We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Merry Merry!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
Ranked #35 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Merry Merry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Aloft in Ballantyne over the Christmas holidays. We were accompanied by our little rescue dog, Bandit.

The hotel is spotless, the staff incredibly courteous and the amenities everything a person would want. Of special note were Mr. Mina Banoub, the guest services manager, and his assistant Emily, both extraordinarily attentive, caring and knowledgeable.

Access to the Aloft is as easy as it gets and there are a huge number of restaurants and shops all within a minute or two if the hotel. If you need to go into The city (Charlotte) it is a 10 minute drive on the interstate.

Whether or not you are in town for business or pleasure the Aloft at Ballentyne is the place to stay.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hi Ron A

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our Aloft. I will definitely be passing on your comments to Mina and Emily. As the General Manager it makes me happy to hear that you were well taken care of in all facets of your stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    102
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
102
58
31
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Etowah, North Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at Aloft while visiting family over the Holidays. I was greeted warmly by staff and check-in was efficient and easy. The hotel decor is euro techno style with energy efficient lighting. The room was small but very clean and quiet. I liked the food offerings in the quick-to-go food court. Not your usual grocery store muffins. There was a wide variety of crafted muffins, Chobani yogurt, fresh fruit, etc. The heated pool was great and the bar service was excellent. I plan to try other Aloft locations in North Carolina.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hi there guv11

I hope you had a Merry Christmas with us, and enjoy a prosperous New Year!
I wanted to thank you for your review and am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you visit with us again

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here while visiting family in the area. Check-in was efficient and pleasant. The room was clean and efficiently organized and appointed. We did feel somewhat claustrophobic as the room was on the small side and there is a lot in it. It felt very cold (not temperature) and sort of clinical. The mattress was firm and pleasant. The bathroom was clean and the towels were nice and large. We did not like the shampoo/bath gel in large dispensers in the shower although we do understand the concept behind it. The hall noise woke us up 2x during the night so if you are a light sleeper and there are boisterous neighbors, that could be an issue for you. We did not eat there although there is food available (not a restaurant) for purchase.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopymaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hi snoopymaryland

Thanks for your review and comments, we appreciate your feedback about our Aloft. i would like to apologise about the hallway noise from our other guests. We unfortunately cannot control this but we are looking at ways to try and dampen any noise that comes from the hallways into the rooms. We hope you will come back and give us another try next time you are in town.

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

So, I visited Charlotte again and decided to stay at ALoft...the second visit was just as good as the first if not a little better. From check-in to check-out, I couldn't ask for a better hotel visit. The check-in ladies (Ms. Beard) were friendly, the room comfortable, the bartender, Matt, amazing, check-out was quick and simple...thanks for another great stay!

Room Tip: Pick a HC room...it's HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingoutofNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi TravelingoutofNC,

Thanks for your second fantastic review of our Aloft!
i am glad that we have been able to stay consistent between your stays. Thanks for recognizing Alex and Matt, I will be sure to pass on your comments to them.
We look forward to your next visit!

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I found out about this place one year ago only by accident.
I travel to Charlotte every Thanksgiving. Last year the hotel where I usuaily stay was booked.
i was advised that there was this place called Aloft and I should check it out.
I was able to make a reservation and upon arrival I was impressed. The staff were friendly.
The room was great. This place has a "green" approach. No little plastic bottels of shampoo and tiny bars of soap. These items are dispensed from within the shower. They also have the rooms stocked with a variety of reading material. The downstairs loung was nice. You can also get food and drink 24 hours a day from the grab and go shop. I am no world taveler but I have stayed in some major American cities as well as Northern Europe and Scandanvia. I would rate my experience at Alotf as five star for a three star price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hello Paul W!

Thank you so much for your review. It's awesome that you came back and joined us for Thanksgiving for a second year in a row! We really like being compared to five star properties! (even though we are a three star). Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next year for Thanksgiving!

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice modern clean place. Located in an upscale neighbourhood on a golf course. About a 20 min drive to downtown. On the good side, nice rooms with a functional design - not large, but without the usual bad hotel furniture. Great for wifi. Can opt out of housekeeping each day to get a $5 food certificate or 250 starwood points. Nice pool and exercise room. Lots of games and pool table in lobby. On the down side, the hallways echo so anyone talking there can be heard into the rooms - they need to look into better sound-proofing. They allow dogs and some were barking loudly. The breakfast is not included, which is fine; they boast about having a chef making each order fresh, but it all looks like microwaved frozen food, which is not very good. Pancakes were fine, but eggs were pretty fake tasting (but no worse than your standard hotel lobby buffet). But had a good selection of muffins and other juices. would stay here again, but skip the food.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelwithabook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi there M O

I wanted to thank you for your review of our Aloft. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I apologise that the rooms were noisy. In the future please contact the front desk and we will happily address any concerns you may have, as it is our goal to make sure you have an exceptional experience while at our property. Our refuel grab and go area is not a sit down restaurant per say but we do have a culinary talent member who makes the breakfast items to your specifications as opposed to having premade food.
We look forward to seeing you again next time around

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver,CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great hotel in a quiet location. Very pleasant hotel staff, very new and modern rooms, excellent tv and wifi service. This place is worth a few minutes drive south. Comparing it to the other Starwood properties in the area , this is the best.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Adak4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Well hello there Adak4647!

I wanted to thank you for your excellent review of our Aloft and we really appreciate you taking the time to write it. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip into Charlotte!

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Ballantyne Area
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen
0.2 mi away
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Pineville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne

Property: Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
Address: 13139 Ballantyne Corporate Pl, Charlotte, NC 28277-2840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#28 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#30 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#30 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne Hotel, set along the grassy greens of The Golf Club at Ballantyne in an upscale lifestyle community, and in the heart of Ballantyne Corporate Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing