We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They NEVER Fail!”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #125 of 2,367 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Across from SouthPark Mall
Description: Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House. As founder Ruth Fertel used to say, "If you've ever had a filet this good, welcome back." We take steak seriously, but we're also serious about making sure you have a good time. So you won't find the stodgy, uptight attitude you might find at other steak houses. Our SouthPark location, created in the classic Southern style, features a spacious dining room and private dining areas. Surrounded by dark hardwoods and artisan tiling, you'll feel as if you're back in New Orleans. All beef is USDA Prime, prepared in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates, and all accoutrements inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage. Let us know of any specific requests for an evening with that special someone, and we'll take care of the details. Life's too short to eat anywhere else.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“They NEVER Fail!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We try to go to Ruth's Chris in every City we visit. And they never fail to deliver a 5*, excellent, supreme meal!!! There were 6 of us, so we had a lot of food. The salads were cold and crisp, with yummy blue cheese! The steak were done to absolute perfection and sizzled as they arrived at our table. Our granddaughter had a lobster and shared with all of us, YUM! The vegetables were crisp and delicious and the mushrooms and spinach were flavorful and done to perfection. Most of us had dessert and everyone raved! Thank you again Ruth's Chris for another PERFECT MEAL! See you in Orlando next month!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank map0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    33
    22
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow, it was really good...”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our second time at a Ruth 's Chris in SouthPark. We had a party of 6. We started with the calamari which was OK, and probably the least impressive item of the evening. I ordered the filet which was cooked perfectly. My wife ordered the crab cake appetizer as her meal and with the side dishes, the serving size was perfect. She thought the crab cakes were fantastic as well. We ordered side dishes of sweet potato casserole (crazy good), asparagus and corn (both were good too, but the sweet potatoes really stole the show). We did not have room for dessert, but since it was my wife's birthday, the waiter brought us a complimentary chocolate cheesecake to go. For a party of 6, with 3 wines, our total bill was $301.00. Would we go back? Absolutely. I told my wife as we were leaving the steak was probably the best I've ever had. With the cost, it is not someplace we'll go every week, but certainy once in a while for special occasions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazy, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another Great Ruth's Chris”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have eaten in Ruth's Chris restaurants across the country and always have a good experience. Our evening here was no different. The staff was attentive and knowledgable. The food was perfectly prepared, as usual. The dining room was lovely. We will make it a priority to dine here when in Charlotte again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sub-par Food and Service”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were disappointed with the food and service, and we paid a lot of money for food they make all the time. The meat was not good. They brought out some complimentary creamed spinach and mashed potatoes that were not good either; we are glad we did not pay for these dishes. We expected more from Ruth's Chris. The server started out well, but then he left and did not come back for 15 minutes. We finally flagged down another server who could not find our waiter either but ran our bill so we could be on our way. We did not share our disappointment with the server, we were polite to him, so I am not sure why he left before we paid our bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stlwaterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“same”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Jasper , our waiter, worked to make our visit lovely. Eating outside on a cool night was great. Ruth's Chris are always, in my experience, great places to eat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing