We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Way To Spend a Few Hours in Charlotte”

NASCAR Hall of Fame
Ranked #3 of 179 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The NASCAR Hall of Fame is where legends live on. Where fun lives on. Where the race lives on. Enjoy amazing artifacts, interactive exhibits, simulator rides and special events at the High Octane Theater. Plus, you can grab a bite to eat in the NASCAR Hall of Fame Café or at the Buffalo Wild Wings restaurant. You also can take home a souvenir at the gift shop to help you remember it all.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fun Way To Spend a Few Hours in Charlotte”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Not a big NASCAR fan - and even I enjoyed this. Parking and getting in were a breeze.

This is a GREAT spot for families or for couples looking to goof around and have some fun. The ticket package they offer that includes admission, a souvenir lanyard, a small lunch and one ride on the simulator car is a good value.

First floor offered an upclose look at some of NASCAR's better known cars (some authentic & some replicas where noted on displays). Dale Sr.'s #3, the classic Mountain Dew car, Jimmie Johnson's famous #48, Richard Petty and several other drivers were represented. The cars all are on display on a track that increases in banking to the next level of the museum. You can even stand on one spot of the 'track' to understand just how steep the banking of the track is. Nice touch.

They also had a special rotating exhibit area that had cars from TV and film during our time there. Herbie, Disney's Cars, Days of Thunder, Talladega Nights, etc. cars were there on display at the time. Great spot for photo ops and to learn some behind-the-scenes details about the productions.

They have a small cafe where you can get food to eat and drink. Included in the ticket, we had an option of a pulled pork sandwich, sausage or hot dog - along with a small side and a small soda, juice or water. Great snack / small meal to get you through your time at the museum. ALSO, there is a Buffalo Wild Wings connected directly to the entrance / exit of the Hall of Fame, so if you are in the mood for that when you leave - it's an option.

Many interactive exhibits and touchscreens and hands on activities. Simulator is fun. Would have been more fun if the other 'drivers' didn't 'bump' your car off the track all the time - but enjoyable nonetheless. DO NOT MISS THE UPPER LEVEL. I believe it is level 4. Most of the nicer memorabilia and interactive things are located there - including trivia stops and a fun NASCAR photo op (FREE).

I'd say give this 2 - 2 1/2 hours to really enjoy (however, it is doable in less than that if you are so inclined or pressed for time) - and if you are a NASCAR fan, maybe 3.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoTripKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    533
    144
    31
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice NASCAR memorabilia...but overpriced and simulator not worth extra $$”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Spent a rainy afternoon with my NASCAR fan nephews at the hall of fame. The facility is very nice with many interesting and educational exhibits. There are some interactive displays as well that make the experience a little more engaging. I got my nephews the combo package that includes entrance, unlimited simulator rides, lanyard&souvenir cup, and lunch at the cafe. Overall, not a great value, as there's really only 1 simulator ride. Plus, when I paid for the tickets, the lady told us to wait until we were finished to stop by customer service and pick up our souvenir cups so that we wouldn't have to carry them around. Of course, by the time we finished, we completely forgot about the cups. My own fault, yes...but the only exit is through the gift shop, while the customer service desk is around the corner as you exit, and hard to notice on your way out. We all thought the simulator ride was too difficult...especially for kids. First of all, the guys working it had bad attitudes and were short with us while giving us directions. Secondly, if you make a mistake, they shut you down and you just have to sit there until the ride is over...and they don't even show you the race on your screen during this time, so you just sit there. It would've been much more fun to have the simulator like an amusement park ride where you just mash the gas, hit the break, and change gears. Entrance fee should include everything. Overall, not very impressed with this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travels4jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monclova, ohio
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“NASCAR 4 stars”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Overall very good experience. History of racing and iconic cars and stars keep everyone's interest. 12 m introductory movie runs continuously tells the history of NASCAR. Snack stand inside if need refreshments all beef hotdogs 4.50 salads 5.00 kind of pricy snacks. Lots of good restaurants nearby eat before go. Rocking chairs strategically placed. Kids loved simulator. Overall really good afternoon

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fun pit stop”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A big thrill for fans. Lots of history & memorabilia. Interesting & some fun interactive exhibits for families. Best part is the simulator racing (though practice ahead of time in practice area, for best results).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must for race fans”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

If you are a race car fan, you must see the NASCAR Hall of Fame. It is relatively inexpensive, has a vast array of artifacts from the early days, has about 20 of the cars from early drivers to recent including Junior Johnson, the Petty's and others, and has allot of interactive exhibits for kids to adults. I liked walking on the banked track and never realized how much of an incline it was. I also like seeing the photographs from the early days of Daytona Beach. Check with your hotel for current discounts. It's a fun way to spend an afternoon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NASCAR Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to NASCAR Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing