We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport
Ranked #140 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
1 review
“Terrible service”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

To begin, I never write reviews but this hotel was an exception (and not a good one). Every member of the staff we encountered was rude. There was no greeting when we arrived, two female staff members were very rude when asked if we could have an extra towel and blanket, they did not tell us what time breakfast began or what time check out was. Although this hotel is low priced, customer service is everything in my book. Service is definitely a 0 out of 10. Rooms are comfortable for one night, but not a few nights stay. You get what you pay. Spend your money where customers are valued and not treated as burdens. I'm sure when I check out in the morning I'll have more complaints, but this review could not wait.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelairport, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your response
Im sorry you didnt have a great stay, I take all responses and use them to better our hotel, so we can turn bad stays into great stays in the future.
Please come back and visit us in the future
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    133
    187
    203
    288
See reviews for
243
208
161
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Floyd, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

There's only one reason to stay here: it participates in e park and fly program that allows you to leave your car in its lot while you fly...only one night's stay required on either end of your trip. As for the rest of it, well it's not so good. The rooms are very small and while clean, they don't feel it somehow. Maybe it's because there's so many upholstered surfaces that probably aren't disinfected often, if at all. I came away with three bites on the side of my back. I hope from a spider vs bed bugs. Glad it happened on return stay or I'd have been itching during my vacation. Other observations: Gotta ask for shampoo and there's no coffee pot in room. Breakfast down in lobby is VERY basic. Staff friendliness is mixed. On the front end of my trip, they hardly made eye contact, but on the return stay, different people on duty and they were friendly. Shuttle to airport doesn't run 24 hrs, so be attentive to that when determining if this hotel meets your needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bydamanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelairport, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your response
Im sorry your stay was pleasent, we are make sure that we address all of your concerns. Please consider coming back to see us.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I traveled with my Son and 4 grandchildren on our way to Florida in March. I reserved this hotel because I was able to get 2 adjoining rooms, or so I thought. After traveling from Dayton, Ohio to this hotel, 8 hours, and a traffic jam, we were ready to check in and relax. Upon arriving, I told the front desk that I had a reservation and was in room 301 and 303. There was a man and a woman at the front desk. The man looked right at me and told me that I didn't have room 301. I told him that I did, and that I confirmed it the night before. He proceeded to tell me that I didn't have that room and I would have to settle for another room.

So at this time, I was not very pleased with this hotel. I told them that they would need to move whoever was in the room I reserved and was guaranteed and put them in another room. The man got angry and told me he wasn’t going to do that and that I would have to accept another room and that this man had been in there for the last 4 days. So they lied to me when I called the hotel directly the night before to confirm my rooms! I also told them that I was a Wyndham rewards member and a member of Trip Advisor and that they needed to honor my reservation or I was going to report it and it wasn’t going to be a very nice report. He then tried to ring the room and no one answered. I was again told that I would have to accept another room. I then told him that this was unacceptable and that I was traveling with two small children and we needed our adjoining rooms. He started yelling at me and said “Who is going to clean the room if we move that man out”. I told him that I didn’t care, I would clean it and change the sheets. He started yelling at me again stating “What do you want me to do?”. Again I tell him to move the man that was in my room. He then said, “What do you want me to do. Cancel your reservations?” Wow, isn’t that customer service. My son walked up to this man and told him to stop yelling at me and that I needed to be treated with a little respect. I again told him, I had traveled 8 hours and through a traffic jam and all I wanted is to get the rooms I reserved and relax. Mind you, I was not yelling but keeping myself calm, although I must admit it was difficult. He then called the manager.

After another 20 minutes, the manager came in and asked me what the problem was. So I had to repeat it to her and said that the room I had reserved was given to someone else although I confirmed my reservation with the hotel the night before. She started calling other Wyndham hotels in the area and wanted me to accept adjoining rooms with 1 king bed and 1 double bed at the Baymont Inn and Suites across the street. I looked at her and then pointed to my family and said, “How am I supposed to fit 6 of us and try to sleep in those two beds.” Well, needless to say, I had no choice but to stay in two rooms that were next to each other but not adjoining. With two small children we wanted to avoid them going out in the hall to get to the other room. I told the manager that this was completely unacceptable and that I would report it.
We also had the same reservations on the way back from Florida with rooms 301 and 303 reserved. I told her that they better be ready for me. I should have cancelled but with only a week to play with I was afraid we wouldn’t be able to get adjoining rooms. So on the way back from Florida, we ran into traffic jams and tire issues that delayed our trip. At 4pm when we realized that we had another 6 hours to go, I called the hotel and told them what was happening and if I could cancel Thursday nights reservations and keep Friday’s. They told me I could but they were going to charge me the $130.00 because I didn’t give them 24 hours notice. You would think they would work with me since they treated us so badly before. So we trudged along, got to the hotel at 9:45pm. We got our rooms I reserved. We opened the door between the two rooms and there was this black gooey tar type stuff all up and down the door jambs. Now this was difficult to keep the two young ones from touching it accidently. And by the way, my back went out on me since I traveled 13 hours in the car. I was not able to join my family at Carowinds on Friday because I could barely walk.
As far as the breakfast, don’t get me started. I am not a very picky person, but the breakfast was a joke. And don’t drink the orange juice! It doesn’t even look like orange juice. I hope you heed my warnings about this hotel. Also it is independently owned and not part of the chain. Wyndham Rewards, you should be ashamed for allowing this property to be a part of your rewards program!

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelairport, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your response
Im sorry you had a bad stay, and I wish there was a way we could turn back time, but since we cant, please allow us another chance to show you how much we value your feedback and all the changes to be made from it. We look foward to serving your lodging needs in the future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#124 of 178 in Charlotte
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North
5.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte - I-85 Airport
1.0 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Charlotte Airport I-85 / I-485
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport
Address: 3412 Queen City Dr, Charlotte, NC 28208-3550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Charlotte Airport Hotel Charlotte
Microtel Hotel Charlotte Airport
Microtel Charlotte
Charlotte Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing