We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The VanLandingham Estate
Ranked #115 of 182 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed May 16, 2008

My sister and I booked a one night stay at this charming inn and were extremely pleased with the accommodations! We stayed in the Redwood room, which had a queen size bed, two leather couches and an armchair, a microwave, mini-fridge, bathroom, and cable television. It was cozy and much more roomy than I would have expected, given the very affordable price we paid ($109 + tax). All of their rooms have Wi-Fi available, however we found the signal to be a bit weak. We mentioned this to the staff, who happily provided us with an ethernet cable to connect to their network and we had no further problems.

The breakfast was excellent. We were offered several menu choices and went with their 'From the Griddle' selection which included French toast, bacon, fresh fruit, orange juice, and coffee. The staff was very friendly, and seemed genuinely pleased to have us stay with them. When we asked if we could photograph the grounds (which were quite beautiful), they were more than happy to oblige. We will definitely be staying there again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sunnysideup79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2007

We stayed in the Magnolia which was beautiful and roomy. The estate grounds were beautiful and main house warm and cozy. But the breakfast was ridiculous. We expected a normal B&B breakfast but we received cold ceral and cheeses. I was so disappointed as it really left a bad taste in our mouth. We wouldn't go back for the price. We expected a nice breafast from a $200 a night B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ztalady333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

After making a reservation and receiving a confirmation number for a stay here on 8/21/07, I was contacted by an employee who advised me that my reservation was not going to be honored. When I inquired about an overflow hotel that they were referring guest to, the employee (Mark Maddalon) laughed rather snottily and said "The entire city is sold out. This room has been reserved for a while. Your reservation WILL NOT be honored". I'll be contacting a manager about the attitude, but I wouldn't stay here if THEY paid ME.

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank iriegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2007

we had a truly enjoyable time at the van landingham estate-- it is a gorgeous property, we stayed in the attic--perfect for a family since there are a few small rooms with beds attached to but not in view of the main bed, so if you want to watch tv after the kids go to sleep it won't disturb them.

we were so warmly received by the front desk attendant, and she continued to take GREAT care of us throughout our stay. one night we had to come home early and missed dinner because my daughter was really overtired from the flight and was having a tantrum--and the staff gave us a to go menu and gave us advise on what to order, and demanded the delivery boy to make a second trip back to us with an item he forgot and also bring a free dessert.

we were very well cared for, and it was much appreciated, as we are accostomed to being treated like 2nd class citizens when we go to a b&b with a child.

i got a chance to peek into many of the rooms, and they all looked fabulous! no duds.

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank myszia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2005

My wife and I recently booked a room over the phone at the last minute, arrived late evening and had excellent reception from the person on duty (Heidi) plus had our choice of rooms since only one other room was in use. Enjoyed dining at an unusual and eclectic restaurant about a half mile away. House and grounds are well mantained, room was quality, good bed, plenty of towels and amenities. Breakfast was a little disappointing, I think the regular cook was late for work. One thing we've noticed in our travels, owners who live on property provide a true Bed & Breakfast experience, off-site or corporate owners provide more of a hotel experience. This property is owned by a investment group. I give them credit for saving the historic nature of the property, but the service doesn't have the true B&B feel. A little overpriced when you consider it's just a place to stay without the personality of the true B&B.
Building and grounds are a 10, service maybe a 6.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lakedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 182 in Charlotte
181 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#54 of 182 in Charlotte
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The VanLandingham Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The VanLandingham Estate

Address: 2010 The Plz, Charlotte, NC 28205-3032
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 182 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: $142 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The VanLandingham Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VanLandingham Estate is a beautiful place to rest your soul, host spectacular events for weddings or rehearsal dinners or gather for productive business meetings, seminars or retreats. The Estate welcomes guests with its unique combination of warm hospitality, grace, subtle southern elegance and fine foods. Our Historic Inn is located in Plaza Midwood just minutes from Uptown Charlotte, The Estate includes the Harwood Home, a distinctive California bungalow-style estate.Excite your senses with a stroll on our magnificent five acres of grounds, the oldest premier gardens in Mecklenburg County. Or escape to a private nook in the Carriage House. Considered one of the finest hotels in Charlotte, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Historic estate has lodging rooms and accommodations available year round for leisure, lodging, private business meetings, picnics from two to twenty and social events. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The VanLandingham Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanlandingham Estate Charlotte
Vanlandingham Estate Hotel Charlotte
The Van Landingham Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing