We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant and helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University
Ranked #92 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant and helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Not only a well run and clean property, the customer service was excellent. Lauren at the front desk was extremely helpful, from finding a local restaurant that delviers to assisting me with printing my boarding pass for a hasty trip to the ariport. Well done, Candlewood Suites!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saramcmill, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello and thank you for your response!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate any and all feedback and take it very seriously. We would love to have you stay with us in the future! Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

Sincerely,

Sara Gomez
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites-Charlotte University
8812 University East Drive
Charlotte, NC 28213
704-598-9863 x 402
sara.gomez@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    49
    25
    15
    11
See reviews for
29
34
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was my first time staying at a hotel for a week in Charlotte for a job. I am from Raleigh and do to the unemployment situation, I was forced to come to Charlotte work. On my first day, my car was broken into while it was parked downtown.I didn't find out until after work, so by the time I arrived at the hotel, it was very late and I was very tired and upset. But because Lauren, the night clerk was working, I felt like I had someone who cared about me and I wasn't as upset as I could have been after such a bad experience like having your personal things stolen. Not only did she listen to what I had to say but she also immediately volunteered to help me get my things from the car, and took them up to my room for me. I am very grateful that she was working that night. The next night Joe was working and he was just as awesome as Lauren. Kind and friendly. Since that time, over a month has passed and this is the only hotel I will stay in. The rooms are very clean and the sheets and towels are comparable to 4 star hotels. The staff are 5 star all the way....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saramcmill, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello and thank you for your response!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate any and all feedback and take it very seriously. I have noticed a very positive trend in our reviews relating to customer service and it makes me very proud of the staff we have. Thank you for letting us know! We would love to have you stay with us in the future! Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

Sincerely,

Sara Gomez
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites-Charlotte University
8812 University East Drive
Charlotte, NC 28213
704-598-9863 x 402
sara.gomez@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is my first stay at this hotel and I must say that I have never had the kind of customer service that I have gotten from Lauren at the front desk. When we checked in, the room's ice maker didn't work so she moved us to another room next door. We were waiting for a one-bedroom suite which we wouldn't be able to move into for a few days. When one of these suites became available, she quickly accommodated our move to it. But the topper was when we came back from a grocery shopping trip with a cart load of food to find that the elevator wasn't working. Since our suite was on the second floor near the stairs at the end of the hall, Lauren told us to move out cart down there. Then she and another employee gathered handfuls of our groceries and helped us take them upstairs. She even put perishables in the refrigerator for us! If you ever need anything, Lauren is the person to go to at the front desk. I will be staying at this hotel for some time and look forward to my stay.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite is definitely a good value if you're going to stay for a while. The suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saramcmill, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello and thank you for your response!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate any and all feedback and take it very seriously. As a part of IHG, delivering top of the line customer service is our number one goal and I am so happy to see that we have met those expectations. We would love to have you stay with us in the future! Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

Sincerely,

Sara Gomez
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites-Charlotte University
8812 University East Drive
Charlotte, NC 28213
704-598-9863 x 402
sara.gomez@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have stayed at this Hotel and everytime I have I received the best customer service I could ask for. Joe at the front desk is what you would want to see when you first come in the door tired and all you want is to go to bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saramcmill, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello and thank you for your response!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate any and all feedback and take it very seriously. Customer Service is our top priority at this hotel and I am happy to hear we are excelling! We would love to have you stay with us in the future! Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

Sincerely,

Sara Gomez
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites-Charlotte University
8812 University East Drive
Charlotte, NC 28213
704-598-9863 x 402
sara.gomez@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

It isn't necessarily posh, but who needs that anyway? I was recently in Charlotte on business and found Candlewood Suites to be a friendly and clean experience. Though I had a bit of trouble with my toilet, I found everything to be in working order and the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stcaey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saramcmill, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello and thank you for your response!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate any and all feedback and take it very seriously. We would love to have you stay with us in the future! Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

Sincerely,

Sara Gomez
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites-Charlotte University
8812 University East Drive
Charlotte, NC 28213
704-598-9863 x 402
sara.gomez@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel was very nice for the money. The room was very well equipped and nice. The hallways were a little smelly, but the rooms were not. They could have used some vending machines for late night snackers. Overall, very nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saramcmill, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello and thank you for your response!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us back in August and I apologize in my delay in responding back to you. We appreciate any and all feedback and take it very seriously. We do not have vending machines because we have the Candlewood Cupboard which is our on-site convenient store that is on an Honors System. We would love to have you stay with us in the future! Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

Sincerely,

Sara Gomez
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites-Charlotte University
8812 University East Drive
Charlotte, NC 28213
704-598-9863 x 402
sara.gomez@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I preface this by saying, the employee on duty was flying solo for the first time, after a month of training. She was handling every challenge being thrown at her with a smile. I also want to say I am a "Road Warrior" - (Holiday Inn Gold Member), and have seen a lot of adversity in hotel management. This was handled as good as anyone could have expected.

8PM - Saturday - 7/28/12 - The start of this employees shift!

I feel the management and ownership of this property should have taken a closer look at the capacity of this hotel and scheduled more than just 1 employee to be on duty. This was not fair to the employee or the guests.

There were rooms which could have been rented that were not cleaned.
There were patrons asking for supplies which weren't available (pillows/ iron/ towels were just coming out of a dryer).
The retail Pantry was wiped out, and 90+% out of stock. (This happens to be the business I am in, so I take notice of the condition of the Pantrys.)
Garbage cans at the entrance were overflowing with garbage.
Guests were saying their carpets were soaked with water runover from their A/C unit.
The 3 computers at one point had to be rebooted which took the employee off-line until she was able to contact the manager via telephone for the passwords.

The location manager handled the situations via phone. I'm not so sure I wouldn't have gone in myself, or called someone to go in and assist. It appeared whomever worked the 1st shift handed off a hotel that was not ready for the night shift person!

As it worked out, after waiting nearly 3 hrs. for a room, it was determined the hotel was oversold. To the credit of the management of this location, they sent us up the street to another IHG property, which was just fine.

I am sorry to be so critical, as I booked this hotel based on all the "Good" comments left by other patrons. I am sure this was just a bad moment which can be overcome with a little more oversight by ownership and management.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshades1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saramcmill, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello and thank you very much for your honest feedback! As the Director of Sales for this property, I take all reviews, good or bad, very seriously.

As an extended stay hotel, we do typically staff just one person per shift. We also have majority long term business that stays with us, yet do still publish nightly rates hence the high occupancy for last Saturday. I am extremely pleased to hear how our front desk agent handled all that was thrown at her and will be working much more closely with operations and housekeeping to ensure that on nights similar to this one, we are much more prepared.

I would love to have you come back and give us another shot on us. If you are returning to the area, please give me a call directly to book your room.

Sincerely,

Sara McMillan
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites-Charlotte University
8812 University East Drive
Charlotte, NC 28213
704-598-9863 x 402
sara.mcmillan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn University Place
Sleep Inn University Place
#74 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place
7.1 mi away
Sleep Inn North Lake
Sleep Inn North Lake
#97 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University - Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University

Property: Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University
Address: 8812 University East Drive, Charlotte, NC 28213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#47 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Charlotte-University Hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed leather recliner while you enjoy the CD/DVD/VCR player. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work out in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenient store. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We offer complimentary washers and dryers in our on-site laundry facilities. Earn Priority Club Rewards Points for each qualifying stay. Pets Are Welcome with a fee of $50 for the first night, $10 for each additional night, not to exceed $150 per month. Current shot documentation is required. A pet policy must be signed at check in. Housekeeping is provided every 7 days. The Front Desk is open from 7am-11pm with staff available 24 hours a day. The Candlewood Suites is located just 3 miles from I-85 in a quiet area. We are conveniently close to UNCC, The Charlotte Motor Speedway, Research Park, Wells Fargo CIC, Concord Mills Mall, Verizon Wireless Amphitheater, The NASCAR Hall of Fame, Bobcats Arena, and the Bank of America Panthers Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University Hotel Charlotte
Candlewood Charlotte
Charlotte Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing