We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Ranked #12 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderful ambiance, and great location. There is a full kitchen which is very nice. Parking is a valet of $22/night. I would definitely stay there again; especially if I am going to a basketball game. The only down fall is there is a bus station just adjacent to the hotel which doesn't attract a good crowd.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms have nice views of the city. If you are looking outward onto the city, the sunset i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyfkrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, it is good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do have the transportation center adjacent to the hotel, and I can proudly say that we have never had a problem reported to us from any of our guests because of it. Like any city, there are areas you will want to stay clear of, the transportation center has recoginized this, and has round the clock security and Police to maintain everyone's safety and well being.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Charlotte, and thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a studio room on the 12th floor. We could see the pool below us and the arena was right next door. We could still see the city skyline even with the arena next door.

The room was clean upon arrival. I thought it was a nice touch to have complimentary toothpaste. The vanity area was seperate from the shower and toilet area. The shower was very accommodating, there was plenty of elbow room. My only complaint was that there was no type of shower bar.

There was a sofa in the room along with a desk and kitchen area. We took full advantage of the full size fridge made available. The TV was on a swivel stand so we could swivel it towards the seating area or towards the bed area.

The complimentary breakfast was very good. There was an omelet station along with buffet style eggs, bacon, grits, cereal, and fruit.

we did check out the pool area before we left, it was windy at the time but it was a very nice setup. The fitness area also had different machines and free weights available.

The parking is a bit steep but given that you are staying downtown it is understandable. We did not use the valet at the hotel and chose to use the public lots across the street. I looked up several different hotels downtown and all of them had the use of valet or a parking garage. The price varied but I did not use this as a determining factor for this trip.

We were looking for a nice overnight stay and we received exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am very happy you enjoyed yourself! It appears you had the opportunity to see just about everything we have to offer here at the hotel. The only recomendation for your parking would be if you return to book your reservation on Hyatt.com and book a parking inclusive package. This will help to save you some money overall on your parking in our garage.
Thanks again, and please come back to see us if you are in Charlotte again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and the rooms are great. Each room has a full size refridgerator, mini cooktop and microwave. Looks newly refurbished, and with walking distance to Epicenter. They all have a free breakfast which includes made to order omlets, sausage, bacon, waffles, cereal bagels..etc. Was awesome. We also parked right across the street for $6.00 instead of the $22.00 they charge at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAtravelbug50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us if you come back to Charlotte in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The location is great if you plan to go to the Epicenter (just two blocks away). The staff was very kind, especially when 12 women came in around 2:30 in the morning! The gym was really nice! Great treadmills! The pool was small (we didn't actually go in as it was overcast) and there was plenty of seating around to accommodate all 12 of us, plus a few other families. The breakfast was really nice, complete with an omelet station!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

We are very pleased that you and your friends enjoyed our hotel and were able to experience just about everything we had to offer. Thank you for staying with us and please keep us in mind if you come back the Charlotte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed here the weekend of the 18th for a girls night out and i have to say this hotel was absolutely GORGEOUS! its modern and comfy style made me not want to leave. I felt like i was staying in a condo! the staff was super nice and friendly especially the young ladies at the front desk. As far as parking goes, i opted for the valet which was worth the $22 because that weekend the Dolphins played the Panthers which made parking hell in uptown Charlotte. it was very close to restaurants, bars etc. i always felt safe and secure at the hyatt and loved the fact that the room keys where needed to access elevators so not just anyone could come in. For my upcoming trip to charlotte i will be booking at the Hyatt again for sure! Thanks for a awesome weekends stay :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harlem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do keep us in mind the next time you are coming for another Girls Night, we would love to have you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed for one night to see Miami Dolphins play Panthers at Bank of America Stadium! I always use Trip Advisor and was impressed by all the Excellent ratings for this Hotel which did include issues with parking. If you don't get parking included with your rate - valet parking is $22 whether you park 1 minute to unload or 24 hours for your stay. I booked through Hyatt.com and noticed they had a package that included valet parking for only $12 extra BUT I decided NOT to get the parking included. WRONG THING TO DO!! We read reviews about paid parking across the street but no nearby street parking. We opted to pay in the lot which is right across the street. It's $6 whether you park for 1 minute or 12 hours, which means you'd have to pay $12 for a 24 hour stay. Well, we parked for 1 hour before the game and paid our first $6 and then we got back really late and paid another $6 for the next 12 hours we were there before checkout. Well, you do the math - we could have paid $12 when I booked through Hyatt.com for 24 hour valet parking where your luggage is unloaded and car parked. BUT, we opted to do other and ended up still paying $12 and we had to carry our own luggage across the street. We will book through Hyatt.com next time and get valet parking included in the package because it's a Great Deal. We were very pleased with the location even though it is near the bus station. We did walk down about 1 block or more to the CVS by the bus station and there were alot of people out there but we felt pretty safe but would not walk around at night. You have to use your room key to run the elevator so it's a very secure hotel. We were very pleased with the 2 queen beds in the room and we slept wonderfully. We didn't have the full fridge but did have a small one along with coffee maker and microwave which was plenty for the time we were there. The water pressure in the shower was GREAT!!! It was very quiet at night and we didn't hear any hallway noise or others in rooms next door. The continental breakfast was free and it was WONDERFUL. They had someone cooking omelets to order for whoever wanted it! They had fresh scrambled eggs, meat, hot oatmeal, muffins, french toaster sticks, fresh fruit, juice, starbucks coffee and more and there was plenty of sitting. The breakfast on site meant alot because there wasn't other food nearby without driving. We were very pleased with our stay and will stay again when we return to Charlotte.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Braswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review of our property, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay!
I am glad you pointed out the parking package we have available on Hyatt.com, we strongly encourage everyone to book through there to get our best rates.
We hope you decide to come back to Charlotte in the near future to see a game, and please make sure you look us up again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Short walk up East Trade to the Epicenter. Right next to the Arena. The rooms are very modern, but not sparse like Aloft. My room had a full kitchen, and you normally don't get this for the price I paid. Very good staff on this visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viperfreak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for the excellent review you left for us! The staff will be happy to hear how well they did for our customers.
Please make sure you keep us in mind the next time you are in Charlotte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#34 of 178 in Charlotte
1,559 reviews
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Charlotte Center City

Address: 435 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2427 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Charlotte Center City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: $147 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Charlotte Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Charlotte Center City blends urban chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 163 smartly designed guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with lounge pool, alluring fireplace and cozy seating. Conveniently located adjacent to Time Warner Cable Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing