take a little longer.
Thank you again, and please come back and see us if you are in the Charlotte area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    305
    75
    28
    9
See reviews for
262
336
67
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights and was very impressed. Great location. Next door to Time Warner Arena. Walking distance to downtown. Staff was very friendly. House keeping left our dirty wine glasses in the room and left a near empty roll of toilet paper in the bathroom instead of replacing it. Comp breakfast was great. Had hot and cold choices as well as an omelet bar.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bijemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for giving us such a great review. I do apologize for the housekeeping issue, we have brought this to their attention, and we do appreciate you letting us know about it. Please come and stay with us again if you are in Charlotte, we would love to impress you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Recently stayed here on a guys weekend to see a Bobcats basketball game and Panther's football game. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze and Zack at front desk is very helpful with the local area. Hotel is next door/connected to Bobcat arena, so that was super convenient. After the game, just a few blocks up is a great selection of restaurants and nightclubs at a location called 'Epicentre'. Front desk was able to give us some door passes to 'Suite' nightclub, which had a good vibe and great music. The room is comfort, clean and looks fairly new. The hotel was sold out the night we were there, but the whole place was ultra quiet in the rooms. You would never have known it was sold out....though when it came to the complimentary buffet breakfast in the morning, you realized how many people were staying at the hotel. A few more staff to help facilitate guiding and assisting guests would definitely be helpful.

Room Tip: Self parking is across the street and is pretty reasonable to the valet hotel choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 28_apg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for leaving such a great review of our hotel, we will make sure we let Zac know he was helpful for you!
Please come back and see us the next time you are in Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed staying at the Hyatt House in downtown Charlotte. The room was comfortable and clean, plenty of space, good bed and bathroom. Full kitchen was a bonus. For the value this hotel was a great option. Free wireless worked great. Easy to walk to anything we wanted to do in downtown. The only con would be the drop off area when you are checking in. You basically pull into the parking garage entrance and then have to immediately unload your car in a tight space. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again (assuming there isn't a major event going on at the TWC arena at the same time).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arttastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay here with us. Please come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for a week for business.

1) Located right next to the arena and bus station
2) Friendly staff and cleaning crew
3) Modern decor and decent layout
4) Wifi was above avg in speed
5) CVS and other food/restaurants nearby
6) Decent selection of food from the bar/room service
7) Great free breakfast (omelet station, continental breakfast, etc)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soyanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear just how convenient we were for you. Please come back and see us the next time you come to Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed two nights here while in town to watch the Panthers game. The room was very comfortable, nice to have the fully stocked kitchenette. The staff were very friendly, especially the breakfast staff. The location was perfect for our needs, walking distance to Epicenter and even the stadium. Thanks for a great experience, will definitely try to stay here again if ever back in Charlotte.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for leaving your review, we are happy you enjoyed our hotel for your visit to see the Panthers!
Please do keep us in mind for the next Panthers, Bobcats, or Checkers game!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-On-Tees
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great hotel. Large,clean,stylish and comfortable rooms. Helpful happy staff. Included breakfasts were very tasty. The bar on an evening served very good food. My son enjoyed the small pool, very pleasant after a busy day sightseeing. The guest laundry was a really useful addition to facilities.Great location for any of the sporting events. A very smart hotel which made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we are very happy you liked our hotel and facilities. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#43 of 178 in Charlotte
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#33 of 178 in Charlotte
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Charlotte Center City

Property: HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Address: 435 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2427 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Charlotte Center City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Charlotte Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Charlotte Center City blends urban chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 163 smartly designed guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with lounge pool, alluring fireplace and cozy seating. Conveniently located adjacent to Time Warner Cable Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing