We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice afternoon coffee and snack!”

Amelie's French Bakery
Ranked #1 of 70 Dessert in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Open 24|7|365 Our flagship location Charlotte's historic NoDa Arts District. Full selection of pastry, savory and coffee. Private event spaces available. Free wifi.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon coffee and snack!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came here for an afternoon coffee and snack. We ordered the creme puff and salted caramel brownie. Both choices were very good! The staff was friendly and the prices were good. I'd come back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    344
    99
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“A+ Bakery”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I don't get to Amelie's very often but when I do I indulge in something delicious. Great place!! Wish I could go more often.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jer611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious and delightful!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Yummy desserts and cozy atmosphere. A bit pricey, but it's not an "everyday" kind of place. When we went (summertime) it was PACKED, but my local friends say that's common for this place. Don't be shy with the other guests if there is limited seating and they aren't using all of theirs - the store encourages SHARING the tables and chairs and various board games scattered around, so just dive in. The food and charming atmosphere is worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unicornfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great for meeting friends and relaxing”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We were driving thru Charlotte and a friend recommended Amelie's. Glad she did. It is a bakery and coffee house in one. There are tables and couches to sit at. We sat in the room to the left. The decor is charming. I had the French lemon aid with lavender. It was different. The eclairs are yummy. It is quiet enough to bring a sleeping baby. Classical music plays I the background. There is also outside seating. Restrooms are clean.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladysusan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amelie's Petite (on Tyson St)- Nothing French about it...”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

At this location of Amelie's French Bakery, I didn't see anything French about it. My friend and I went there at around 10:30 am, we ordered a coffee, a cappuccino and chocolate croissant to share. The cappuccino was not bad, but the coffee was below mediocre (tasted it black and it was not fresh), and the croissant was horrible! It was chewy and soggy, definitely not baked that morning! It's all about expectations, if it was just a regular coffee joint, I wouldn't have been this disappointed, but since it has 'French' in the name, then I expect good coffee and delicious pastries. Even the service was not French because the servers/cashiers I met in Paris were even friendlier...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BON2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelie's French Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Amelie's French Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing