We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai here”

Basil Thai Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 2,404 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Fourth Ward
Description: Refined Thai Cuisine and an invigorating dining experience in the heart of downtown Charlotte, NC. Basil's infectious atmosphere centers around a prominent glass kitchen as the sound of heat to metal, blade to board and liquid to flame resonate throughout the restaurant. Dine with us and celebrate quality cuisine made with the finest, freshest ingredients.Private rooms and catering available!!
istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Thai here”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We enjoyed it so much, we went back everyday. Their lunch specials are very affordable.

I always order green curry and found theirs to be super good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cote_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    96
    39
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My first Thai experience!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was thoroughly impressed with the exceptional level of service we received from the staff. They explained the menu well and made spot-on recommendations. The food was also excellent. You must try the Basil Shrimp. Phenomenal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaybee730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My two favorites are the pad thai and the chicken coconut soup. My husband and I really enjoy going to Basil's and are always treated like VIP. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dtnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious Pad Thai!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was my first time to Basil and it was a great experience. We started out with the Thai Wings and Larb which was good. The entire table ordered the Pad Thai which was amazing! It comes with all the fixins including chicken and shrimp. I had a medium spice added to mine with addition to chili seeds. I washed it all down with the Pineapple Mojito which was delish! I love Thai food and will return to Basil!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Horrible expierence”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Food and restaurant is good and unique.

But service is very bad. The host ladies are very rude and looks like they are in bad mood just because.

I like the food because its good but eating with a bad service is just not for me.

This was one o my favorite places but now am completely disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucille123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Basil Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing