We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treasure find!”

Levine Museum of the New South
Ranked #8 of 177 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors are awed by the interactive, multi-sensory exhibits at this museum dedicated to exploring the Southern United States during the post-Civil War period.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A treasure find!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I could only spend less than an hour in this well-arranged, thought-provoking museum telling me the story of a part of the country I didn't know very much about. There was plenty to fascinate both children - with interactive exhibits - and adults, with interesting information about all sorts of moments from the past and not-so-past. Sensitive topics are handled well but without hiding the facts. I only wish I could have stayed longer to fully absorb all the information presented to me.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ardief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    146
    19
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The locals are right in being proud of this place”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This museum shows a both a permanent exhibition of the history of Charlotte as part of the history of the New South (ie. post-Civil War) and at the moment a smaller, but equally expressive, exhibition about lynching photography in the US. The permanent exhibition covers politics, trade and industry, agriculture, living conditions, music (the Golden Gate Quartet was from Charlotte!), worship (Billy Graham is from Charlotte!), education and communication. Very instructive, very balanced, and occasionally fun.
Visiting the exhibition about lynchings in the US (not just the South, not just of blacks, not just of men) is one of these experiences one would like to have missed (becuae it hurts so much) and one is glad not to have missed (because it is so necessary). I learned from it that lynchings were not always the outbreak of violence from a furious mob, but often meticulously planned, amply documented by professional photographers and not-so-reluctantly documented by the press.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vikingtraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't overlook this gem!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is the most socially relevant museum I have ever spent time in. It is a place to come for those who wish to think, learn and grow. Their exhibits are always interesting and thought-provoking, and their special events inform our entire city.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Interesting and Informative”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Levine Museum of the New South has something of interest for anyone who loves to learn or who appreciates history and tradition. It was cold the day we went, so the docents let us in early! We spent several hours viewing the displays.
We definitely will go to this museum again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“charlottes history from cotton to banking”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This museum details Charlotte's history from the civil war to present time with many interactive displays that truly give you the feel of cotton farmers, millers, textile workers and bankers. Includes displays on 1960s civil rights movement as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank newlife08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levine Museum of the New South also viewed

 

Been to Levine Museum of the New South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing