We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot in the mall, but don't make a special trip”

California Pizza Kitchen
Ranked #415 of 2,354 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barclay Downs
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good spot in the mall, but don't make a special trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a chain, so you get the same thing anywhere in the country.

The food is OK, not great, but it's kid friendly and right in the Southpark mall, so it's a good place to stop in while shopping.

If your not in the mall, I would skip this place. Many other good choices in the area!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank GingerCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    30
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good casual meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

A good place to eat lunch if you are at Southpark mall, although if you read the nutrition guide on their website, everything is pretty high calorie.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“We didnot like the pizza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is the first time that we have had pizza brought it back to our hotel and the 3 children ranging in ages from 11 to 17 after a few bites have said yuck. California pizza kitchen pizza tasted plastic.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AussieNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Unique pizza, but quite tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were planning to go to The Cheesecake Factory, but when we got there it was going to be a two-hour wait. We wandered around to the other side of the mall, and found that CPK only had a thirty-minute wait. Plus it's right beside The Container Store! We had a group of five and we started with the spinach dip. I did not love it. Everything else after that was great, though. I ordered a Hawaiian pizza, and ate every bit of it. The crust was really unique, almost pastry-like. Something about it was slightly sweet and a bit chewy. Once I got used to it, I loved it. For dessert, our group split a strawberry shortcake that was amazing, Our server was fantastic. We ended up being a bit of a needy group (more tea, extra napkins, some ranch dressing, split the check...) but she was friendly and efficient with us. I will go back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LibbyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

My first visit and can't wait to go back. Our waiter was great. We got Pizza and Chef Salads and it was really good and huge portions. Can't wait to go again!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shannon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing