We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay for short or an extentded stay visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites University - Research Park
Ranked #83 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was a very pleasent stay! I appreciated the atmosphere and the helpfullness of all the staff. I have stayed at serveral place of the course of CIAA weekends and this Comfort Suites surpassed my expectations. This is were I will stay everytime I come to Charlotte for the CIAA!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah N, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for the kind words! The staff of Comfort Suites University Area works hard to make our guests feel at home. Whether it's the Suite Success guest room package, complimentary WiFi or hot breakfast buffet that sticks out in your mind; we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 197 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is the nicest Comfort Inn or Suites I have ever been in; and I travel a lot. The property is beautiful and clean and the rooms are furnished more like a high end hotel. Hotel staff was friendly and willing to help in any way. Breakfast was fresh and hot.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank williewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah N, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

The staff of Comfort Suites University Area is so glad that we made your stay enjoyable! It's our number one priority to make our guests feel at home. I noticed that you were traveling on business. Let me know if our 1,440 sq ft of meeting space will work for any upcoming gatherings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Room was very comfortable and clean. Great location. Very Nice Hotel!!! My only complaint was that the front desk gentleman was constanlty on his cell phone speaking in another language during check out and was still on his phone by the time I had brought my luggage down. Just a little distracting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah N, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I don't know if you are aware that we've recently completed our renovation. The staff of Comfort Suites University Area are glad that we made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I lodged at this hotel during a Christmas visit to our hometown of Charlotte. It was our third stay at this hotel in a year. The recently completed interior renovations (finished early fall, 2013) have made this one of the nicest (if not the nicest) of the Charlotte Choice Hotels group. (We've stayed in other Choice Hotel locations in Charlotte.) Decor and furnishings are very updated and tasteful. (A nice touch are the two waterfall panels in the lobby.) Service was outstanding. Included is a hot breakfast which is excellent. Rooms are spacious, and the renovation included new televisions and, apparently, an update to the exercise area. The exterior signage on University Blvd., to be updated in 01/2014, will be the last part of the renovation. This will greatly improve entering the hotel at night from the University Blvd.

The manager indicated that bookings are always very full during NASCAR races at the local speedway and any event at University of NC-Charlotte, around 1.5 miles north of the hotel. I mention this because we don't recall ever being in such a quiet room. It's our impression that one's stay would be peaceful even with a full hotel.

We'll be back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah N, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for your patience during our renovations this year. We're so glad that you could see the light at the end of the tunnel. We're working very hard to provide the travel experience that loyal Choice travelers such as yourself expect. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Hotel in very nice shape. Very pleased with room comfort and cleanliness. Liked desk area with convenient power outlets for charging gizmos. Nice lighting. Breakfast very good. Exercise room very small but in good shape. Lobby impressive. Staff was average; housekeepers did not speak english and avoided eye contact. Other negative was the the poor signage. Drove by the dark entrance twice. Convenient, though, once you know where it is!

Bottom line: very pleased at a great price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilDaIcebucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah N, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

The staff of Comfort Suites University Area is so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are striving very hard to offer the best lodging experience possible. The hotel was completely renovated earlier this year. We're adding the last few finishing touches. The convenience store, business center and fitness room are designed with busy travelers such as yourself in mind.

We apologize for the exterior signage. With the extension of the LYNX Blue Line under way on N. Tryon the signage of all businesses was replaced by small temporary signs which are easily missed. This temporary situation will be remedied once the full extent of the road widening is determined.

Thank you again for the review. We look forward to having you as our guests again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel has just gone thru a major renovation and I was fortunate enough to stay there afterwards. It has such an upscale feeling to it with a beautiful 2 store lobby! The rooms are great, spacious and well appointed. I would highly recommend this Comfort Suites to any travelers, both leisure and business! Great job guys!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah N, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Everything in the hotel is brand new. The flat screen TV, granite countertops, charging stations, MP3 clock radios and reading lamps are just a few of our new features. We look forward to having you and your friends as our guests again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

we stay here every time we come to Charlotte and have yet to have a bad experience. Yah they were renovating and you could smell the glue, but the hotel is going to be awesome when they are done with everything. you could already see some of the changes that were underway.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohmygoodnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah N, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our renovations have been a long, hard, necessary road but there is light at the end of the tunnel! We look forward to having you as our guests once the renovations area completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Mineral Springs
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlotte NE - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn University Place
#81 of 180 in Charlotte
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University - Research Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University - Research Park

Address: 7735 University City Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28213-8119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#22 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#51 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $83 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University - Research Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites University - Research Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites University Area Hotel Charlotte
Comfort Suites Charlotte
Charlotte Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing