We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fun Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre to your Saves list
Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 East Trade Street, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #83 of 175 Hotels in Charlotte
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fun Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed overnight in this boutique hotel that styles itself somewhat as a hipsterish, modern minimalist, urban hotel. Amazingly it's part of a very large chain of 60+ hotels around the world. I say amazing because the service and amenities were excellent, which isn't always the case with large chains, especially ones focused around airports as this chain is. Based on the other hotels around in which I've stayed, I would return here in a heartbeat.

Pros: The hotel is in a fantastic location, including being connected by covered walkway to the financial center businesses, as well as right in the heart of the EpiCenter and across the street (effectively) from the arena. Staff here were excellent! Very well trained and focused on customer needs even before you might realize it. To wit, as soon as I checked in, the front desk staffer asked me whether I might need a black car to take me back to the airport the next day. (As the price to the airport is the same as any cab, the answer is always yes.) Well, the person they put me in touch with provided excellent service. The front desk also asked me whether I needed this or that, and were more than accommodating with my room request. The lobby had a very well stocked store (incl. a poker set!) with very reasonable prices (shocking, I know). The room itself was styled on european minimalism, which may or may not be to some people's taste (but is to mine). It had all the amenities, just sometimes hidden in niches you had to find (like the iron and board, which I never would have found had I been looking for them). Even the fridge was in an odd spot. I was high enough up that I had a great nighttime view. Since I faced the noisy EpiCenter, I was pleasantly surprised that I had virtually no noise that interrupted my sleep. Can't say that for the Omni or Hyatt. The pillows were wonderfully soft. And finally, the gym is open 24 hours(!) and was amply equipped for cardio, weights, and isometrics. I had a great workout here.

Cons: Hipsterish and financial center don't quite jive, and this was evident in the muzak in the entry foyer to the hotel. That certainly wasn't good house or techno that I heard walking in. If the pillows were soft, the bed was definitely on the harder side, and the towels were a bit rough, a bit more in keeping with what I'm used to when I'm overseas. In keeping with the minimalist furniture, there were no drawers, only a few cubbyholes, which to my mind signals that this isn't a place for along stay (say, > a week). The rainshower was unfortunately on the weaker side, and the sink was placed on the left, right next to a partition, making things like shaving a bit more difficult for a left-hander like myself.

Overall, I rather enjoyed this rather different hotel from the American norm, and as I said at the top will stay here again on trips in town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side overlook the Epicenter but are still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueWindez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hello BlueWindez,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share these great comments about your recent Aloft stay! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and our unique style. We pride ourselves on delivering great service, and are happy that's what you experienced. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    178
    123
    65
    47
See reviews for
57
153
43
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the aLoft Uptown at the Epicentre last weekend - very friendly staff, extremely accommodating, and we were very impressed with the style, cleanliness and amentities - really awesome for a select service W hotel!! Their bar is amazing, and decor and lobby really sleek and comfortable. Snack shop has plenty and the room rate was affordable. Over and above that, the location cannot be beat!!! You are right in the middle of the epicentre! Shops, restaurants, CVS, breakfast spots - whatever you need is a few floors down off the elevator. Staff is is extremely kind, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. Everyone at this hotel was in a good mood and enjoying themselves. The views are great and once again - YOU CAN'T BEAT THE LOCATION!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Aloft hotel has all the ingredients for a great hotel. Staff are very helpful and informed. I wanted to mail some postcards from Charlotte. Fortunately there were some nice ones at the front desk, so i asked 'how much ?". Answer : "Free". So i filled a couple out and asked if they ahd stamps so i could mail them. "Sure, we'll take care of it". What a great way to serve your customers. Sheraton NYC did not even had stamps at the concierge (which is a no brainer at most hotels).

Rooms are well appointed and clean.. The only thing lacking at the hotel is a good breakfast area. there is a little shop where you can buy cold muffins, danishes etc and coffee. However, the hotel is at the epicentre, which does have a very good selection of restaurants. Also you need to take 2 lifts to get to your room. there is a lift that gets you from street level to the lobby, and then another from the lobby to your room. minor irritation, unless you have to be in and out all day.
Beware - if there are concerts going on at the epi, it can get noisy so get a room on higher floors and facing away from the epicentre. Also if there is a game/concert at the arena nearby, all the restaurants tend to have very long lineups and get full.
The hotel is a short walk to most financial institutions in Charlotte - convenient if you are there on business.

Room Tip: face away from the epicentre and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naeemsiddiqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear naeemsiddiqi,
Thank you for your kind words! Our talent strives hard to impress each and every guest so it's nice to read of how a simple token of our appreciation, a free post card and stamp, can resonate so well. It's appreciative guests such as yourself that make this career a rewarding one. Thank you for choosing Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre!
Regards,
Jim Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was adequate. Clean and functional. Very minimal, desk and hard chair no couch, love seat, etc. No closet, truly as cheap and minimal as you can possibly get but no issues. The staff however is outstanding. From the minute
I checked in to the minute I checked out everyone was pleasant, helpful and went out of their way to make me feel welcome.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zoeboaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Zoeboaat,
Thank you for your mention of great and outstanding service! I believe that above all else that a hotel can provide, a team of engaged friendly folks is the most critical. As for the hotel design and furnishings, we understand that the minimalist environment does not resonate with everyone. I am sorry if our concept took away form a generally positive experience. I do hope that the service engagement you experienced will be a reason for a follow up visit to us.
Regards,
Jim Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Do not use your BANKAND CARD. They claim their computes had a gitch and put 2 holds on my account. They fixed that then charged me twice for my stay 481 twice. Mymoney credited back to my accountys after I was home. The manager nevercalled medirectly, in fact I had to call the hotel and they would not give me the regional manages info. They just did not care and provided poor customer srvice in dealing with this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear queenk75,
Please accept my sincere apology for the challenges you experienced relative to your bank card. It is our intention to minimize your concerns on the road, not add to them. Our talent worked promptly to remedy your situation, and I am pleased that it was fixed quickly. I hope you provide us another opportunity to serve you and demonstrate a level of service you expect for a brand such as Aloft.
Regards,
Jim Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlotte hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Being right next to the EpiCentre has its appeals and drawbacks... It was great to be able to go grab a beer and some wings, watch some games, etc, but later in the evening when the bars really cranked up, I can see how other people with rooms right near there would have issues with the noise. We were on the quiet side of the hotel, so we didn't have issues with the noise from outside, but you really can hear everything as people walk down the halls. Beds were uncomfortable to both my wife and I. I liked the valet parking and the lobby area. Definitely a more "modern" hotel. Not really my style, but if they'd get more insulation in the halls and better beds, I would have no problems with the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BPncsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I travel a lot for work. You may think this would make me extremely picky. Quite the contrary; all I expect is a comfortable bed and a safe, quiet room. Maybe Aloft provided the former two, but DEFINITELY not the latter. Last night (a Saturday) a group of friends and I visited Charlotte to catch a NBA game. I returned to the hotel at 11PM. OUR ROOM WAS VIBRATING! I could not believe how loud it was. I actually laughed because it was so unbelievable. There must have been a bar with a drum circle night, but it was deafening. I am not exaggerating. I would have requested a new room, but it was so amazingly loud that I assumed it must be a short-time thing and decided to wait it out. Also, I overheard the front desk mention that they were booked, so I felt stuck. BTW - it was loud until 3AM or so.

When I went to the front desk the next morning to complain, the staff was nice, but said that the hotel was built before the bars were added. You could tell they've gotten complaints before and had stock answers. Who cares when the dang thing was built? It is beyond unconscionable that they rent these rooms to anyone. Even someone deaf would be bothered by the rattling from the bass below. Maybe they're ok on the weeknights. However, I will never again stay at an Aloft hotel. Avoid at all costs. The people running this hotel care nothing about guest comfort!

Oh, and the hotel wasn't particularly clean. Actually, it was quite shabby.

Go to the HIlton or Marriott instead. They're well-situated and don't appear to be built above a raucous bar.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sean W.
On behalf of the Aloft, please accept my sincere apology that in your opinion we are not an acceptable hotel in regards to design and layout. I understand that all travelers have a unique taste and am sorry that our hotel did not appeal to your personal sense of style.
Regards,
Jim Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#61 of 175 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre

Property: Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
Address: 210 East Trade Street, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 175 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style in North Carolina's financial center at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre. Close to shopping, dining, sports and the Nascar Hall of Fame ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charlotte Uptown At The Epicentre Hotel Charlotte
Aloft The Epicentre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing