We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Amelie's French Bakery
Ranked #1 of 71 Dessert in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Open 24|7|365 Our flagship location Charlotte's historic NoDa Arts District. Full selection of pastry, savory and coffee. Private event spaces available. Free wifi.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

On a visit, we ventured out to Amelie's after reading about it. First, location surprised us a little but, once inside, the lines verified we were in the right place. The salted Carmel brownie was excellent. We also picked up fruit and cheese croissants for next morning and neither one of us found them to be better than at places like Au Bon Pain. In fairness, they might have been better had we eaten them at the Bakery or immediately when purchased but the brownie won in terms of which we would eat first. Overall, glad we went and would consider going back but would probably eat there or soon after purchase.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanetH643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    334
    96
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Salted Carmel brownie..”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Need I say more??..Fantastic ....Our Segway food tour guy Rod took us here! The salted Carmel brownie was outstanding. Can't wait to go back and try more

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Treats & Coffee, Neat Environment”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Really cute neighborhood bakery - kitschy decor, kind of a hipster feel. Good place to study or hang out, I'd imagine. The desserts were delicious, too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I'm not sure which I enjoyed more, the food or the ambience. ?? This is a REAL bakery with every French confection you can imagine. We were here for lunch and got sweets on our way out though -- don't overlook the croissant sandwiches here and think this is just a spot for desserts. My sandwich was delicious too! And, as I mentioned, Amelie's is only half about great food. The other half is about great atmosphere. It's a comfortable, trendy place to hang out for a while and enjoy a visit with a friend. Everything about this place is lovely. It's in the middle of a hip neighborhood. If you're visiting Charlotte, this is a trademark spot. If you live in Charlotte and haven't gone to Amelie's yet, what are you waiting for?!?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodi307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Exceptional pastries, atmosphere and service!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This bakery has it all! Right when you walk in you can't help but notice the eclectic french/boho themed decor. After ordering from their extensive array of options you take your treat and sit down in any of the many rooms, all filled with fun couches, wall hangings and photo booths. Enjoy the fun french ear candy while you sit and sip. It's a GREAT place to meet a friend for coffee, hang out with your knitting circle, or work on class projects! I can't wait until the next time I am in Charlotte and able to go to Amelie's! (I recommend their Lavender Lime Macarons)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelie's French Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Amelie's French Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing