We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am hooked!”

Amelie's French Bakery
Ranked #1 of 67 Dessert in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open 24|7|365 Our flagship location Charlotte's historic NoDa Arts District. Full selection of pastry, savory and coffee. Private event spaces available. Free wifi.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I am hooked!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very unique ambiance, always a good choice for dessert any time of the day or night. The only reason I am ranking it "very good" is because it was exceptional when it first opened. Still holding a high ranking, though. Occasionally coffee is not great, but overall experience of comfort, eclectic mix of funky decorations and diverse visitors makes this place a must see, savor, or just hang out. Love chocolate layered cake. It's is decadent, rich, and always satisfies my chocolate craving. Another favorite: double baked chocolate croissant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tatianam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    717
    321
    94
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definitely a MUST!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I love this place, I bring out of town guests here and it's always a stop after a late night on the town. I usually go for something sweet, they are known for their macaroons and the salted caramel brownies. I love the tea cakes and also the half a baguette which is freshly baked and served with butter and jam. Their coffees are good and coffee type drinks (latte's, cappuccino's) are also really good. If you live in charlotte and have never been here you are missing out! and if you visit charlotte then you must go here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetpsycho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“LOVE!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visited Amelie's during Tour De Food and loved it! We had samples of the soup, and other tasty treats! We loved it so much, we went to their other location and purchased some treats before heading home to SC. Love that salted carmel brownie.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCSC4508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If this is #14 I can' wait to go to the 1st 13”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Baked goods, food coffee all excellent. A must visit in Charlotte. And, since 24 hours I'll stop by before hitting the road in morning. Traffic has got to be better then.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kwesi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tres unique!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

24/7 service and the best salted caramel fudge brownies I've ever had the pleasure of eating. Amelie's French Bakery offers a unique atmosphere with its vibrant social scene and the food is top-notch!

Helpful?
Thank Rosilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelie's French Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Amelie's French Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing