We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service and not what I needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe
Ranked #17 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“poor service and not what I needed”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here previously a year ago and had excellent service and expected the same but this was the worst hotel experience of my life! I booked a double room in advance and payed for it in advance. I was traveling with four others and I needed a double bed and the couch but when I arrived I was told that only a king bed was available. The beds slept terrible. I woke up with my neck stiff. The "comfy" couch bed slept terrible and was hard like sleeping on a brick. The room was noisy and no one slept. I was told there were no other alternatives in the area. The receptionist knew I needed a double bed for the people and told my husband that it was unavailable a few hours before I arrived. I needed the shuttle for the airport for my mother and niece who were to fly home in the morning and the only time available was too early or too late for them to check in. I had to drive them to the airport myself and b/c the continental breakfast wasn't ready at that time, was given a cold english muffin and a banana with no drink. (The receptionist just looked at us and handed my husband five bags). I wIll not recommend this hotel to anyone!! Definitely not what I needed!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    162
    61
    20
    17
See reviews for
167
121
44
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Super clean, spacious and comfortable room great bed, sheets and pillows
They have a huge flat screen tv and nice size sofa , king bed in the room
The common areas are very average but
For me this place is a find

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drpeaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington, nc
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here with some friends and the hotel staff was very nice. The hotel was always clean, and the pool area was maintained well. The pool could have been a little bigger it was about 6 people in the pool and it felt crowded. The breakfast food was ok nothing spectacular. The mall wasn't too far and I enjoyed my stay overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latoi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY, USA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you've stayed at one Hyatt Place you've pretty much stayed in them all--and that's a good thing. Hyatt Place hotels have similar layouts in the lobby, breakfast area and guest rooms and everything is geared toward the budget-minded business traveler or for families. Still, this one was a cut above the others I've stayed in, in service, cleanliness and facilities. The guest room was typically spacious, clean and well maintained, and had a wet bar with a fridge and sink. The free wifi worked well. The fitness room had 3 treadmills and other cardio machines and was pretty well equipped.

The setting is a corporate office park, far enough from the highway so there is no noise. There is plenty of parking and Jock n Jill, a sports bar, is a short walk away. I drove a few minutes to Mar Y Tierra for fresh, delicious Mexican food--I think it's a family-owned place.

It's a ten minute non-highway drive to the downtown area so if you don't want to pay downtown hotel prices, this is a good choice.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jack783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Best Hyatt Place I've experienced. Nice, quiet location in a well maintained corporate campus. If you don't like the hotel amenities or the Jock and Jills sports bar/restaurant sharing the parking lot, then you have to drive a mile or so to a great many retail choices. Nicely maintained hotel, clean and comfortable. Large fitness center had a number of weight machines which is above expectations for this type of hotel. Nice pool area as well, again, well maintained. Airport is nearby, but not too close, the only time aircraft noise was an issue was at the pool. In-room a/c didn't display accurate temperature, but somehow we set it to maintain comfort. The fitness center and our room (the next morning) smelt a little moldy, likely due to the A/C. As with previous HPlace's, the hotel staff couldn't figure out how to credit miles instead of Hyatt points.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

It was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. The hotel is lovely and comfortable, the rooms are very large and laid-out very intelligently to allow guests to live and work in the room in comfort. There is a work desk and a large sofa and even a wet bar with refrigerator. The decoration throughout the hotel is very attractive. The fitness center is large with a nice variety of machines. The staff could not be better, everyone who works here is friendly and efficient and really helped us with our business and personal needs. The free breakfast is the best I have ever had at a hotel and the 24-hour menu is nice and not overly expensive. The Internet connection was fast and reliable. I could not have been more pleased.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldfusionradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The pros:
-Hotel is a excellent value.
-Close to the airport, so very convenient.
-Quiet and clean
-Spacious rooms
-Staff is super nice and helpful.
-Great complimentary breakfast in the morning.
The cons:
-Far from everything else - but the airport.
- Not much dining options close by.
-Gym center is small and not inviting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road
Eagle Lake
Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel
HYATT house Charlotte Airport
#25 of 178 in Charlotte
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe

Property: Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe
Address: 4119 Southstream Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28217-4505 (Formerly AmeriSuites Charlotte Coliseum)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Eagle Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#29 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#37 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe is located in Lake Pointe Business Park in southwest Charlotte, which makes it convenient for travelers visiting the corporate offices of local companies such as Belk, Compass Group USA and UTC. This Hyatt Place hotel is just five miles from the Charlotte Douglas International Airport and eight miles from uptown Charlotte. Enjoy a day of upscale shopping at SouthPark Mall or a delicious meal at one of several nearby restaurants, such as The Cheesecake Factory, CowFish Sushi Burger Bar or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. Sports enthusiasts compete in soccer, softball and tennis tournaments year round at Renaissance Park and the Jeff Adams Tennis Center which are only one mile from the hotel. As a premier destination city, Charlotte's got a lot to offer its visitors. The hotel is located close to several Charlotte attractions such as Carowinds Theme Park, Billy Graham Library and the U.S. National Whitewater Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Charlotte City Park Hotel Charlotte
Hyatt Charlotte
Charlotte Hyatt Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing