We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yahoo travel reviews are worthless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn Northlake
Ranked #103 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Sleep Inn in Charlotte, NC, got 3 stars from Yahoo travel and 3.5 stars from customers. I called yahoo to see how they came up with the ratings. They said they used professional raters who use objective industry parameters and may visit the site. After staying at the Sleep Inn I have to conclude that either the "industry standards" they used were very low, or they were not objective, or their reviewers were hi on something. The hotel was filthy, the rooms were small, the breakfast was very low quality and their equipment was not functional. It did not go low enough to meet the roach motel industry standard, but came awfully close.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bx6781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnNorth, Manager at Sleep Inn Northlake, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you for taking time out to provide feedback regarding the Sleep Inn North Lake your views are greatly respected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 236 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

Have stayed here several times and about the lowest rate for a decent room in the immediate area. The furnishings are dated, on one stay, bedspread had burn holes from cigarettes. It is a non-smoking hotel, but smoke smells remain in all rooms I've stayed in. Rooms have no tubs but egg-shaped showers that are very strange. Definitely a blue collar place, but have never had issues with noise/unruly guests. Staff has always endeavored to be helpful and provide solutions when problems did arise. Even though right next to interstate, a little A/C noise and I have never had a bad nights sleep. Though it appears in a slightly shady area, never had/or heard of problems with breakins. TVs are circa 1995 tube models but never had problems with cable and A/C never had problems. Internet is good except at peak times and then hard to do any significant surfing. Never had breakfast but it appears spartan.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beavercreekisfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnNorth, Manager at Sleep Inn Northlake, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

On behalf of the owners and staff we appreciate your continued business. One of our main focuses is to deliver great service and a quality product at a affordable price to all our guest. We are pleased to know that our goal was accomplished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Stopped here on a trip from PA to FL due to advertisement in motel book at rest area that indicated it was a pet friendly establishment. The rooms were clean and in far better condition than most other pet friendly establishments. It's close to I-77 so there was some traffic noise and the "continental" breakfast was one of the sparsest that I have encountered but sufficient. One down point regarding pet friendliness is that all rooms are interior and they lock the doors to the outside overnight so you must alert the night clerk to let you in and out should your pet need a potty break.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qikvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnNorth, Manager at Sleep Inn Northlake, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you for your business glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to assisting you with your lodging needs in the near feature and don't forget your pets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Not what I've come to expect from Sleep Inns. Needs some TLC, the room was clean but needs some updating. Probably smallest pool I've ever seen in a Hotel, but it was very warm (Heated to 91 degrees). There are better choices out there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camp5101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

My arrived to the hotel around 4:00am to check in, He got the keys for his room, when he opened the door he found the room dirty. The beds were slept in, trash all over the room...he went back down stairs. He told the front desk clerk and they said the room is clean...he had to argue that it wasn't! The clerk never said they were sorry for the dirty room. Figures!! He went to the second room and found some problems. There was a spider crawling in the sink so he turned on the water to flush it down, well I guess if the water would have came out faster than a stream then he could have! He went to take a shower, when he turned the water on it came out like coke brown!!! It was pretty nasty! This wasnt just one time, everytime the water was turned on this happened! The staff also said they were going to bring up keys since the room keys were not working to begin with. Well, no key was ever brought! I, his WIFE..and a choice employee of a Sleep Inn not too far away called this morning to get the receipt emailed to me, because they did not give him one at all. I spoke to Patrick, he took down my email address and said I should get that in a few minutes. I never did so I called him back. He said that I could not have it and he emailed it to another email. Not what I asked! I told him who I was and where I worked, he didnt care! So, I had to call CHOICE to get it! Thank you for making the stay even more difficult Patrick!!! I will be in touch with CHOICE hotels, the stay was horrible! Oh yeah, he is a Choice Privileges member and was told that he could have a 12pm check out because he checked in so late! Wow thanks, he is allowed to stay until 2pm but wasnt given that option here. They even called his room at 11am for him to check out! Also, he is in the US MARINE CORPS, and asked for a military discount, they said they didnt have one. Yes, they do! Im glad hes fighting for their freedom, and cant even get a discount! Thanks! The customer service here is horrible, save your money and stay at another property!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forgetmenott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

No frills...absolutely no frills....no hidden gem here

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I stayed at this motel because I needed somewhere for one night, close to uptown, and inexpensive. It was average but I was hoping for a little more. I have noticed in the past few years that some of the sleep inns I've stayed at in the Charlotte area could use some updating. This one definitely fell in that category. There was no fitness center and the pool was extremely small (indoor). The computer was absolutely archaic and didn't work. They claimed it had been knocked out by a recent storm but it looked like it hadn't been used in quite some months and maybe even a year. There was no info in the room pertaining to TV stations or any area info that would be helpful to visitors unfamiliar with Charlotte. The breakfast was meager but what was there was fresh. The pocket door to the bathroom did not close all the way but since I was traveling alone I did not request any maintenance or to be moved. TV stations were somewhat limited for a motel offering cable. As for points in their favor the room and linens were clean and neat and the staff was polite but not overly helpful or friendly unless they were pushed for assistance. Really needs updating though.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunburst83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
5.6 mi away
Sleep Inn University Place
Sleep Inn University Place
#77 of 178 in Charlotte
227 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Charlotte Airport Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Charlotte Northlake
5.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#131 of 178 in Charlotte
232 reviews
8.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Northlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Northlake

Address: 6300 Banner Elk Drive, Charlotte, NC 28216-2389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#52 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $67 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Northlake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want a thrilling or relaxing vacation, you can enjoy both when you stay at our Sleep Inn® Northlake hotel near the Charlotte Douglas International Airport in Charlotte, NC. Our pet-friendly affordable hotel in Charlotte is within walking distance of the Metrolina Expo Trade Center and close to the Bank of America Stadium and other attractions like: Charlotte Motor Speedway, Time Warner Cable Arena, Concord Mills Mall, University of North Carolina-Charlotte, and Charlotte Convention Center. Get an adrenaline rush at a racing event or relax at our smoke-free Charlotte hotel with amenities like: free breakfast, free WiFi, free weekday newspaper, indoor heated pool, and copy and fax services. The warm, modern design elements in your guest room will help you rest and unwind, our signature shower invigorates and refreshes, and with all of the options on our Morning Medley hot breakfast buffet, you might even decide to treat yourself to seconds. All guest rooms include TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. You'll love our cozy, modern rooms and great value at our Sleep Inn Northlake hotel. Charlotte, NC hotels like ours are the perfect locations for any guest. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn Northlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing