We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Resort Course”

The Golf Club at Ballantyne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With exceptional public, PGA golf course conditions, extensive facilities and superior service, The Golf Club at Ballantyne provides the total golf experience year-round. The Golf Club at Ballantyne offers an ideal location to hit the links in Charlotte, North Carolina. Enjoy a golf pro shop, practice area, driving range, professionally maintained course conditions, golf pavilion starter house and turn house for food and beverage, overnight golf packages at The Ballantyne and golf lessons by renowned Dana Rader Golf School, a Golf Channel Academy. Hours vary by season. Twilight rates available seasonally.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Played here in October, and found the course to be well maintained, and a pleasure to play. The course is designed to keep you in play, while still presenting a fair challenge. the price was reasonable, and the staff was friendly and accommodating

1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Golf Club at Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Jim M,
Thank you for playing our course at The Golf Club at Ballantyne and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and value your positive comments regarding our course’s conditions, design, value and staff. At The Golf Club at Ballantyne, we are committed to providing our guests with one of the finest golfing experiences in the region.

Sincerely,
Golf Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 66 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The golf was great. Challenging course, but manageable for most levels. Service was excellent. It's well integrated with the resort so that you don't have to worry about your clubs or anything else

1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Golf Club at Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Daniel B,
Thank you for playing the course at The Golf Club at Ballantyne and for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our service and overall experience. At The Golf Club at Ballantyne, we are committed to providing a wonderful golf experience, with full access to all of the amenities at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Golf Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We had the opportunity to play the course several times during our recent stay in Charlotte. The staff was courteous and the course was in great condition. We found the price very comparable with courses we've played in other areas. The practice area was very nice.
As an average golfer I had trouble with the rough and very fast greens. My husband didn't have the same issues with his better game. Overall we both thought the course was excellent.
We definitely will play it again when we are in the area.

2  Thank Suzieshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Golf Club at Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Suzieshu,
Thank you for playing the course at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your experience. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff, course condition, practice area and overall playability. At The Golf Club at Ballantyne, we are dedicated to providing an enjoyable yet challenging golfing experience for players of all levels. We look forward to welcoming you back to our golf course.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I played with a group of friends from work for the first time in early September and found the course to present a real challenge for the weekend golfer. The grounds crew has the course in excellent shape and the greens rolled true all day. What makes it a difficult course is that even if you hit the ball in the middle of the fairway of the te box, on many of the holes the ball will end up below or above your feet which can make the approach shot very difficult. For a low handicap player this is not a problem but for a higher handicap golfer this is one of the toughest shots to hit accurately. #18 is a great finishing hole, just make sure you take enough club to avoid the water when you hit into the green!

1  Thank NCDawgFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Golf Club at Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear NCDawgFan,
Thank you for playing our course at The Golf Club at Ballantyne and for taking the time to share your experience. We really appreciate your kind comments regarding the course conditions and challenging nature of the course. At The Golf Club at Ballantyne, we are committed to providing a wonderful and memorable golf experience for all golfers. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Golf Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

They hosted an event for my company. I highly recommend them for this. The staff was easy to work with and they made sure the details were impeccable. My group loved the cocktail hour and dinner we had. The billing was smooth as well.

1  Thank Reeenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Golf Club at Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Reeenay,

Thank you for hosting your company’s event at The Golf Club at Ballantyne and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and overall event process. At The Golf Club at Ballantyne, we are committed to providing an exceptional event experience, from the planning details to post-event transactions. We are delighted that your attendees enjoyed the event, and we hope to partner with you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Golf Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golf Club at Ballantyne also viewed

 

Been to The Golf Club at Ballantyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing