We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real jewel in a unique location”
Review of Bistro La Bon

Bistro La Bon
Ranked #83 of 2,389 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pecan Ave
Transit: Bus Number 9, 17, 39
Galax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real jewel in a unique location”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant experince . The food was outstanding as well as excellant service. I had soup, steak, and bread pudding for desert. Every thing was prepared correctly. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone who values excellant food and excellant service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rneal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    41
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Juno Beach
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brisket beef cubes tough and chewy”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The smorgasbord is limited to a few inexpensive entrees. $18 per person is probably the reason. The "Sunday roast" was ..Beef brisket . It was cut into cubes and was tough and chewy.You Desserts were mediocre with mini cupcakes as a choice...how boring..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MizPaulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Land, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall Good”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Went on a Saturday evening with 6 PM reservations in early December. The restaurant never filled up by the time we left around 7:30. Spent about $60/person after tip and with apps, salads, couple drinks each, and entrees. The staff was friendly, attentive, and not pretentious. Ambiance was up-scale casual where you will feel comfortable in almost anything you are wearing.

The menu apparently changes with the seasons, so we will likely go back every 3 months or so.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Having grown up in Charlotte seeing it go from a small town to the 2012 DNC site has been incredible. When my parents bought their house in the South Park area, there was no mall, only a cow pasture, clearly, a lot has changed.

Happily the restaurant scene in Charlotte has grown, as well, and Bistro La Bon is a fabulous addition to the city's expanding culinary tastes. Its location is one that is unexpected, and makes the experience a bit adventurous, as though one just has to be in on a little secret in order to know where some of the best food in the greater Charlotte area is being served.

All of the dishes I have tried are absolute stars, but the one that first pops into my head is the pan seared halloumi appetizer. The word succulent doesn't often come to mind when describing cheese, but succulent is, indeed, what this dish is! It's savory, warm, buttery, and hearty all at the same time, and as a contrast, the halloumi is accompanied by delicate, fresh greens, as well as, sweet figs.

The pan seared scallops are a must, they are cooked to perfection, and having not been such a huge fan of scallops prior to trying Bistro La Bon's dish, my mind has been forever changed. They are tender, and juicy, never trespassing into the dreaded "rubber zone."

I would be remiss if I didn't mention the saffron risotto with roasted seasonal vegetables. If you are longing for some really great comfort food the creamy warm risotto is the way to go.

The first time I dined at Bistro La Bon was during the summer when their seasonal dessert, peach tarte tartin, was on the menu. All I can say is that this dish so rightly deserves the "best desert" award it was given by "Creative Loafing." If the peach tarte tartin is not an option when you visit, I recommend the bourbon brioche bread pudding; it's scrumptious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of Charlotte's best!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Located in a strip mall next to a Family Dollar store, you could easily pass by this place but that would be a mistake..imaginative menu, passionate leadership and helpful staff. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu but one thing is a must...save room for the brioche bread pudding. Creme Brulee is a close runner up too...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro La Bon also viewed

 

Been to Bistro La Bon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing