We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Staff Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews
Ranked #39 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Barnwell, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Staff Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I travel a good bit and stay mostly at Marriott properties and the staff at most of them are great. But the staff here was by far the best of any I have encountered. Ever one spoke most ask if ever thing was to your sat. And they where overall in a great mood might have been the christmas spirt I do not know but I did enjoy my stay because of them. Great job!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
TRB50,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am elated to know that our staff took great care of you and I will certainly pass along your comments to our entire team. We take a lot of pride in providing the best service, cleanest rooms, and providing an experience rather than just a nights stay. We hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    86
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
147
49
9
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Really great location and excellent facility. The staff were very friendly and extremely accomodating. The heated pool was a highlight for our granddaughter. The breakfast area was clean and neat with the promise of a more complete offering coming to the inn soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warbrooks802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Warbrooks802,
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to let us know about your stay! Our staff prides themselves on ensuring that each guest is taken care of and that their stay exceeds expectations. We look forward to our new breakfast program for 2013 and welcome you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I would recommend this location to friends and family. It is conviently located to a variety of restaurants and within a short driving distance to most of what we like about Charlotte. The hotel is clean and very guest friendly; even in the middle of the night with a sick loved one. Loved the lobby decor. We also had an opportunity to enjoy the indoor pool and whirlpool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lioness2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass along your thoughtful words with our entire staff. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service and our staff truly understands the meaning of hospitality. Thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

When I entered the lobby of the newly built Fairfield Inn to make reservations for the Thanksgiving holidays, I was greeted enthusiastically by the front office supervisor, Brittany Crowder. She was very relatable and her smile was infectious. It was obvious that she loves what she is doing. She is a valuable asset to the hotel.

After a few minutes, the general manager, Mr. Santos came out of his office and greeted me also. He has great interpersonal skills and represented the hotel in a knowledgeable and eloquent manner. He was professional, attentive, and focused on meeting my needs. He offered his assistance in trying to make our stay a memorable experience. He assured me that he and the staff was 100% committed to providing the best possible customer service for all their guests.

I booked two other hotels in the area and needed to make a decision between the three hotels. It is said that first impressions are lasting ones. After such hospitality, i knew that I wanted my family to experience the warmth and kindness that I had experienced at the hotel. My decision was made!! We would spend Thanksgiving and have our traditional dinner at the Fairfield Inn.

The lobby was warm and inviting. The room was clean and smelled fresh. The bed was comfortable. The hotel was quiet which made for a good night's sleep. With breakfast included in the rate, we did not have to go out in the cold to find food. The staff was supportive and very accommodating.

We catered our dinner and ate downstairs in the eating area. We had tableclothes on the tables, a spread of delicious food, a television for the men to watch football, stores that were nearby and open after dinner for the women to shop, and a comfortable bed waiting upstairs. It felt just like we were at home.

We had a great stay. Excellent customer service ensured that we will come back as well as refer others to the hotel. We are considering making this hotel the meeting place for our annual Thanksgiving get-together.

Great job to the staff and management!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollerback12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your thoughtful words! Brittany has been one of our shining stars and continues to show growth in her role. I appreciate your kind words about your overall experience. Our mission is to consistently provide superior customer service and ensure that each guest has an experience, not just a stay. I am elated to hear that you will return and that we will host Thanksgiving dinner for your family next year. It was an absolute pleasure of ours and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks again and have a wonderful holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is new, clean, and very guest friendly. All request for Taxi's were taken care of swiftly. I prepaid for the hotel stay and was faxed a receipt immediately.
I will recommend this hotel to my friends and family. I will also stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captyoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that your chose our property for your weekend Ski get-a-way! We hope you enjoyed that as much as you enjoyed your visit with us! We hope to see you soon and welcome you back at any time. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This motel is an example of design decsions that make an ordinary motel a delightful place to stay. The decor is bright and contemporary in the lobby, halls and rooms (I assume they are all decorated alike). The night we stayed even the price was excellent for this type of lodging. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMC633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. We take a lot of pride in its sleek and contemporary design and cap that off with a staff that is ready to go above and beyond throughout your experience. It was our pleasure having you hear and we hope to see you again soon. Have a safe and happy holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macon, ga
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel itself was nothing special....Breakfast was limited for my husband who is gluten-free...No selections for his diet.......Room was clean EXCEPT for the bathroom which obviously was not swept. Hair found on floor and used dental floss was behind the trash can, which tells me they DID NOT sweep. Bed and pillows very uncomfortable. I expected more from a Fairfield Inn..Not worth the higher price.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogmom719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I am terribly sorry that your recent stay with us left a lot to be desired. I can assure you that we work diligently to ensure that each guest not only has a pleasant stay, but a memorable experience. We will certainly review this and ensure that procedures are followed accordingly as we take cleanliness and standards here at the hotel very seriously. We take pride in our overall ranking and numerous 5 star reviews and take even more pride in ensuring that we correct issues if they are present. Please contact wes.santos@marriott.com if you are ever in the area again and I would be more than happy to provide you a one night's stay to show you what we are all about. Thank you so much for your feedback as we can only learn and grow from it. Have a safe and happy holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte
East Forest
BEST WESTERN PLUS Charlotte/Matthews Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews
Address: 8540 E Independence Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28227-7783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > East Forest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#27 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Fairfield Inn & Suites is located 10 minutes from the heart of Charlotte! Come visit us and enjoy our spacious rooms, contemporary design and friendly staff. Our hotel features complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi, a unique outside patio equipped with a fireplace and grill, indoor pool and fitness center. We also have a 1000 sq. ft. meeting room that can cater to your next event or business meeting. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Charlotte Matthews
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing