We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Ranked #16 of 182 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Make sure you get to the pool, it's beautiful view of the city is worth it! The staff was nice and accommodating. The Doorman was busy and wasn't able to catch the door all the time for me and the kids and our bags and strollers, but they were nice and tried. The Suite was nicely appointed and clean. I enjoyed it. we had a room over the banquets and you couldn't even hear the wedding going on. Fire alarm went off the morning of departure just before 6am in the rain, down and out to a parking garage with about 30 other guests and 15 cooks that had a hotel radio. Heard chatter on radio and then they all left and didn't say anything. We stayed out for another 15 mins with nobody coming back, so walked out and asked doorman if it's clear. We were good to go. Surprised the staff didn't send anyone out to tell us it was ok to come back...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99p38a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 690 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

This Ritz Carlton is one of the better of the bunch. The service is great and everyone is always so friendly and courteous. Rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms have tons of room. The pool is on the top with great views and a huge hot tub. This is a very nice property within proximity of everything downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms on the urban garden side are quieter, try to get a higher floor if on street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwbrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent an awesome weekend here and enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. The Pent House pool is stunning, the gym is top notch. The rooms are huge with tall ceilings and a great bathroom with a nice walk in shower, soaker tub, and a TV in the vanity mirror.

We enjoyed the restaurant too - the food was 5 Star!

Room Tip: All are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were treated like royalty during our stay. We actually live in Charlotte but stayed here during a two day event uptown in Charlotte. Staff incredible detail oriented and friendly. Superior service everywhere we looked! Prices are high but you get what you okay for. It was truly a pleasure to stay at such a high quality hotel. Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCCharlotte, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Lucy J,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I am thrilled you enjoyed the amenities and services during your visit to Uptown.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
David Rothwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My daughters (8 and 10yrs) and I enjoyed a quick downtown Charlotte vacation. I've been to Charlotte several times, but have never spent time there strictly as a tourist. We visited a few of the local museums, had several delicious meals in town, and spent time relaxing at the hotel's indoor pool and hot tub. The staff at the hotel was exceptionally nice and helpful with their recommendations, particularly Mark and Jesse. From the moment we walked into the hotel, their banter with the girls kept them engaged and feeling as though we were special guests at the hotel (indulging them with surprise cupcakes likely added to that feeling as well). It was a thoroughly enjoyable respite and one that would have been far less relaxing had it not been for the excellent service at this hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CourtneyRJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My friends had the presidential suite for their wedding and we were in the suite all day. People were locked in the bathroom because the handle didn't work on inside of the bathroom. Later that evening, they had the after party in the suite and we had nothing but problems. People were not being very loud - very chill party, and we had non-stop problems from the Ritz security and the Charlotte police telling everyone to be quiet. Someone was locked in the kitchen and could not get out and the security and police reprimanded this person repeatedly for making noise (locked in kitchen with no way out so was yelling asking for help). The way our guests were treated was absolutely embarrassing and uncalled for. If a "luxury hotel" has a presidential suite, they should adequately soundproof it so their clients can actually take advantage of the suite. I am so upset at the way we were treated. I will NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. Unbelievable and embarrassing how we were treated.

Room Tip: Do NOT pay the money for the presidential suite. The service it terrible and forget having a party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCCharlotte, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Good afternoon C T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am very sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to be in touch with you. Feedback is extremely important to us, and so if you could afford the time, I may be reached directly at this number (704) 549-4199. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
David Rothwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I know the Epicenter is not part of the Ritz Carlton, but it's all you can think about at 1.30am. I was expecting a little noise based on the other reviews, but it was unbearable after a long flight. We were told we had a room on the garden side of the hotel. We couldn't see a garden from our room, and based on the noise we encountered a few hours later, I would hope that it wasn't. If that was the quieter side, I would hate to think how other guests fared that night! Otherwise, the hotel is great - the room is large and well furnished. Still, this matters little when you cannot sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngieNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 182 in Charlotte
181 reviews
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#9 of 182 in Charlotte
830 reviews
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#35 of 182 in Charlotte
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#54 of 182 in Charlotte
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Address: 201 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#30 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $452 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of vibrant Uptown Charlotte, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, is a luxury hotel that brings an urbane sophistication through its innovative restaurants, dramatic skyline views, penthouse Spa & Wellness Center, spacious guest rooms and suites, and its environmental commitment that is rarely seen in a contemporary urban hotel. Included in the prestigious Condé Nast Traveler Gold List and Travel + Leisure World's Best Hotels, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte is perfect for families and couples, business executives and groups, each destined to enjoy an unforgettable experience just steps from the city's cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing