We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Nirvana - CLOSED

Cafe Nirvana
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Cafe Nirvana is a favorite for our family. The casual atmosphere makes it a great choice for family dining, but if you go later in the evening when most kids are in bed it can also be a nice romantic dinner too. The food is consistently good. We've never had a single bad dish and we go here a lot. The service is always friendly and prompt. Their lunch buffet is one of the best in Charlotte, with plenty of meat and veg options. Whenever anyone asks us for a recommendation on an Indian restaurant (my husband is from Mumbai) we always suggest Cafe Nirvana. No one has ever come away disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingCarolinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“There are better options for Indian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Went with a couple of friends...atmosphere is very casual and we had hoped for a nicer dinner out...

Bar didn't have half the items listed, which was a disappointment

Appetizers were excellent...great samosas and shrimp. Fresh and well done.

Entrees were fair. The tiki masala was very sweet even tho we ordered a step below vendalo. That was my big disappointment. Others were good, according to what my friends said. Nan was nan...good.

Nirvana is good for lunch Buffett...fairly priced and good variety. Would not recommend for a nice dinner.

We prefer blue taj in Ballantyne and will make that our go-to Indian place.

Helpful?
Thank Elmcityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy buffet with excellent customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

My children and I enjoyed the lunch buffet at Cafe Nirvana. The food was yummy, with my favorite dishes (as a vegetarian) being the veggie Korma and the rice pudding dessert. A basket of fresh, warm nan was delivered to the table! One of the wait staff really stood out for being very kind and funny as he interacted with and entertained the kids. I do wish the vegetarian section of the buffet included a dish with paneer, but this was our first visit and I don't know how often the selection changes. They also offered a kid's discount on the price of the buffet, which was nice. The whole family would enjoy visiting this restaurant again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Evils_TravelAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Food!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Cafe Nirvana is one of the best Indian Restaurants. Food is out of this world my taste buds were unusually happy. The service was great and we even got a dessert on the house. Amazing place. Highly recommend you try Cafe Nirvana.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

One of the best Indian restaurants around, worth the trip (its close to SC)
Prices are reasonable, service in OK.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OHandTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing