We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a previous life this was a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport
Ranked #142 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In a previous life this was a great place”
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I kept wondering what this could have been before. It is an old property although it sports the standard Microtel exterior. I stayed here for one night and the place did it's job: gave me a chance to get a good night's sleep on a firm mattress, clean up, and move on. The bathroom had a few issues most notably the hot water knob that when turned clockwise only stopped at 9 o'clock on the dial. The sink was stained and scratched. The room was small but the addition of a sleeper couch added ample table space. The heating/cooling system worked although not up to quality standard and the TV was a compact model. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again but only in a pinch.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony77019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelairport, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your review
I want to let you know we take pride in our hotel and like many hotels, remodeling cant happen over night, but everyday we are working to make our property better. I noticed you made a coment about our television, at this time all of our rooms have new model flat screen televisions, that is just one of many changes we have made, please consider staying with us on your next visit, and check out our many changes.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    143
    192
    211
    299
See reviews for
258
216
167
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tallpony
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2010

First impressions are important . . walk in here and you see a soiled arm chair with the bottom about to fall out of it, and the smell is not welcoming. It smells like an attempt to "febreezing" some kind of odor. I was hoping moving to the 2nd floor would provide some improvement. Boy was I wrong. The room smelled worse than the lobby. There were stains on the carpet. The furniture built into the wall was tilting . . as were the beds. There were holes in the sheets. The furniture and the bathroom had cigarette burns. I went out to get some food, and came back and the police were helping escort a guest out, and a gang of people with hoods were standing outside. Being a single woman, I did not feel safe! I checked out a couple hours after checking in!!

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tallponysbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelairport, Front Desk Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
On behalf of all the employees here at the Microtel Inn-Charlotte Airport, we would like to first and foremost, thank you for the opportunity to better serve you, as well as all of our guest.

Unfortunately, circumstances surrounding your short stay were beyond our control. Our property is in the midst of ongoing renovations which include, but not limited to, replacing furniture, carpet, bathroom vanities, etc.. We apologize for any inconvience that these ongoing renovations may have caused you.

As for the local authorities escorting someone from our facility, it is unfortunate that you had to witness this situation. This is not a situation that we have, nor will ever become accustom to. We sought assistance from the local authorities to maintain control of a possible volatile situation. We took responsibility of this situation to maintain a safer environment for our guest and our staff. We do apologize for the inconvience of you having to bear witness to this unfortunate situation.

We hope that you will take our explanation & apologizes into consideration and allow us another opportunity to serve you.

Regards,
Dawn Oates, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Stranded due to ice storm on way back from a golf outing. Six of us were sent to this property. Excellent rate and we'd only be there one night. GREAT VALUE. The desk staff, Monte and Danielle were simply outstanding. Very professional, friendly, and efficient.
Rooms were fresh, clean, large, and excellent cable package. Nice free breakfast - variety of bagels and breads, fresh waffles, juices, coffee, etc.- Lobby had a free internet computer for guest use.
Free long distance phone calls and free toiletries ( USAir had run out).
Free shuttle to and from Charlotte airport. Excellent property for the night before a flight or for a base during a visit to Charlotte.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pagmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelairport, Front Desk Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, March 20, 2010
On behalf of all the employees here at the Microtel Inn-Charlotte Airport, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your stay at Microtel inn!

We try to provide each and every customer with the very best service possible. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again!

Dawn Oates, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Front-desk staff members at check-in (and at check-out) were friendly, professional, and helpful. Room was very small, and no extras (e.g. shampoo, lotion, etc.) were provided -- but bed was exceptionally comfortable and hallway was quiet that particular night. Park 'n fly service was just what we needed, and shuttle service was right on time. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Hemmy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelairport, Front Desk Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2010
On behalf of all the employees here at the Microtel Inn-Charlotte Airport, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your stay at Microtel inn! We try to provide each and every customer with the very best service possible. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again. Dawn Oates, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2009

I was looking for a cheaper place to stay close to the Charlotte Airport and found this smaller but very pleasant place. I needed to work on internet and that worked very well (have my own laptop). They offered free calls all over the USA, which is exactly what I needed. Breakfast with waffles. It was no problem for me that there is no restaurant as several other places are within walking distance. Good to get out! What made it special was the staff. Great attitude and good service mind. Thank you Robert who was there during the weekend!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenHoping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelairport, Front Desk Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, March 20, 2010
On behalf of all the employees here at the Microtel Inn-Charlotte Airport, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your stay at Microtel inn!

We try to provide each and every customer with the very best service possible. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again!

Dawn Oates, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2009

The rooms were very clean, enjoyed the continental breakfast and the transport to and from the airport was exceptional. This was all greatly apprecited before and after the long trip. The beds were also very comfortable. Thank you!

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ladygirlVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelairport, Front Desk Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2010
On behalf of all the staff at Microtel Inn-Charlotte Airport, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your stay at Microtel inn. We try to provide each and every customer with the very best service possible. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Dawn Oates - Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2009

The genuine courtesy of Danielle & others of the Microtel staff was icing on the cake.
It was an excellent room at the right price. We take for granted free wi-fi these days,
but here's a perk for you: free local AND long distance telephone [isn't that unheard of ?].

Waffle house almost next door.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmostMiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelairport, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your stay at Microtel inn. We try to provide each and every customer the very best service possible. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again. Respectfully, Nita Shah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Quality Inn & Suites
#131 of 178 in Charlotte
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Sleep Inn Billy Graham Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport
Address: 3412 Queen City Dr, Charlotte, NC 28208-3550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-85, this straightforward hotel is 3 miles from Charlotte Douglas International Airport and 8 miles from the North Carolina Blumenthal Performing Arts Center. The contemporary rooms come with complimentary Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs, plus desks, microwaves and minifridges. Children age 17 and under stay free with a parent. HBO, NFL Network and free parking during your stay. Free perks include an airport shuttle, continental breakfast and parking. Additional amenities consist of a fitness room, a business center and a lobby lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Charlotte Airport Hotel Charlotte
Microtel Hotel Charlotte Airport
Microtel Charlotte
Charlotte Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing