We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
Ranked #85 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel needs a refresh but their service is great. You can't heat the location. Small room as usual with Aloft. Parking and finding the hotel are a pain. Food area is good. Try the asian chicken salad.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avlcoffeelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    193
    138
    75
    53
See reviews for
72
175
46
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Possibly a good choice for a one night business trip; central location with several good restaurants within walking distance.
The concept and ambience may be "hip" to some, but traveling as a couple required lugging suitcases in an airport type cart from street level via elevator to the fifth floor lobby and another elevator to the room. This is not optional, there is no one at the entrance except parking attendants to valet park your vehicle and who are not employed by the hotel.
The lobby is minimalist-concrete floor, a small seating area and bar and a nook where food items may be purchased. The concept is called "grab and go", great if you are in a hurry but forget a leisurely, nicely prepared and presented breakfast.
Gray is the dominant color throughout the hotel, as in battleship gray. Dull, boring,depressing.
Our room on the ninth floor had an excellent view of downtown Charlotte and beyond. It was very small as was the bath area, I emphasize area not room because they are separated only by a partial dividing wall. Tight squeeze for two.
There is a place to hang clothing in the bath area; not really a closet, not floor to ceiling and just a curtain, no door.
The exit process was similar to the check in except that a cart had to be retrieved from the curb then maneuvered up and back down to the street etc,etc. You get the idea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamdenIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlotte hotels

Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here for only one night, but I think I got a full appreciation of this wonderful hotel. Located in central Uptown Charlotte, it is easy walking distance to all the major attractions. The lobby is sleek and stylish, complete with pool table, bar and lounge area. The rooms, while small were very well furnished with a large flat screen TV, av system to let you comment your own computer to the screen, and wired and wireless internet. The bed (a king in my room) was very comfortable and I slept very well. The hotel has a small gym and a lap pool.

The only down side to my visit was that there was noticeable noise from the street and local businesses...but I guess that comes with the location. I would heartily recommend this property and hope to return on my next trip to Charlotte.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike22315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Love the concept of a modern hotel (I live in a modern house and hate "frilly" decorating), but some of the details are preventing this hotel from being great.

PROs:
1. Modern decor in the lobby and the room
2. Nice room layout makes a not so big room feel big enough
3. Box on desk connects your laptop to the TV.
4. Free wireless
5. There was a nice bag of snacks on the desk when I entered the room and a note saying that I was the "guest of the day."
6. Lots of options nearby for meals and entertainment.

CONs:
1. The hotel address is listed as East Trade Street but the sign and entrance is on South College Street. This made the hotel difficult to find while driving on one-way streets in rush-hour traffic.
2. The lobby is up on the 5th floor. The elevator up to the lobby is REALLY slow. I waited about 10 minutes each time I wanted to go up or down.
3. Based on other reviews here, I asked for a higher floor to avoid traffic noise. I was given a room on the 9th floor. (The highest floor is 14.) This apparently was not high enough -- the room was really noisy all night long from street traffic, making it very difficult to sleep.
4. Service at the WXYZ bar was slow.

Overall, not a bad hotel, but not great. I was hoping to really like this one, but I think you can find better in Charlotte.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs -- I don't think there is a quiet room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Came in for a one night stay with family......Nothing really great to say. It was okay.. The main inconvenient that we dealt with was our luggage. It is a pain to haul all of your bags from curb site to an elevator that takes you up to the 5th floor. Then after check in you have to take another elevator up to your room. Checked in the evening of 8/12 and was greated by a young lady who was very nice. Later I came down back to the desk to ask a question about dinner and there was a young man who wasn't as friendly. But overall it was your typical W Hotel. Don't know if I would come back again. If it matters I am a frequent traveler and prefer SPG......

Room Tip: They only have one suite..............No Club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slrray0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Sllray0524,
Thank you for your honest feedback. While I am encouraged by the scores you gave us for such things as overall cleanliness, I am disappointed that the elevators tarnished your opinion. One down side to our incredible location is that we are foreced to share elevators with a vibrant entertainment complex. This can tend to result in a slightly longer wait and increased traffic. To combat the inefficiency of the elevators our talent works hard to provide exceptional front-line service. I do hope for another opportunity of serving you in the future.
Regards,
Jim Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have yet to have a bad stay at an Aloft .. We were given an accessible room because of the late reservation. It was clean, well kept, and the view was great! I attached pictures to show what the room looked like. It was definitely worth the $97 (plus valet parking , so approximately $130) .. Great stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMThomas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Smarie_21,
What a pleasure to read comments from a raving fan! our talent works hard each and every day to ensure an unparallelled level of service. I'm happy that you appreciated the cleanliness and friendliness!
Regards,
Jim Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I recently stayed at the Aloft Charlotte Uptown... A standard Aloft experience, decent rate, clean room. WXYZ bar is nice and convenient. All in all, a great stay. Staff was a little, let's say, informal. Other than that, wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Paul Y,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre! I am happy to read of your opinion that we a re a great place to stay. Regarding the "casualness" of our talent, I will certainly address any area that may be lacking, but hope you understand the general concept of great service in a casual environment. I hope we have another opportunity of serving you again soon.
Regards,
Jim Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#37 of 178 in Charlotte
1,883 reviews
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre

Property: Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
Address: 210 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style in North Carolina's financial center at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre. Close to shopping, dining, sports and the Nascar Hall of Fame ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charlotte Uptown At The Epicentre Hotel Charlotte
Aloft The Epicentre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing