We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Ranked #33 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Last minute business trip to Charlotte resulted in two night stay at the Drury. Most of my peers were at sister inn seven miles further west on WT Harris Boulevard, but it's all good. University Place Drury recently underwent renovation and is in great shape! I was very pleased with atmosphere, staff friendliness and facilities.

Booked 1 bedroom suite. Probably overkill space for one person, but it was fun. Bed and couch were comfortable. Room was clean and well kept. Gym was clean and though not huge does offer a selection of cardio machines and free weighs. There is a pool as well, but I did not partake.

Upon booking, front desk took time to explain Drury features and points club. Also pointed out free evening beverages and other assorted amenities. Only drawback for me is the lobby offers free popcorn throughout most of day. With that comes the smell of popcorn, which was a little nauseating at times.

Over all, great stay and well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qayaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    91
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
94
81
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have stayed at a few Drury Inns in several states. This one is hard to beat. The Service Desk is very helpful, the Coffee in the lobby 24/7. The rooms were very clean, roomy, and comfortable. Supposed to have free HBO, it did not work, I was too tired to watch anyway. It was a little pricy for a Drury, I believe thats because of the area it is in.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice stay (3nights)the room was clean and comfortable. This place has excellent management and stresses customer service. The free breakfast was ok. The evening free drinks and lite buffet were a very nice touch. We enjoyed our stay and will certainly return

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Had opportunity to return to the Drury Inn, University Place, Charlotte. The rooms were well kept, clean, smelled nice. Everything worked!. Had some other travelers with us. All of us had good reaction to hotel. Noise level bearable, even though there were a lot of young people in the building, due to track meets, motorcross, etc. Hotel was full. Breakfast was good as always. Manager checked with us several times to insure satisfaction. Will be back again, when traveling to Charlotte for overnighter. Spring special was welcome, as it saved us all some $$.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayden L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Hotel has been newly remodeled & is very nice. Bed was really comfortable. Free breakfast was very tasty. Also fabulous appetizers & free drinks during "happy hour"! Exceptionally friendly staff as well. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Whenever there is any issue--small or large--management (Doug, Florence) and the desk workers (Amy, others) bend over backwards to fix it and make me want to come back. I stay here every month for Navy Reserve drill and have never had any issue that was not resolved beyond my expectations.

I am disappointed about recent renovations. I really liked the exposed brick and now it is gone. Nice soft paintings have been replaced with photos of circles and squares. More modern, I guess.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stop at Drury Inns on a regular basis and had not been to this one. We made the stop in a very slow time locally since the hotel is close to the university and the time was between Christmas and New Years when most students are gone. The room was very clean with excellent beds, more than adequate bathroom facilities, and good wifi access. The food served at the 5:30 "kickback" was plentiful but dry, stale, and generally unappetizing. Having stopped at many other Drury Inns, this was certainly uncharacteristic. The breakfast the next morning was a bit better but both of the waffle-making machines were having trouble and had to be continuously serviced by the attendant. We were not able to get a waffle that morning. The furniture in the room was old and quite worn and one of the floor lamps was extremely wobbly and had several loose components.

We spoke with the manager the next morning, mentioning our room number. He indicated that this hotel would be undergoing a major room upgrade just after the turn of the the year. He also said that he had just hired a new assistant manager, in charge of the afternoon and evening hotel functions and would talk to him regarding my food comments.

We would not hesitate to stay at this, or any other Drury Inn, in the future since, in our experience, the hotel chain operates in a very quality way and caters to its customers quite well.

Room Tip: Be careful when reserving a room since another Drury Inn is less than five miles away. The other ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kooss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I do recall speaking with you regarding your concerns for the food quality and the general condition of the hotel. I apologize again for not exceeding your expectations. I did follow up with the employee team to be extra diligent with our presentation, quality and equipment as or food offerings are a vital amenity that we offer.

Our renovation is underway and the new rooms look wonderful. We anticipate being completed with all the rooms toward the end of March. I do look forward to your return so that you can let us know what you think.

Again, I am very sorry that your stay was not up to our or Drury's standards and we hope to see you soon.

Thank you!
Doug U., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
6.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake
0.3 mi away
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Ballantyne Area
15.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Charlotte/Ayrsley
12.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte I-77 South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Address: 415 West W T Harris Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28262-3343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Mineral Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#26 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Charlotte Drury Inn & Suites is located in the University City neighborhood, south of University of North Carolina and University Research Park. Our hotel is less than two miles from IKEA, and shopping and restaurants are walking distance! Your stay includes free hot breakfast and free 5:30 Kickback(R) with hot food and cold beverages - every evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte North Hotel Charlotte
Drury Inn And Suites Charlotte North
Drury Inn Charlotte
Drury Inn Hotel Charlotte
Drury Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing