We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great new hotel in Uptown Charlotte!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Ranked #18 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great new hotel in Uptown Charlotte!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

My wife & I, along with our 9-year old stayed here for a Bon Jovi concert. The hotel is directly next door to Time Warner/Bobcats arena and across the street from the Epicenter entertainment complex with lots of dining options. I almost always stay at Hilton properties and we decided to treat ourselves this time...we weren't disappointed. The rooms were much larger than the Hilton Charlotte and bathrooms were very big. Only complaint was that we couldn't get the room cool enough for our liking. However, road noise from the adjacent bars/clubs was not an issue. I'd highly recommend this hotel and stay here again, particularly for a concert or event at the arena...it's the closest hotel to the arena.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank culord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    94
    36
    24
    16
See reviews for
105
204
35
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

My surprize 50th birthday gift was a stay at the Ritz Carlton in Charlotte, NC. My stay was fabulous from the valet to the Spa treatment. The suite was to die for from the entrance to the the bathroom. Everything was grand, until checkout. This was an all expense paid experience for me. However, the receipt, that I should not have seen, was placed under my door and I was charged for the stay as well. Upon inquiry of the error made, I was assisted in a condesending manner and it appears that they have an issue with VISA debit cards. The manager advised me that it was a computer clitch. In a nutshell, the error, which was human, should have never happened. Customer Service means everything when you stay at any given hotel, motel, resort. Ritz Carlton I was not impressed with the customer service @ your front desk by clerk or manager.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simone1serengeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

I surprised my wife with a night at the Ritz for our anniversary. When we arrived, the front desk staff wished us a happy anniversary. There was a very nice flower arrangement that I had ordered waiting in the room. The Ritz surprised me by adding a beautiful cake with fresh berries and a white chocolate ribbon that said happy anniversary! The hotel is modern and attractive throughout. The room was beautiful and nicely furnished. The bathroom was huge with a large separate bath and shower, and a TV built into the mirror that my wife loved! We took advantage of the special rate that included valet parking and an in-room breakfast, and ordered whatever we wanted from the room service menu. The breakfast was very nicely presented and the service was terrific. The hotel is in an excellent location just 1 block from the center of uptown Charlotte, so there are plenty of great restaurants and things to see nearby. It is also 1 block from the Time Warner Cable Arena and from the Lynx light rail station. Our room was very quiet and our entire stay was pleasant and comfortable. Be sure to check out the pool and spa on the top floor of the hotel. The pool overlooks the city and is beautiful. I recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

I arrived and was informed by the front desk staff I had been upgraded. The room was incredible. Had to be at least 1400 square feet of absolutely beautifully decorated space. I was in heaven.

I went to my event came home around 11pm and tried to go to sleep. The noise from the street below is overwhelming. I woke up at 3am and there was no way to go back to sleep. I have had this same experience in New Orleans when I amde the mistake of getting a room on Bourbon Street or on the Riverwalk in San Antonio.

The hotel is stunning, the service is the usual outstanding service you expect from the Ritz Carlton, but the builders did this hotel a HUGE disservice by putting in the wrong windows.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chickstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blahblah457
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

I made the mistake of going to the bar at the hotel and overheard my waitress tell her co-worker she had strep throat, felt terrible, and had asked the boss to leave and been told she had to stay until closing. Ugh! The last thing I want when the flu is going around is to have someone whose sick serve me.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank blahblah457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

We checked in on a Friday afternoon. We were warmly greated and told we had been upgraded and given a complimentary breakfast, given the fact that we had used a preferred travel agent affiliated with the Luxury Collection of Hotels. We were told that the roll-away bed we had requested was reserved and would be put in our room at turn-down when they made up the pull-out couch into a bed. When we returned at 10 p.m. nothing had been done. We called the desk and asked that it be taken care of. We then had to go down to the desk 20 minutes later to make the same request. The staff showed up and indicated that there were no more roll-away beds. They made a bed on the floor for our youngest son. It was close to 11:30 when they finished and we quickly put our children to bed. This was not the worst of it. The room was directly across the street from the Epicenter, an outdoor shopping, restaurant and bar complex. There was exceedingly loud music and you could even hear voices. This went on until 3 a.m. I finally went into the bathroom and slept on the floor at 2:45 a.m., as you could not hear the noise with the door closed. When we checked out the next morning, the desk attendant indicated that they were aware of the noise problem and that the hotel was trying to get a noise ordinance! Obviously, the others who wrote glowing reviews were not on this side of the hotel (or perhaps it is not a problem Monday - Thursday). Regardless, I felt I needed to write this review to warn those staying at The Ritz in Charlotte to make sure they are not in rooms opposite the Epicenter. To add insult to injury, at check out they told us our rate did not include the complimentary breakfast. We'll let our travel agent handle that one.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tarheeltraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newrock
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

I've stayed at this new hotel a few times and the experience is unlike anything else in the area. Service and attention is top notch, from arrival through checkout, the interior spaces are elegant and the rooms superb. The baths, with marble floors, double sinks, huge amounts of space and TV's set into the mirror, are possibly the best I've ever seen in a hotel. The fitness area and pool are outstanding as well, and usually very quiet. The only slightly negative comments I'd make are that the room service menu is a bit light in terms of overall selection, and that the hotel is subject to some outside noise, coming from both an adjacent construction project and a busy street in front of the hotel. This is not a major concern, but is worth pointing out. However, the superior nature of the hotel completely offsets this minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#39 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Address: 201 East Trade Street, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of vibrant Uptown Charlotte, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, is a luxury hotel that brings an urbane sophistication through its innovative restaurants, dramatic skyline views, penthouse Spa & Wellness Center, spacious guest rooms and suites, and its environmental commitment that is rarely seen in a contemporary urban hotel. Included in the prestigious Condé Nast Traveler Gold List and Travel + Leisure World's Best Hotels, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte is perfect for families and couples, business executives and groups, each destined to enjoy an unforgettable experience just steps from the city's cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing