We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Issue Aloft, And That's A Good Thing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
Ranked #80 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Standard Issue Aloft, And That's A Good Thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Aloft Charlotte Uptown is cut from the same mold as other Aloft properties I've stayed at throughout the US, and that's a good thing. The rooms are designed to be small but well equipped, and the lobby spaces offer up a vibrant atmosphere and friendly faces from the staff. Aloft Charlotte Uptown is located at the EpiCentre entertainment complex, right in the center of Charlotte's downtown area. Though some have reported having some issues with the noise at night, I had no issues with that during our Tuesday night stay. We were greeted by Jordan at the front desk, who was friendly and efficient wtih getting us checked in quickly. We ended up in an accessible room, as that was all that was available at check in. It was laid out a bit differently than the standard Aloft room, but ultimately had all the comforts that are expected with this brand. Great location, friendly staff, and the vibrant Aloft atmosphere make this a winner. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaggyMEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    187
    131
    70
    50
See reviews for
64
164
44
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had an outstanding stay at the Aloft at the EpiCentre. Room and hotel was very clean and the staff was wonderful. The location is the best in town. Walking distance from restaurants, bars and the sport arena and stadium.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Like the other posts there are common faults and features to this property. I am writing this review from the perspective of someone who teaches and works in the hospitality industry.

The Aloft's best asset is its location. Tons to see and do around town especially when the weather is great. The rate ($200+) on the weekend was justifiable based on its location and the events that were happening that weekend. its hard to find a center city hotel anywhere for that price point or lower when there is a major event in town.

The positives;
Parking is available and easy to get in and out of if need be. The hotel lobby is located on the 5th floor above all the shopping and dining giving you this perched city feeling. The lobby is great with its high ceilings, stained concrete floors and open feel. The front desk is a neat concrete island that makes you feel comfortable walking up from any direction. Front desk staff was nice, maybe a little to casual talking but very attentive. the room, the bathrooms are well done, nice showers, quality fixtures and fittings the vanity and bath area. TV is nicely mounted with some HD channels but not all. great windows with contemporary shades that fit the decor.

The Negatives;
Ok its a new hotel construction I assume, and please tell me why in gods name you put in window PC air conditioners? for that price point and quality level the franchisee clearly skimped on the finer things like a recirculating air handler system. With closed windows all you are doing is recirculating dirty air and not getting any fresh in. leading to a musty feeling in the room. The bed, mattress is too thin with no box spring, it was very stiff almost to stiff. The mattress pad felt more like a wee pad you would use for a child or pet and got crumpled up when sleeping. The only had 2 pillows on a king bed? and one extra in the room. We asked for more but never received them. Almost all limited service properties have 4 or more pillows with style options. Our bathroom light went out twice and didn't ask for it to be fixed the second time. The hallway had a dark or grey wallpaper that was completely scuffed and marked making it feel like a "party" hotel where obvious things were being neglected. and lastly the elevators up to the lobby were always packed or slow since it shares them with the parking deck and dining spaces and bigger elevator bank would have been awesome.

So in summary, would I pay that money for one night- NO, I would pay less and travel in for the things I needed.
Would I pay that money for 2 nights? - yes, it gives me everything I need in location and no hassle of travel.

Overall the franchisee clearly skimped on details like comfort and durability of the property, but that is a common trend. Cheap now versus extra the cost to fix later anyway.

Room Tip: stay way from epicenter side if you are worried about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLozano, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Patrick S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay and enjoyed our location and lobby. I will share your feedback on the items that could be improved with our team so that we can focus on these issues.

We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Was in Charlotte for a concert at The Fillmore. Clean, very modern setup. Parking was a little bit of a hassle (shared parking with the EpiCenter) and not all elevators go to hotel. But once figured out not hard to navigate. Easy check in, room was dorm room chic. Minimalistic and great for a one night stay. Took at cab, $6 to the venue, and we probably were a 5 min drive away. Being here on a Monday EpiCenter was not the place to be. Food was scarce and finally settled on Wolfgang Pucks pizza after concert. But really looked like a great place to be on weekends when bars/clubs are open. Would recommend for location for sure and would recommend weekend stay if you are looking for nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNatp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLozano, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Mnatp,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We are glad that you found our hotel to chic, comfortable and convenient. We are sorry to hear that parking was a bit of a hassle but overall, it seemed like you had a great stay. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Several of my buddies and I went to the US Whitewater Center for a day of singletrack mountain biking and whitewater activities. Aloft allowed us to bring our bikes into the room with no issues. The rooms are trendy/contemporary. They are not large, but perfect for a night of sleep after you enjoy all that uptown Charlotte has to offer. Nestled in the heart of the EpiCentre, you will not run out of things to do. Great restaurants and nightlife. The staff at Aloft are all really nice. The bar is located in the hotel lobby and the staff there are awesome and a lot of fun to cut up with. This is not a luxury brand, but is a great place to stay with reasonable pricing! Stayed on the 14th floor (the top) and other than some rowdy neighbors (who decided to party all night), I was very content with this hotel. This was my 4th time staying here. I can recommend you go if you want reasonable rates and great location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnbikersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi Greg S,

We’re happy to have provided a fun and pleasurable stay for you and your friends! You are right about our location – The EpiCentre features great restaurants and nightlife. We are also glad that you enjoyed our trendy rooms, friendly staff, and W XYZ Bar. Sorry to hear about the noisy neighbors – we understand how disturbing this can be.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We hope to see you on your next trip to Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located at the EpiCentre, an entertainment center with everything you would need to enjoy your stay. The Hotel staff were very professional and welcoming. The hotel is very modern and hip. The room was also very nice. Pet friendly hotel... They even provided us with a food/water bowl, pet bed and dog snacks. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bujuman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family stayed here recently for a wedding and thoroughly enjoyed it. My two children ( 22-24) thought it was so great as did my husband. Everyone was helpful with any question and the rooms were quiet ( we stayed on the 14th floor and asked for a quiet room) Beds were comfortable, we loved the unusual furnishings and unique bathroom. Definitely use the valet option, we took our rental car in and out and it was fast and easy. Expensive though - $25.00 day but self park was $18.00 and you pay every time you take the car in and out. Once we figured out that the lobby was on the 5th floor, it was easy and so great to be connected to the Epicenter. Would stay in an Aloft again! Pool was disappointing though - very small and saltwater.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1421 - beautiful view of the city and quiet - ask for a quiet room on a top floor ( 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mara4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi mara4_12,

We are so happy that your entire family enjoyed Aloft! It makes us happy to hear that everyone on our staff was helpful to you during your trip and that you liked our quiet rooms, beds, furnishings and bathrooms. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the size of our pool, but we are glad you had a good time at the wedding and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#36 of 180 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre

Property: Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
Address: 210 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style in North Carolina's financial center at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre. Close to shopping, dining, sports and the Nascar Hall of Fame ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charlotte Uptown At The Epicentre Hotel Charlotte
Aloft The Epicentre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing