We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Ranked #18 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Terrific Ritz and consistent with others around the US. All of the amenities and service you would expect. Location is great. Standard roooms are roomy and well appointed. Meeting facilities are great.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eurorunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    94
    36
    24
    16
See reviews for
105
204
35
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Super friednly and helpful staff. A fun and cool bar with a great atmosphere. The bathrooms were nice because they were moder. The bedrooms however were a little outdated to be a Ritz in my opinion. Grat location. Can walk to a bunch of places to eat and grab a drink. Walking distance to Epi Ceneter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was astonished by the outstanding service. The front desk staff helped me out with extra requests immediately upon arrival. The spa staff matched their superior service and the spa, itself, was beyond what I hoped for. This was during the Democratic convention and while I was certainly no VIP compared to the many who attended, I was treated like one. Had I not been trying to live within my means, I would have tried to move in permanently!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Nice hotel. Stayed here twice, once in November 11 and in December 11. Lovely lobby and friendly staff. Room was nice but somehow seemed a little worn for the Ritz. The bathroom was excellent. Magic mirror TV above the double sinks was very plush. Great tub and shower. The worst part was the noise from the entertainment complex across the street. The hotel even has noise cancelation device next to the beds. This tells me that they know the noise level is a problem and I see similar complaints from other reviewers that the noise level is unacceptable. When we stayed again in December, we asked for a higher room to avoid any noise but we could still hear it. The hotel should look into replacing the windows to reduce outside noise. I think they can afford for what they charge and with it being the Ritz. Plus, it would improve customer experience. Ordered room service, two desserts, at a cost of $28-$30. They were no bigger than 2 cupcakes. The Ritz could have done much better and make the desserts a little more substantial for what you are paying.

Room Tip: Get highest floor possible or in the center of the hotel to avoid any noise from the entertainment c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Upon two seconds of my arrival at the front desk, I was greeted by a flute of champagne.I was later given a ride to restaurant called Luce. Later in the evening, the GM came with a card, thanking me for my stay signed by Mark, Whitney, and both Matts. (it was accompanied by some DELISH white chocoate cake.)
Every member of the staff was helpful, especially at the front desk Super lounge in the lobby

The hotel is directly across from the Epicenter.

Room Tip: anywhere on the 15th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobes303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Ritz-Carlton in Charlotte understands the true meaning of the ultimate customer experience. The service, the ambience, and the accommodations were outstanding. I have stayed at several hotels in Charlotte-none of the others are in the same league as the Ritz-Carlton. In the future, the Ritz-Carlton will be my destination choice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margierice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Pleasant week spent at this hotel with very good service the whole time! The staff were all pleasant & helpful. Awesome fitness center, pool & hot tub with terrific views. Sinful bakery in the lobby with the BEST cupcakes I have ever had! Love the Bvlgari bath products. The Trade street side of the building can be quite loud on Fri & Sat nights with the live music. Everything you need is within walking distance. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Trade Street side can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donatella-Bingbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#38 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Address: 201 East Trade Street, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of vibrant Uptown Charlotte, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, is a luxury hotel that brings an urbane sophistication through its innovative restaurants, dramatic skyline views, penthouse Spa & Wellness Center, spacious guest rooms and suites, and its environmental commitment that is rarely seen in a contemporary urban hotel. Included in the prestigious Condé Nast Traveler Gold List and Travel + Leisure World's Best Hotels, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte is perfect for families and couples, business executives and groups, each destined to enjoy an unforgettable experience just steps from the city's cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing