We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Ranked #11 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was my second visit to RC Charlotte and far superior to my first experience a couple of years ago. On my first visit, we were received with stuffy arrogance at the front desk, but this time, reception was warm and accommodating - thank you Carla. As a Amex FHR guest, we were upgraded to a suite, but I had to inquire - better hotels are fluid in this area, guests shouldn't have to ask for something that is available and they are entitled to.

The suite, while incredibly large, lacked personality - I could have been sitting in any hotel room USA. Ammenities were nice though - adequate toiletries, water, charging stations, a couple of coffee makers (two different kinds for the snick-pickety), iron/board, umbrella, tv's in each room (including one within the bathroom vanity mirror), bath hamper (very nice touch), excellent lighting. I did notice that there was something about the carpeting that irritated my skin (ankle area), could be personal to just me, but worth noting. Breakfast room service was delivered promptly, but the food was Luke warm and mediocre in taste - can't complain, it was complimentary.

The best feature is the lobby bar area - a lively, happening place. While the cocktails are on the pricey side, they were expertly prepared. Service in this area was exceptional, pleasant, knowledgable, quick, and personal. Seating is very comfortable and the area is excellent for socializing, connecting, and people watching. I did notice a couple of poorly soiled couch cushions that were unacceptable for this space. Another lounge located on an upper floor (15th I believe), Urban Sip, seemed equally popular with folks. As a hotel guest, I was a little concerned that anyone could enter the hotel and proceed to this lounge without a security check - unheard of these days. I know of few hotels that permit passage to the hotel guest elevators without either a coded hotel card to operate the elevator or security check of hotel card.

All-in-all, I enjoyed my stay at RC Charlotte, but wonder about the overall value. I recently stayed at the nearby Mariott and found it just as convenient and comfortable. When I pay more for an experience, I'm buying into and expecting more than association cache. High end hotels seems to be struggling in general to differentiate themselves from the pack - this was noticeable at RC Charlotte - I hope they find a real point of premium.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Advourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 673 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

Well 21 years of marriage deserves a well deserved night out at a luxury hotel. We arrived at the hotel and was offered a suite upgrade. The suites were very well appointed, and enjoyed throughly. Down comforters, nice bathroom ammentities, and flat panel tv's everywhere.
We started the day with spa services and a couples massage which was EXCELLENT and needed. The staff was always more than helpful and we really enjoyed our stay.
A premium hotel commands premium pricing, but the name says it all. We had a great time?

Room Tip: Choose a room on the North side of the hotel. Our suite was facing south with a great view, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

From the moment you walk in the door, you are served like a king. Wife and I visited one day for a weekend. Took advantage of a double massage and the pool. Excellent atmosphere. If you are ever in Charlotte, you must stop here for a visit.

Room Tip: choose room with a view south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenmnc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The food was amazing! We had crab cakes, burgers, sweet potato fries and hot wings, all of which I would never expect to see at a Ritz Carlton however all were done with the highest standards. A bit overpriced but the atmosphere made a great date!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paritravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Nice Hotel... But loud, non working Tvs, and air quality was not good in my room. Smells mildewish and I coughed all night. I should have known something wasn't right when they had a letter in the room indicating they were cleaning air conditioners. This hotel is only a couple years old!

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay insist on a high floor in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel reminds me more of a Boutique Hotel than a Ritz. It's VERY nice with a great indoor pool which is needed for the EXTREME temp shifts. Plus GREAT pool food service.

Rooms very comfortable, roomier than most Ritz Carlton rooms in Big cities. Very well thought out rooms which makes the rooms perfect. They have drawers for unpacking...something that to many hotels have stopped doing.

Not specific to the Ritz Charlotte, more to downtown Charlotte---they need to get later hours on nights of special events. When a Coldplay concert let out at 11PM most restaurants were closed,or closing. NOT good for downtown Charlotte guests.

Special NOTE of thanks to guest services manager, Christian Jaquier, he makes hospitality perfect!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Typical Ritz quality. Great service. Wonderful gym. Overall facilities are very nice. Convenient to downtown meetings. Only complaint is noise on Trade St. can be heard on Thursday evenings. Make sure to ask for quiet side if you are staying on a Thursday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodman1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 178 in Charlotte
136 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#33 of 178 in Charlotte
1,556 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#55 of 178 in Charlotte
2,109 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Address: 201 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#4 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $455 - $806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of vibrant Uptown Charlotte, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, is a luxury hotel that brings an urbane sophistication through its innovative restaurants, dramatic skyline views, penthouse Spa & Wellness Center, spacious guest rooms and suites, and its environmental commitment that is rarely seen in a contemporary urban hotel. Included in the prestigious Condé Nast Traveler Gold List and Travel + Leisure World's Best Hotels, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte is perfect for families and couples, business executives and groups, each destined to enjoy an unforgettable experience just steps from the city's cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing