We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome stay friendly staff, Clean room with upgraded bedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place
Ranked #94 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This place is ideal for overnight stay. Overall experience at this property was very positive. Nice clean room, Friendly staff, clean bedding, and well kept. I believe this property is a hidden gem. Located in a very good area with lots of restaurant and shopping nearby. I will definatly reccommed this property and will stay their agan.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 521 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is the place to go!

Close to Big mall but located on a quiet Cul de Sac with no through traffic. Not Huge rooms but Nice quality clean sheets and pillows. Owner is friendly, professional, and keeps his place clean.

Use a Roomsaver.com cupon and you probably have one of the best values anywhere...if you value clean.

I travel across the country and wish all my rooms were as clean as this. Ok so Im a clean freak , Guilty.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelinnup P, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thank you for taking your time to give the Microtel Inn University Place a review. We appreciate the positive feed back and hope you will continue to stay at Microtel Inn University Place when you're in the Charlotte, NC Area.

Sincerely,
Chad Patel
General Manager
Microtel Inn Charlotte University Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I will never stay at this place again. Right from the start we had problems. Before even getting into our room we crossed paths with what looked like a dead person in the hallway, ended up just being drunk and passed out on the floor. After walking into the room, their was a pair of somebodies dirty underwear left from the maids on the ground, and some trash left on the table. Was supposed to be a non-smoking room, and it reeked of ciggarettes. Stains all over skirting on bed, carpet, and walls. Room felt damp and humid. Carpet looked liked it had never been cleaned since they built the place. When checking out, waited for 5-10 minutes before simply being given a receipt, lady and front desk was gone doing who knows what. Worst hotel ever, do not go here, plenty of other places right around the block.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fakebuttcheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I have to admit from the outside I was very impressed. Then once we went inside it showed more like a budget hotel. We just stopped through for 1 night during a long road trip. The first room they gave us wasn't cleaned so we had to drag all our stuff back to the front to get a new room...this seemed to confuse the front desk person and we had to explain that there was half eaten food and sheets thrown everywhere and yes we were sure it wasn't maid up.

We had a single and it was very small. It reminded me of a cruise ship room. It was basically 4 walls and a bed and the walls were all mirrors. Classy. The room was damp and mold smelling, but the a/c kept it cold. The TV was on the older side and was high up over the closet so it basically strained your neck looking up at it. The place was simple and had everything you can imagine to eat/drink/shop close by. I was also surprised that it only took about 10 minutes to be in the heart of downtown. Granted this was a holiday and the downtown traffic was at a shocking low.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank per4mance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Stayed for a short business trip and had a comfortable stay. Everything worked well in the clean room but the rooms are pretty small. I would get cabin fever if I stayed more than a couple of days. Friendly staff. The breakfast was adequate with cereals, waffles and pastries available. An unruly mob formed when the coffee ran out for a few minutes. Plenty of parking area. Not much walking distance dining but there is a "Showmar's" restaurant next door. Apparently a lot of overnight truckers stay here judging by the number of trailerless trucks in the lot. Good value.

Room Tip: Try the Chili's or the Bikini bar 3/4 mi. away
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I felt very safe and comfortable staying at Microtel Inn. It was very pleasant and quiet. Everyone was freindly and accommodating. The bed was very comfortable. I would recommend Microtel Inn Charlotte University Place to anyone.

Room Tip: Just click on to what you desire in a room.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

That's it. Said it all. Pictures of fruit for breakfast--I even asked. Nope. Carpets were shampooed--they were actually wet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowbutterfly1440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn University Place
Sleep Inn University Place
#77 of 178 in Charlotte
223 reviews
5.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn University Place
Hampton Inn University Place
#57 of 178 in Charlotte
534 reviews
2.8 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#112 of 178 in Charlotte
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place

Address: 132 McCullough Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $65 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Microtel Charlotte
Charlotte Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing