We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only reason it's not 1 star is because I survived the night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds
Ranked #114 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The only reason it's not 1 star is because I survived the night”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Do not stay here unless your only other choice is to sleep in your car. Run down rooms, cigarette burned bedspread, chipped flakeboard furniture, scary continental "breakfast", creepy guests. This hotel is clearly used as a "home" to families living out of a hotel room. It is in a lousy part of town and not that close to Carrowinds or anyplace else you would want to visit in Charlotte. They hook you in with a non refundable, web only rate for one reason...because as soon as you actually see the hotel, you won't want to stay there. Don't make the same mistake I did. I stayed for 2 nights in July and would never, ever go back, no matter how inexpensive it is.

Room Tip: There is no good room here. Definately do not stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnWoodlawn, Director of Sales at Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello, Sir/Mem I thank you for your time and effort and I apologize for the inconvenience that you had to go through at our property . Please give us a chance to provide you with best possible service and I will personally make sure that you do not have to go through any of the problems that you had to go through earlier. we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    88
    86
    85
    116
See reviews for
115
118
68
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Guest Services agent was very kind and quick which was good considering that we arrived so late in the evening. When we arrived to our room it was old. The bathroom looked like they were trying to upgrade but there were holes in the new marble. My iron was missing out of the room and the beds didn't fit two adults. It was noisy late into the night. The breakfast looked good in the morning but we ate at the local IHop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I came in @ 430am looking for a room. the older guy unlocked the door and let me and my Two young sons in. we discussed the room rates and the lenth of my stay and was told i could stay to whole day due to me and my family coming in so late. we gor to the room and we had dirty towels and burns in the carpet and sheets. me and my family was so tired from our trip we just went to sleep. At about 930...an hour and thirty minutes before checkout... we were woken up my a very rude maid asking "When are we getting out". I told her we have the room for the day and she proceeded to say some really bad comments in Spanish and walked off. i went to the front desk and talk to a young lady name felisha and explained the sitution that the night manager told me. she was very bad attitude and said with an attitude that she was doing me a favor and would let me check out at noon. i told her this is not what the night manager said and she just strugged it off like i was nothing. i even spoke to the gm and he seemed not to care.... if i was anyone in the area please don't stay at this establishment. they are rude and do not know the meaning of customer service. i do believe that all the good reviews are management cause i can't see someone staying here and giving a positive review.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepe1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnWoodlawn, Manager at Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello, Sir/Mem I thank you for your time and effort and I apologize for the inconvenience that you had to go through at our property . Please give us a chance to provide you with best possible service and I will personally make sure that you do not have to go through any of the problems that you had to go through earlier. we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night since my flights were canceled due to weather. The hotel is a short drive from the airport via their courtesy van which arrived shortly after I called from the airport to make the reservation. Van driver was friendly, helpful and courteous and so was the check in clerk. I was tired from waiting around in the airport for flight info so their pleasant demeanor was especially appreciated.

The room was surprisingly spacious and nice since the amount I paid (about $50) is a very reasonable rate. The temperature controls actually worked!!!! I could adjust them according to my needs. I have been in 5 star hotels where the temperature controls were never accurate, so this was a real treat for me. Beds had seemingly new covers, bed was comfortable, the room came with a beautiful flat screen tv, microwave and tv. The bathroom was spotless and it had granite counters!

There was no stopper for the bathtub and there was no shampoo provided but I consider those things trivial. The breakfast they provided was good: apples, oatmeal, cereal, donuts, toast, waffles, coffee, juices. It was a bit crowded, but I didn't really mind that as I took my coffee and oatmeal to my room.

When I checked out I was told that the courtesy van was not available but the hotel paid for a cab to take me to the airport. The cab was called and arrived promptly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnWoodlawn, Manager at Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello, Sir/Mem I thank you for your time and effort and I apologize for the inconvenience that you had to go through at our property . Please give us a chance to provide you with best possible service and I will personally make sure that you do not have to go through any of the problems that you had to go through earlier. we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Montclaire South
Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Super 8 Charlotte Downtown Area
#111 of 178 in Charlotte
328 reviews
Eagle Lake
Sleep Inn Billy Graham Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds

Property: Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds
Address: 118 E Woodlawn Rd, Charlotte, NC 28217-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Montclaire South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Days Inn
Days Inn Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing