We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely museum with interesting stuff”

Mint Museum Randolph
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Charlotte Segway Tour
Ranked #31 of 179 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in what was the original branch of the United States Mint, Mint Museum Randolph opened in 1936 in Charlotte’s Eastover neighborhood as the state’s first art museum. Today, in a beautiful park setting, intimate galleries invite visitors to engage with the art of the ancient Americas, ceramics and decorative arts, fashion, European and African art, among other collections. Resources include a reference library with over 18,000 volumes, a theater featuring lectures and performances, and a museum shop offering merchandise that complements both the permanent collection and special exhibitions.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely museum with interesting stuff”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This museum and it's sister museum (which is Uptown are great). I have to say that this one is a bit better, but, it depends on what you enjoy so I suspect both have something for everyone. It's in a nice park area so maybe a picnic would have been a good idea. Well worth the trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isobel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    43
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one in Uptown or the one on Randolph”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We are very fortunate to have both of these musuems. Check out their website for up to date lectures, exhibits and free items for members.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjwh112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“More Culture in Charlotte”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I wanted once again to experience some culture. Visited the art museum when my aunt and uncle came to visit. Great works of art, just be careful when and what you take a picture of. I was not paying attention to the signs and was quickly asked (nicely) to not take pictures in one room. Nice and relaxing and good time with family.

Helpful?
Thank 349Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, interesting exhibits.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The uptown Mint Museum is well worth visiting. Their Romare Beardon collection is well worth the price of admission, and their special exhibitions are always interesting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mvpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Small City, Ontario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Same as The Mint Museum Uptown?”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I wrote a review on The Mint Museum Uptown, which--as far as I can tell--is the same as this museum. There are at least two branches of this museum and it's easy to get confused. Can TripAdvisor sort this out?

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GEMSeeTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mint Museum Randolph also viewed

 

Been to Mint Museum Randolph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing