We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service beyond compare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Ranked #14 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service beyond compare”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This Ritz Carlton is one of the better of the bunch. The service is great and everyone is always so friendly and courteous. Rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms have tons of room. The pool is on the top with great views and a huge hot tub. This is a very nice property within proximity of everything downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms on the urban garden side are quieter, try to get a higher floor if on street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwbrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    99
    40
    27
    16
See reviews for
114
227
35
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent an awesome weekend here and enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. The Pent House pool is stunning, the gym is top notch. The rooms are huge with tall ceilings and a great bathroom with a nice walk in shower, soaker tub, and a TV in the vanity mirror.

We enjoyed the restaurant too - the food was 5 Star!

Room Tip: All are nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: I noticed that this place has an electric car charging area.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were treated like royalty during our stay. We actually live in Charlotte but stayed here during a two day event uptown in Charlotte. Staff incredible detail oriented and friendly. Superior service everywhere we looked! Prices are high but you get what you okay for. It was truly a pleasure to stay at such a high quality hotel. Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCCharlotte, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Lucy J,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I am thrilled you enjoyed the amenities and services during your visit to Uptown.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
David Rothwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My daughters (8 and 10yrs) and I enjoyed a quick downtown Charlotte vacation. I've been to Charlotte several times, but have never spent time there strictly as a tourist. We visited a few of the local museums, had several delicious meals in town, and spent time relaxing at the hotel's indoor pool and hot tub. The staff at the hotel was exceptionally nice and helpful with their recommendations, particularly Mark and Jesse. From the moment we walked into the hotel, their banter with the girls kept them engaged and feeling as though we were special guests at the hotel (indulging them with surprise cupcakes likely added to that feeling as well). It was a thoroughly enjoyable respite and one that would have been far less relaxing had it not been for the excellent service at this hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CourtneyRJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My friends had the presidential suite for their wedding and we were in the suite all day. People were locked in the bathroom because the handle didn't work on inside of the bathroom. Later that evening, they had the after party in the suite and we had nothing but problems. People were not being very loud - very chill party, and we had non-stop problems from the Ritz security and the Charlotte police telling everyone to be quiet. Someone was locked in the kitchen and could not get out and the security and police reprimanded this person repeatedly for making noise (locked in kitchen with no way out so was yelling asking for help). The way our guests were treated was absolutely embarrassing and uncalled for. If a "luxury hotel" has a presidential suite, they should adequately soundproof it so their clients can actually take advantage of the suite. I am so upset at the way we were treated. I will NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. Unbelievable and embarrassing how we were treated.

Room Tip: Do NOT pay the money for the presidential suite. The service it terrible and forget having a party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCCharlotte, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Good afternoon C T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am very sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to be in touch with you. Feedback is extremely important to us, and so if you could afford the time, I may be reached directly at this number (704) 549-4199. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
David Rothwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I know the Epicenter is not part of the Ritz Carlton, but it's all you can think about at 1.30am. I was expecting a little noise based on the other reviews, but it was unbearable after a long flight. We were told we had a room on the garden side of the hotel. We couldn't see a garden from our room, and based on the noise we encountered a few hours later, I would hope that it wasn't. If that was the quieter side, I would hate to think how other guests fared that night! Otherwise, the hotel is great - the room is large and well furnished. Still, this matters little when you cannot sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband comes here for work regularly, this is the second time I've joined him, as we will be moving here later this year. After a long day of looking at neighborhoods I wanted to just go to sleep but I can't because it's Thursday night and the music and noise from the epicenter is so loud that even with earplugs I am unable to fall asleep. This is even at 11:20 on a Thursday. The Ritz really let us down this trip. My husband has asked more than once to have in his profile to be in a room on the garden side, and to not have down bedding. If you are a heavy sleeper maybe it's not so bad for you, but to us this sounds like being in the middle of a bad cover band at a bar. It's so loud and the hotel's respond is to give you earplugs and suggest to call the front desk so much that they will call the police. We had to call and ask for non down bedding as I have an allergy. This was annoying and inconvenient but the gentlemen who came to our room to fix it was so lovely. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are amazing with a huge tub, an awesome shower, and separate toilet, plus double sinks! I really don't want to stay here on our next house hunting trip because I wont be able to get any sleep. If you like sleep, I would suggest a different hotel in town!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 852Jennyfromtheblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCCharlotte, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear 852Jennyfromtheblock,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. Your insight is very valuable to us and we appreciate your taking the time to write a response.

We pride ourselves on providing the highest level of customer service and experiences for our guests and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience personally. I can be reached at 704-547-2244 and look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm regards,

David Rothwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#32 of 178 in Charlotte
1,521 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#45 of 178 in Charlotte
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#49 of 178 in Charlotte
423 reviews
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#6 of 178 in Charlotte
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Address: 201 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of vibrant Uptown Charlotte, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, is a luxury hotel that brings an urbane sophistication through its innovative restaurants, dramatic skyline views, penthouse Spa & Wellness Center, spacious guest rooms and suites, and its environmental commitment that is rarely seen in a contemporary urban hotel. Included in the prestigious Condé Nast Traveler Gold List and Travel + Leisure World's Best Hotels, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte is perfect for families and couples, business executives and groups, each destined to enjoy an unforgettable experience just steps from the city's cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing