We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and good for a group”

Ri Ra The Irish Pub Charlotte NC
Reserve with OpenTable
Ri Ra The Irish Pub Charlotte NC is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 2,367 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: First Ward
Cross street: Fifth and Tryon
Apex, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good food and good for a group”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I've been to several irish pubs in my life and have found the food to be a "second thought" at most of them, but I thought this one had a good variety on their menu. We went w/a party of about 30 people to this place. We had planned ahead, so they put us upstairs to accommodate us. It was a nice place to sit, and we didn't feel stuffed in. We went there as they had a good variety of choices, and needed a place that was near our hotel, that kids would like, and that had vegetarian choices. I had the white bean burger made BBQ style w/a side salad, and my 14 year old had the shepherds pie which she loved. I enjoyed my sandwich as well. Everyone around me had drinks but I did not. No one seemed to complain about anything they had. 3 people around me had the fish and chips. All of them got one piece of fish and a lot of fries, and everyone's fish was a different size which made things very uncomfortable for the people sitting there. I'm glad I didn't order that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PUJtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    109
    34
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Irish Pub”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Good Irish Pub with nice range of whiskeys and beers. The Sheppard’s pie was fabulous with good service

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 396XXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Years Okay Eve”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have eaten here many times and find that service can be good, the atmosphere casual and boisterous and the food good. Generally that was also true this trip on 12/31/14. Although this is a pub primarily the food is generally good, not great, and that was so. I had a burger and my girlfriend had the Shepherd's pie, a pub specialty, that she rated 4 out of 5. The service was a bit slow-we had to wait about 15 minutes before anyone came to take our bar order, and in a pub that is a long time without offering drinks. Otherwise, the food was middle of the road but good, the draft brew selections were reasonably diverse, not extensive, and the atmosphere was collegial. I was surprised it was not more crowded but I believe it was early, 7:15 pm, for a New Years Eve.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tipperjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“New years Eve”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Made our reservation on line using Open Table for 6:00PM, very crowded and people were being turned away. Picked this because it didn't have an overpriced New Years menu. Seated almost immediately in an elevated booth which gave us the opportunity to people watch. Ordered 2 martinis and waited over 10 minutes. Asked once what happened. They ran out of clean glasses and had to wash some. Finally came and half full. Ordered the smoked salmon appetizer which came before the drinks. It was excellent best part of the meal. . Had pickled onions, capers, lemon aioli on a bed of potato blini This was followed up with a orange avocado spinach salad, pickled onions smoked almonds, cilantro lime vinaigrette, again excellent. Our main entree was bangers and mash--not good. The sausage was mushy, not firm. Should have ordered the chicken. Looked at the dessert menu and decided instead to go with another smoked salmon. Had to wait for that beyond a reasonable time. Probably won't go back mainly because Irish is not our first choice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derfberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
245 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“quaint place to grab a drink”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a quaint little place to grab a drink and appitizer before a concert at Blumenthal. Staff was very professionl and attentive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank waynelauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ri Ra The Irish Pub Charlotte NC also viewed

 

Been to Ri Ra The Irish Pub Charlotte NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing