We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW HOW SHABBY THEY HAVE BECOME!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites University - Research Park
Ranked #78 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“WOW HOW SHABBY THEY HAVE BECOME!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel in the past. It was pretty good; no 5 star luxury resort but pretty good.This time we stayed for a relatives graduation; it was shabby, not very clean and run down!! I will concede that they were doing some renovations in the downstairs public rooms but the problem was with the condition of the rooms and bathrooms. They were bad!
To top it off, on check out day (Check out at 11.00AM) I was dozing on the bed at 9.25 when there were repeated knocks on the door, when I opened the door it was a room cleaner who looked accusingly at me and said "Aren't you checkin out this morning?" I responded with an affirmative she said "Well when are you going?" and when I told her wasn't sure she gave me a filthy look and stormed off muttering. So much for a relaxing Mothers Day morning!!!
All in all, a disappointing experience. Pity!

Room Tip: Don't be deceived by the dscription "Queen/double bed" expect a nwrrow double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Oh my goodness, I am so sorry that you had such an unpleasant stay at the Comfort Suites University. We have a new owner (for less than 3 months), I can assure you the hotel will be totally renovated and updated. I was also a guest when it was in it's prime so I know how you feel about it becoming a bit shabby. The owner is working with contractors and designers to get the renovations done as soon as possible.
But none of this helps your recent stay, I am sorry about the room not being as clean as it should have been, we will discuss your comments with the owner and the staff so improvements can be made immediately. We will also look at the bathroom situation and re-train housekeeping not to disturb guest as happened to you.
If you are in the area in the future, please just come by the hotel to see what we are doing. We want it to be as good and better than before.
Again, I apologize for the inconveniences to you. We appreciate your review and we thank you for your business.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    43
    16
    7
    13
See reviews for
59
31
17
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located close to UNCC and Concord Mills mall which we visit often. We have stayed at many I'm the area and finally found the one That we can save for future visits. The staff has gone out of their way to take care of our every need. The room is big enough for us to stay a week with a sitting area and a mini kitchen area. They had a full breakfast. And the price was very low with AAA. It also sits right between a Wal-Mart and Target with a lot of other shops and restaurants to. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We appreciate your review of the Comfort Suites University Area, we now have new owners so if you enjoyed this stay, just wait till next time. We are in the process of renovating and upgrading the entire property. It's our goal to have the best hotel in the area. So, please come back soon to see what we are doing there.
Thank you again for the review, we truly appreciate your business.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our first and last time staying at this hotel. It is in a difficult place to find, but we needed to be in the area. The hotel from the outside looked fine, even the lobby was fine. We went to our room and it was in horrible shape, very run down. The good thing was we asked to be moved and that was done right away. We went to the 4th floor and the room was much better but still could use some work. Breakfast was good with many hot choices. We did not see any renovations being done. The staff was very good.

Room Tip: The 4th floor seemed much better and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allab0utme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Please don't let this be your last visit, as new owners, we have been on the property less than a month. We are currently working with designers, decorators and contractors as we begin a complete renovation. Give us some time and I think you will be pleasantly surprised at the difference you will find. We invite you to just drop by and see what we are doing, good things should start happening in the next few weeks. Our plan is to have one of the best hotels in the University area.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

When I checked in, I was told they have new owners as of March 1, 2013, and they have plans for a major renovation. My room was clean and comfortable but a little worn, I like this hotel and the location, so I look forward to the renovations and updates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Comfort Suites University area in Charlotte, NC. Yes we do have new owners and major renovations are scheduled to begin soon. so watch for many upgrades and a new management that will make your stay comfortable and welcoming. Plan to visit us again soon, we appreciate your business.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Rellations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

House keeping and breakfast staff weren't all that friendly but front desk definitely made us feel welcome. The hotel is undergoing renovations but the rooms were actually pretty comfy. The shower felt like heaven and the beds were pretty nice as well. I would definitely stay at this establishment again.

Room Tip: Any room away from the elevator on the highest level will your best bet ever!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBlazerRR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Suites University Area in Charlotte. We are so glad that you found your room comfortable and clean. We also appreciate you taking time to write this review. Yes we are beginning our renovations with new ownership so look for good things to come. Please plan to visit us again soon, we appreciate your business.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Sleep Inn University Place
#81 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Hampton Inn University Place
#58 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University - Research Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University - Research Park

Property: Comfort Suites University - Research Park
Address: 7735 University City Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28213-8119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#22 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#51 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University - Research Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites University - Research Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites University Area Hotel Charlotte
Comfort Suites Charlotte
Charlotte Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing